We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Desert Riviera Hotel
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
seattle
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place!!!”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I've stayed in lots of hotels over the years, and I don't think I have EVER stayed anywhere that made me feel more welcome and cared for. The staff (Judy, Steven, Traci and Misty) is simply fantastic: Warm, friendly, extremely helpful: they truly make you feel as though there is nothing in the world they'd rather do than make sure you have a wonderful trip. As someone pointed out, the hotel is small (10 rooms?), which makes it feel very intimate. All the rooms are immaculate and seem to vary in size/configuration. What I particularly loved were all the little extras that make it feel so cozy and welcoming: REALLY good coffee right outside the office by the time you wake up; bowls of fruit for the taking, a fleet of mostly-cruiser type bikes to borrow, and rides into town if you don't feel like walking or riding. Great pool; warm (90 degrees); lots of light but also has lovely umbrellas for the shade-lovers among us. Hot tub/fire pit/beautiful landscaping. I would go back in a heartbeat!!

Room Tip: each room seems to be a little different: talk to Judy about what you want: do you want a full kitch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine7768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,813
    64
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
183
1,339
55
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2014

All rooms are just steps away from pristine landscape and outdoor pool area. Calm, quite and relaxing. Staff was very hospitable and full of recommendations to enhance our stay. Would highly recommend Desert Riviera to friends and family!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madison3102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The hotel itself is quite small (about 10 units) but that only adds to its charm. The rooms are large and up to date with king size beds, 2 closets, kitchenette, two tables for eating or stacking your travel related electronics and other junk, a basket of free snacks, and water and pop in the fridge. The grounds are beautifully landscaped with heated pool, hot tub and BBQ area. The staff is friendly and always ready to recommend a restaurant, activity or day trip. Even most of the other guests are friendly - I think it's just the atmosphere. You really feel like a valued guest at a freind's home rather than one of a hundred families at a big hotel. If this were the standard for most hotels, it would be a different world.

Room Tip: We've been there twice and haven't found a bad room yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We loved this place and will be back. The grounds are beautiful, the pool delightful and the room was clean with lots of natural light. Best of all was the incredible service - Judy, Steve and Traci went above and beyond to make sure that we had everything that we needed-from fresh herbs and sauces for the bar-b-cue to a pick-up in town to recommending good places to eat and on and on. They made our stay one to remember!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Start the day with a dip in the heated pool! Take a bike ride on one of the complimentary bicycles.
Guests, and staff were all so friendly and relaxed, and Judy and Steve were up to date on interesting places to to see, things to do, and great places to eat. How about the best date shake in town? I finished the day off in the hot tub under the stars. Will definitely return to this oasis in the desert!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLavitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This was our first time in Palm Springs and boy did we hit the jackpot with The Desert Riviera!
The hotel was extremely clean and well appointed. There is a beautiful outdoor cooking area and a pristine pool. Mike and I rode the complimentary bikes daily to the nearby restaurants and shops.The staff now seem like old friends. We met guest from other parts of the country as well as Canada and they too now feel like old friends. Steve, Judy, and the owner Rick were gracious host. We can't wait to come back!
Estella and Mike
St.Paul,Mn

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnystell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My boyfriend and I stay here again for four days and had a fantastic, relaxing time. I was so sad to leave. I didn't think it could get better since the last time we came last August, but the place made small upgrades that really made a difference. We were pampered by the simple things. The people there are amazing; Judy, Steve, Misty, Tracy. We can not wait to come back and wouldn't stay anywhere else. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanaPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,257 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Rossi Hotel
The Rossi Hotel
#4 of 73 in Palm Springs
576 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
856 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
#15 of 73 in Palm Springs
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Property: Desert Riviera Hotel
Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Riviera Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. (ADULTS ONLY PROPERTY) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Desert Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing