We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of a Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Desert Riviera Hotel
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a gem of a little hotel with just ten rooms arranged around a nice pool and small garden areas. Is it elegant? No. But it’s clean and way more than adequate with nice sized rooms (each with an efficient little kitchen). It has a 1950’s feel which is reflected in its décor and the unobtrusive 1950s background patio music. What makes this hotel especially charming are the owners along with the managers. Judy and Stephen (managers) want you to feel at home and you do. Unlike most hotels, there is no price list for the little extras that make you feel truly welcome and relaxed. Upon arrival, you are offered beer, wine, or water. And in the room you will discover complimentary sodas, bottled water, and a basket of snacks. Need more? Just ask. There is fresh fruit in the lobby along with coffee. Bicycles are also available for complimentary use. There is a BBQ should you wish to enjoy a meal around the pool or in your room. In short, we thoroughly enjoy this little gem and have stayed here several times. We wouldn’t consider any other hotel when staying in Palm Springs.

Room Tip: Book early. It's no longer the best kept secret!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ljbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,932)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

793 - 799 of 1,932 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

From the 50's retro chic feel to the hummingbirds flitting around the garden Desert Riviera Hotel is a treasure of Palm Springs.
My wife and I booked from Cambria heading down to San Diego for a few days having found it online, via Trip Adviser and what a find! Judy got us a beer after a hot drive round LA with the convertible top down and we were chatting away like old friends in no time.
Great rooms and super swimming pool plus lovely people who really care. If we were ever in Palm Springs again THIS is where we would stay.

PS Judy, Thanks for the steer to Cody's in La Jolla - great brunch! I had the lobster sandwich!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M1keB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was our second consecutive year staying at Desert Riviera. And it was another very nice stay. Others in my family have stayed there previously. As before, Judy chatted us up upon arrival and quickly offered us a cold drink to cool down. It was as if we were old friends. We again stayed in Room 10 and as it was last year, it was spotless. The A/C works like nobody's business! Had to turn the thermostat up so as not to freeze ourselves out despite a very hot and humid weekend. I do wish the room had a full or half size frig because the mini frig doesn't get very cold. To compensate, we usually bring a small ice chest to the boutique hotels. The wi-fi was very weak in Room 10 but is workable near the window, which was good because unfortunately I had to spend a good deal of time logged in to my office! (Cell service on our carrier was weak too.) We do love that there are some drinks in the frig and snacks on the table (gratis), and the beds in Room 10 are super comfortable. Pillows are great too! Something else we like about these smaller hotels is how friendly everyone is. Not only the staff but the other guests. It's almost like a gathering of family and friends. Also love the bikes available for riding around and the DVD movie collection. We took advantage of that and caught a couple of movies as we settled in at night. Didn't use the grill this time around but sure appreciate having it available. Tentatively planning to be back next summer!

Room Tip: Room 10 abuts the main drag, so if road noise bothers you mid to late evening or when you want to sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sixeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Do yourself a big favor and give this special place a try. It's beautiful! The staff is awesome! The location is perfect! No kids allowed so its easy to relax. Just sitting by the pool in the shadow of Mt. San Jacinto is so wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Girl Version...My friend and I were planning a trip to PS for a short getaway. He found this place on Trip Advisor, and thought if it’s the #1 rated hotel in PS, we have to check it out, so we did. I will say, if you are looking for a nice, relaxing, clean, place to stay… this is the place to be! We were greeted with a choice of an ice cold beverage by the ever so pleasant Judy upon arrival. She was also very helpful in directing us to a few places to go to satisfy our craving for tasty food and drink. There is a nice DVD selection for you to choose from, so we took in a few movies. The pool was divine, we had a great time hanging out there and meeting some of the other guests. We liked it so much that we ended up adding on another night to our stay. This place is very worthy of its ratings, and we will definitely be recommending it to others. We will, without a doubt, be returning here, and may even have to make this an annual retreat.
Guy version….The pool was great, the beer upon arrival was ice cold and welcomed. The other guests were very cool and really seemed to be there just to chill out and relax. The staff was great and very helpful for directing us to great places to eat, drink, and dance. I liked the low key exterior of the property and then you open the gate to this cool landscaped pool surrounded by the rooms. I liked how you could dip in the pool anytime as long as you were quiet…can you say 3am? A good thing to know…a cab ride from/to down town is only 10 bucks 13 with tip. We had so much fun one night we decided to take a cab home and leave the car. Funny thing was we could not remember where we parked the next day! But eventually as memories seeped back in we put the facts together and found it. Another cool thing, we went across the street to have a few drinks at the ACE pool/bar, a fun eclectic place that had a lot of people watching. After a few hours it was so cool to walk across the street to our serene private pool in the sweet poolside king room. Yes I agree with the little lady that the rooms were very clean, the DVDs were fun, the room was big and well equipped, and everybody you met there was cool and very friendly. For example, my friend lost her earring in the pool and I tried in vain to spot it(beer goggles?). A fellow guest said he would keep an eye out for it and when we came home late that night it was taped to the door. Very cool! Give this place a shot and enjoy it! We will be back sooner than later! It is a place to really enjoy your time with whoever your with, I know I did..

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank geminitraveler1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We are a young couple and we recently had the pleasure of staying at this hotel. We visited on August 20th and from the second we walked in we were treated with the utmost care. As we checked they offered us a free beverage and even explained the surrounding areas. They did not have the room we wanted, but had accommodated us immediately with an even bigger room! We went to our room and even found a little gift basket of delicious treats. The room was like a cool condo and the pool was just the right temperature. We even took out the complimentary bikes for a ride around the downtown area. Throughout our stay they really took care of us and even helped search for a lost earring in the pool! We enjoyed every minute and will be back VERY soon :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Do yourself a big favor and give this special place a try. It's beautiful! The staff is awesome! The location is perfect! No kids allowed so its easy to relax. Just sitting by the pool in the shadow of Mt. San Jacinto is so wonderful. We had the smallest room but it was really comfortable. Next time we will snag one of the poolside king rooms. We will be back soon!

Room Tip: Get a poolside king.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smtilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,584 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 74 in Palm Springs
726 reviews
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#8 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 74 in Palm Springs
195 reviews
1.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 74 in Palm Springs
885 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $232 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Riviera Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. (ADULTS ONLY PROPERTY) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Desert Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing