We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab find - thanks tripadvisor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Desert Riviera Hotel
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2008

When we read constant and consistent glowing reviews of a hotel in Trip Advisor, we always wonder if the hotel would actually live up to the reviews “in real life”. In the case of the Desert Riviera, the answer would be absolutely, without a shadow of a doubt and with no reservations or qualifications, yes!

Having spent 10 days or so on a fairly active and hectic trip around California, we were looking to slow the pace down and relax a bit. The Desert Riveria proved to be just the place. After a long but interesting 10 hour drive, we arrived at the hotel to a very warm welcome. Judy greeted us with a complimentary refreshment and completed the minimum of formalities with the minimum of fuss, despite a very late amendment to our booking. And that set the tone for our entire stay – nothing was ever too much trouble for Judy (or Patty, or Larry).

We were in room 2, tucked in the corner beside reception. Prettily decorated with modern funrishings. A king bed, table (with a complimentary basket of goodies), chairs and a dresser provided the furniture, with a flat panel TV/DVD on the wall completing the main area. The seperate bathroom housed a shower, toilet, sink and vanity counter. In a small alcove there was a clothes rail and a fridge / freezer and microwave. It’s handy to have the fridge as no food is served at the hotel - this was only really of concern to us at breakfast time, but if you stock your fridge then that’s taken care of.

The 10 room, single story hotel building is set around 3 sides of the pool so you’re never very far from your door, whichever room you’re in.

Arranged around the pool and beautiful, well maintained gardens are plenty of sunbeds (laid with fresh towels daily), sun shades, chairs and tables. Extra pool towels are also freely available (and sun lotion!). The spa / hot tub / jacuzzi is set back from the pool, in a sort of semi private area. There is also a fire pit to sit round at night. Although the hotel is close to the main road, the hedging, fountain and background music do a very effective job of masking any road noise at the pool. The pool, hot tub and fire pit are open 24 hrs to guests – all they ask is that you be considerate to the other guests if you enjoy a moonlight swim. We did and we were!!

We spent two days just lazing around the pool and Judy, Patty and / or Larry were always on hand when we needed them and completely unobtrusive when we didn’t. It’s often said in reviews, but this family owned and run hotel does go all out to make their guests feel like part of that family.

Reception is open early to late, also providing a concierge service. Take advantage of Judy’s excellent local knowledge for dining and excursion options. Complimentary Coffee, fresh fruit, cool water and newspapers are all available in the reception or side room.

Although the Desert Riviera isn’t as close to Downtown as some other hotels, it’s still only a 10 minute / $10 maximum cab ride away and being in the centre of things isn’t the point of this hotel anyway!

Does this hotel deserve it’s number 1 rating here on Trip Advisor? Yes, absolutely.

Would we go back? Well, it wouldn’t so much be a case of “if we’re ever back in Palm Springs we’ll stay at the Desert Riviera” as “if we’re back in Southern California we’ll go back to Palm Springs so we can stay at the Desert Riviera again”. The hotel has become a destination in its own right for us.

On our travels we’ve stayed in everything from “barely big enough for a bed” hostel rooms to five star luxury hotels and the Desert Riviera is right up there with the best of them!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Bubba&MaryJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,932)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,661 - 1,667 of 1,932 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2008

A visit to Palm Springs is only complete if you include Desert Riviera in your itinerary. I cannot praise this place enough. You have to experience it to believe it. After our terrible experience at the supposed No. 1 in Tucson we were sceptical about what we might find at Desert Riviera. We shouldn't have worried as this little gem turned out to be the highlight of our trip. It beat 5 star hotels in both Scottsdale and Vegas as far as we were concerned. The rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean. Fab decor and lovely comfortable beds. We were greeted by Judy and Steve as the famous Larry was on vacation himself when we arrived. Nothing was too much trouble. Complimentary drinks in the fridge; free barbecue on the night we arrived; taxis, restaurants or tours organised; lots of expert local knowledge about shopping, sights and good eateries. Kitchen was well equipped and a very handy supermarket selling everything meant that we could enjoy a relaxed evening barbecueing steak at the side of the pool. We were treated like family all the time we were there. We met Larry towards the end of our stay and he took time out to chat to us as he did with all the guests. It's obvious that they love the place and they love having it filled with guests from all over the world. They all go out of their way to get to know everyone and to make sure everyone is having a good time. They make you feel "special". They are proud of what they've achieved and are intent on remaining at No. 1 for as long as they can. Believe me, if they just continue doing what they are currently doing they will never slip from top spot, as it is a recipe for success. Desert Riviera restored our faith in Tripadvisor. It's a very special place. Long may it reign.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 0003she
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2008

I really enjoyed my stay here it was first class. I was on a trekking holiday in CA and came to Palm Springs from Yosemite to hike at Joshua Tree and this was perfect place to stay. Larry is A class in welcoming you and the hotel is very tastefully done with nice rooms and a lovely swimming pool. Very warm and friendly place but you are able to have your privacy as well. I really recommend this place and will certainly only stay there should I go back to Palm Springs. Thanks for making the Yellow Vette look beautiful again I appreciate all you did.

David C Wimbledon, London

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dcarn75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2008

Loved everything about it. A real oasis in the desert. Great welcome, fantastic room, great place. Larry and his team are doing a great job. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Alan021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2008

Our pre-arranged "itinerary" was packed so we only stayed one night in Palm Springs. However, we enjoyed it so much here that we will be making a stay a main feature of our next holiday.

This is a great place to relax. We had a clean and comfortable 50's glamour styled room which was actually like an apartment. The pool is lovely and is lit with candles in the evening. There is a hot tub too and poolside sun loungers, tables and chairs, which instantly creates a social atmosphere.

Everything that you normally pay through the nose for at any other hotel is free here (i.e. soft drinks, local and international phone calls, internet access, movies, etc). Since the prices are so reasonable, you get excellent value for money. If you're really on a budget it's great because you can BBQ your own food and use the private fridge and kitchen you get with your room. If cooking isn't for you, they can recommend loads of reasonable restaurants nearby (or use the free limo service!)

The friendliness and generosity of the team is simply exceptional. If only more hotel owners enjoyed running their business as much as these people clearly do. We stayed in nine different lodgings from B&B's to big chains in our 2 weeks in California. This is in a league of its own.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BenandAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2008

The Desert Riviera Hotel is a lovely boutique property that really shines when it comes to great accomodations, and personal service to their guests. I am a travel  agent that travels 3 or 4 times a year. We picked the property based on the tripadvisor reviews, since it had been a few years since we  visited Palm Springs. We were not disappointed! The hotel has only 11 rooms, decorated with a retro motif. The grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. Larry, the owner takes great pride in his property and it shows. Judy and Steve are wonderful. Judy will book your reservations for dinner, and is a great source for all the places and happenings in Palm Springs. The owners go out of their way to make you comfortable. The location of the property is perfect. You can walk to a few good restaurants, or you are just a short drive to downtown. Make sure you dine at Daveys Hideway, Copleys (Cary Grant's old home), Johannes, Manhattan for breakfast, the Fall's Steakhouse. Palm Springs offers a variety of wonderful places to dine. Judy will book not only your reservations for dinner, but will also book in -room spa treatments, massage, etc.  We loved our stay at the Desert Riviera! If you are looking for a quiet property with a lovely courtyard, beautifully appointed rooms, great personal service, then you will not be disappointed with your stay. Steve (a wonderful chef) even made pizza's on the barbeque for all the guests one night. Thank you Judy,Steve, and Larry, you made our 43rd anniversary very special. We will see you next year. K.D, Travel Agent

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tahoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2008

We wondered how such a small hotel (ten rooms) could have created such a good reputation but it is all about the personal touch which the owners bring to the place.

When you first arrive (we drove from Las Vegas) and find your way in through the side gate you wonder what all the fuss is about. Sure the pool is quite nice, the rooms are airy and bright, the bathrooms are not luxurious and there is no bar or restaurant. However, magically, within a couple of hours you are totally immersed in the calming atmosphere to such an extent that we extended our stay by two extra days. It just has that certain something.

Don't expect to get any food as they don't provide any, but Larry knows all the best places to eat. There is no room service - but the personal attention is terrific. What other hotel have you stayed at where wifi connection is free, you can call anywhere in the world on the house phone for free and if you need anything washed you just help yourself to their washing machine?

This isn't like staying in a hotel - it's like staying with old friends.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JeffBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,583 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 74 in Palm Springs
726 reviews
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 74 in Palm Springs
885 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#4 of 74 in Palm Springs
195 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $232 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Riviera Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. (ADULTS ONLY PROPERTY) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Desert Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing