We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting tale”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Desert Riviera Hotel
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

First off, we didn't actually stay here, but want to rate it 5 stars based on our experiences!
I booked here via email based on the Tripadvisor rating, and the pictures of the pool. Rest assurred there is no misrepresetation - the pics are truthful.
Unfortunately, when we arrived, the super-helpful and friendly ownere told us they were out of action because they were having plumbing problems. Tradies had been working around the clock to fix it, but so far no luck.
What happened was that they arranged for us to stay with the sister Hotel California down the street, where we were also treated well. The owners were obviously distressed by the situation. They said we were welcome to use the pool.
Because I wanted to swim in that pool, I returned the next morning, and had it all to myself.
The people here obviously take great care of their guests, and take pride in their establishment. It has that personal touch you don't get in chain hotels or big resorts.

Next time we go back to Palm Springs we will book again! It's a shame we hit a glitch moment, but we couldn't have been better looked after - thanks to all!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arncliffegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertRivieraTenders, General Manager at Desert Riviera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

What a lovely written review... you so warmed our hearts, after traveling so far (the other side of "the pond")... to visit us.... yet understanding the "glitch" that we unfortunately had to bare. Thank goodness we have that all behind us... and our huge thanks that you were so kind in allowing us to stay rather, at our sister property. We loved having you back to enjoy the pool.. and I just want to say I LOVE the underwater picture at the 3ft level... Would love to have you share that with us.. on our Facebook and Website. Should Palm Springs be again in your future plans... we would love to have your return. Thanks so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,932)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

769 - 775 of 1,932 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

I had no idea this hotel was this well appointed. From the street it looks like a decent desert hotel. Walk through the front doors and be ready to be impressed.
It is hip and stylish in every detail. The throwback feel is mixed with beautiful chandeliers, all the hottest furnishings and styling, the works. Fireplaces throughout the property, broad and well groomed grounds, fantastic pool. ...I can't imagine anyone, of any age, that doesn't appreciate great work wouldn't just adore this hotel.
I stay in lots of properties. This is now my desert go-to!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Napaguy2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Fabulous hotel with friendly and helpful staff and a great location convenient for Palm Springs central. Superb little touches everywhere you look. Would definitely stay here again and can see why they keep winning the number one slot!! Go and see for yourself. It's worth it. Thanks Judy and the rest of the team.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tigger576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertRivieraTenders, General Manager at Desert Riviera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

We are very touched that our "little touches" and team efforts pleased you... our every intention! We welcome you back at any time, and promise to make your visit a memorable one. Thanks so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was our second stay at Desert Riviera and we can't wait to go back! It was truly paradise AGAIN! Judy and company's friendliness and warmth rubs off on all who stay. The hospitality is like non other with treats in your room, amenities you'd expect from a large hotel and a very cool mid-century theme that permeates the property. The clean rooms are generous in size with that hip decor you expect in Palm Springs. The location is close to downtown but without the crowds. Book early! Good things can go fast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karyn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRHFrontDesk, General Manager at Desert Riviera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

We are so thrilled that the Desert Riviera Hotel that you left you again with a feeling of truly a Paradise... Our intention.. of course. We love when our guests, as yourselves have chosen to return.. our greatest compliment. Thanks for a fabulous review.. and hope we got you down for the next break.. to Palm Springs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Another great vacation at the Desert Riviera; reconnecting with fellow vacationers and meeting new ones. The hotel features a park-like setting surrounding a large swimming pool, new outdoor BBQ area, in room snacks, bottled water, pop and complimentary beverage upon arrival. There's transportation in a large limo to and from the airport as well as trips to restaurants. The hospitable and fun staff (Judy, Steve, Traci and Betty) think of everything including new restaurants and fun things to do for repeat guests.
Our visit was during the Canadian Thanksgiving Weekend and the hotel hosted a turkey dinner for all of the guests. We have already booked for next April.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunny_In
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRHFrontDesk, General Manager at Desert Riviera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

There's nothing more special to an Innkeeper, than to gather new friends from relationships that begins as quests that check in to take a break and enjoy the sun... however the joy reaches tenfold when your guests become your dearest friends, and choose to return time and time again.
You both have become the best of the best, and continue to rally the rest of the guests in making everyone's vacation a fun and memorable experience. We thank you as our guests and our friends, from the bottom of our hearts.
May your winter be mild until the next time you visit.... from your Palm Springs Family... The Desert Riviera Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We spent 7 nights at your lovely hotel. We had a difficult time leaving! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Great amenities! Loved the pool and hot tub. We had a great time watching the many hummingbirds that were feeding near the pool! The location gives great access to downtown. We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bertha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRHFrontDesk, General Manager at Desert Riviera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

It was simply our pleasure to host the two of you during this week of lovely weather, for golf, sunbathing and hummingbird watching. We look forward to having you and Wayne back with us again in the future. Our appreciation... Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed for 6 days over the Canadian Thanksgiving weekend. When we first arrived we received a very friendly greeting & was offered a beverage. We were shown all the great amenities of the hotel such as the kitchen, complimentary coffee, fruit, movies, golf clubs, bikes. The room was a nice size & had a little fridge & a microwave in it. Very clean. The pool is a perfect warm temperature & there is a hot tub too. The towels were even amazingly soft!
Desert riviera is a peaceful hotel that radiates relaxation.
Such care & love goes into everything the staff does. From lighting tea lights every night by the pool to the friendly chatter when passing by. We were even cooked the most delicious Thanksgiving dinner. They care about their visitors & it is felt.
Most definitely will go back! Thank you for your hospitality!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kbaragar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRHFrontDesk, General Manager at Desert Riviera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Thank you for being such fabulous guests. Canadian Thanksgiving week is always a very special time for us, as we truly are thankful for our lovely Canadian guests... as well as our guests from all around the world.. and locals too! We are thrilled that our hospitality was a right fit for getaway. We truly aim to bring the peaceful relaxing environment that you described... We hope to see you again. Thanks a million.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,583 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 74 in Palm Springs
726 reviews
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 74 in Palm Springs
885 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#4 of 74 in Palm Springs
195 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $232 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Riviera Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. (ADULTS ONLY PROPERTY) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Desert Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing