We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool retro motel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Desert Riviera Hotel
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cool retro motel!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We loved this place and will be back. The grounds are beautiful, the pool delightful and the room was clean with lots of natural light. Best of all was the incredible service - Judy, Steve and Traci went above and beyond to make sure that we had everything that we needed-from fresh herbs and sauces for the bar-b-cue to a pick-up in town to recommending good places to eat and on and on. They made our stay one to remember!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,813
    64
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
183
1,339
55
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Start the day with a dip in the heated pool! Take a bike ride on one of the complimentary bicycles.
Guests, and staff were all so friendly and relaxed, and Judy and Steve were up to date on interesting places to to see, things to do, and great places to eat. How about the best date shake in town? I finished the day off in the hot tub under the stars. Will definitely return to this oasis in the desert!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLavitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This was our first time in Palm Springs and boy did we hit the jackpot with The Desert Riviera!
The hotel was extremely clean and well appointed. There is a beautiful outdoor cooking area and a pristine pool. Mike and I rode the complimentary bikes daily to the nearby restaurants and shops.The staff now seem like old friends. We met guest from other parts of the country as well as Canada and they too now feel like old friends. Steve, Judy, and the owner Rick were gracious host. We can't wait to come back!
Estella and Mike
St.Paul,Mn

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnystell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My boyfriend and I stay here again for four days and had a fantastic, relaxing time. I was so sad to leave. I didn't think it could get better since the last time we came last August, but the place made small upgrades that really made a difference. We were pampered by the simple things. The people there are amazing; Judy, Steve, Misty, Tracy. We can not wait to come back and wouldn't stay anywhere else. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanaPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Battleford, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a 2 Week stay with the Desert Rivera on East Palm Canyon. When we arrived we thought we had stepped into a 5 star resort and it only got better from there. We were treated like we were Royal with every question answered with a smile, and every little detail added for our comfort! This included valentine gift bags on each of our doors on the 14th!! The pool was heated to 91F and accompanied by a lovely hot tub! We had our coffee in the hot tub every morning with a welcoming good morning wave from the staff and goodies for your pleasure throughout the day at the office or on one of the patio tables. The owner and his lovely wife indulged us with wine and chocolates on two of their visits to make sure their guest were comfortable. We enjoyed the subtle music in the background along with the mid-century architecture! Along with the impeccably clean rooms, even the sheets and pillow cases were carefully hand ironed!! We will visit our friends again at the Desert Riveria as that is how we felt as they came out to our car to say good-bye!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 with the kitchenette. There are also two very large closets for a lengthy sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stylemaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We just returned from Desert Riviera and it was a great experience. We have been coming to Palm Spring for some time and wanted to try one of the small inns. We were not disappointed.

The Rooms:

There are 11 rooms, all very nice. We were in the VIP suite which had a full kitchen and living room. Nice apartment. The only negative is that we could hear the office chatter and clearning staff chatter during the day, through the walls. Very quite at night. All rooms face the pool. This property is on the corner of Pam Canyon Drive. You can hear traffic. it is not distracting but I would suggest rooms up 1-7. The others back up to the busier of the two streets.

The Pool:
Wonderful and warm! The temperature made it comfortable to swim in the AM and PM. My favorite thing to do was use the pool early in the morning when the sun was coming up. The hot tub is also Hot.

The Grounds;
Like being in a high-end back yard. Intimate, green, colorful, clean and comfortable. Chairs always stocked. At night the grounds are beautifully lit. Lots of space - did not feel crowded.

The Staff
From the time we arrived until our departure we were treated like house guests. Little touches like Valentine candy on the door was much appreciated. Grounds people and cleaning staff did a great job.

Thank you Desert Riviera! We'll be back.

Room Tip: One through 7 may be best due to the remaining rooms backing up to a busier street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doptagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertRivieraTenders, General Manager at Desert Riviera Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you so much for being our very first reviewer of our newly created One Bedroom Suite.. we so appreciate you giving us your critique. As of just today we have completed the new instillation of a total sound board wall that will now keep the guests in the suite from hearing any office "business", and maid room "chatter". We do rely on our guest inputs as you have shared to make this the best room, and most comfortable for all. Thanks again.. and we do look forward to your next visit. We are thrilled that we were able to accommodate your request for an added night in Sunny Palm Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The staff at this boutique hotel goes all out to make you feel comfortable and do the little things to make the stay special. Love the mid-century vibe throughout. From the Dean Martin music around the pool to the room furnishings- very hip.
These were the cleanest rooms and public areas I think I have ever seen. I kept checking to see maybe if everything was recently purchased or just clean. Wow.
I highly recommend, but just don't take our weekend!

Room Tip: The quieter rooms are near the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elgatogordo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,257 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Rossi Hotel
The Rossi Hotel
#4 of 73 in Palm Springs
576 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
856 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
185 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
#15 of 73 in Palm Springs
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Property: Desert Riviera Hotel
Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Riviera Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. (ADULTS ONLY PROPERTY) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Desert Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing