We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Relaxing Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Desert Riviera Hotel
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2008

I love the Desert Riviera. I have stayed here twice and upon leaving already booked my trip for next summer. I find the hotel environment to be relaxing and fun. You never have to leave the hotel and you can use all the amenties for free. We took the bikes out, got a ride in the limo downtown and last year we even grilled hamburgers by the pool. If you want to truly get away and relax this is the place.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank HCinCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,932)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,715 - 1,721 of 1,932 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2008

The Desert Riveria Hotel is a small intimate place located near downtown Palm Springs. There are a number of excellent restaurants nearby as well as grocery stores, department stores, and small strip malls. Many of the rooms are equipped with kitchenettes and my suggestion is that you bring food because once you arrive you will never want to leave! The owners are on site and I have never felt more welcomed at a hotel in my life. You honestly feel like you are part of their family. My girlfriend and I went there to relax and relax we did. Great rooms, fantastic pool and great guests. Not only did we have the time of our lives, we met amazing people. I wouldn't even think about staying anywhere else in Palm Springs. Pick the Desert Riveria. I promise you won't be dissapointed. Thanks Larry, Patty, Judy, and Steve. I have never felt more special and I had a fabulous birthday. See you next year.
Kristi Burke

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sandbunny57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2008

We spent the Memorial Day weekend at the Desert Riviera and couldn't have asked for a better experience. The owners were great and helped advise us on restaurants and activies. And better yet, they set up our tee times for the weekend. We also took advantage of the pool and the free bicycles.

The hotel itself is a neat little place with a very private pool area and garden. There were plenty of places to soak up the sun and the firepit was perfect for evenings.

Overall, a fantastic little place!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank adamwchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2008

We decided to stay at the Desert Riviera based on tripadvisor reviews. It was our first experience at a "boutique" hotel in Palm Springs, and I can't imagine going to any others in the future.

We didn't know what to expect given the moderate rate we got for the busy season in Palm Springs.

The service was great. Judy, Steve, and Larry didn't miss a beat. Need dinner recommendations? directions? complimentary snacks? Candelight swim by the pool? Normally we have to drive a few more hours out of LA to meet people that friendly!

The room was the cleanest room I have ever stayed in.

I loved having access to their dvd collection and board games. Really made you feel at home.

Good location too.

We will definitely go back whenever we are looking for a quick Palm Springs getaway.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Rissanela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2008

This hotel is a true gem. I stayed from Friday night to Monday morning in Room 10. The room was spacious and bright and the beds are very comfortable. It seems like this is the best room, just from the orientation of the courtyard. Room 10 has a great view of the pool and a nice cozy feeling because it's the last room on the end and on the corner. Even though the temperature was in the mid-100s all weekend, we barely needed the AC because the room stayed pretty cool with just the fan. The rooms are also very quiet. I heard some passing car noise, but not once did we hear any sounds from the courtyard or from other guests. It is great to have a kitchenette too. Larry and Judy and Steve are the essence of courtesy and kindness and had great recommendations and directions for us. We only wish we had had more time to relax by the pool instead of running around town seeing the sights. The hotel is in a great location, central to downtown Palm Springs but also easy to get to Rancho Mirage, Palm Desert, etc. My only extremely minor criticism would be that initially I was disappointed that there wasn't a bathtub in this suite, only a shower stall. But there is a wonderful hot tub in the courtyard so who needs a tub in the room anyway? I would return again to this hotel in a heartbeat and would not hesitate to recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank archeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2008

Thank you Larry, Patti and Judy for your wonderful hospitality. We felt like we were staying with friends opposed to paying for a hotel.
This was our last stop after a 3-week trip and it was just what we needed. The property itself is a wonderful example of Palm Springs architecture beautifully decorated and styled. Every little detail is spot on.
The relaxed friendly atmosphere allows every one to mix and this is helped by the fact Larry introduces each new arrival (I still marvel how he remembers everyone’s name)
We stayed in room 2 poolside and them moved to the manager’s suite (in the main building) for our last two nights, we loved both rooms. The bicycles were great we took them out a couple of days, cycling to Manhattans for breakfast is a must (believe me I needed the exercise after the amount of food I ate) all of Larry’s restaurant recommendations were spot on.
The building work was not an issue for us and we did spend a full day around the pool.
A couple of nights we walked to the town centre this is about a 20 minute walk so take advantage of the lovely limo service.
The evening fire pits (along with the odd glass of wine) were a fantastic way of meeting new friends.
If you were going to Palm Spring I would highly recommend the Desert Riviera. It’s number 1 for a reason.
Many, Many thanks
John and Nicole. London

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nicn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2008

We read the reviews online and thought if it was only 1/2 as good
as they say it would be great. We were wrong.. It was 1 and 1/2 better.
From the cold beer at check in to the evening firepit and wine.. WOW..
It was a perfect weekend and the 1st time in months since we actually started to unwind.
Too bad we never stayed longer..we are planning to return when it get cold again up here in Edmonton. I thought about giving a review of TERRIBLE etc...but only because I don't have our dates picked to return and figure until I book I would be devious and make sure they don't book all the rooms so we have to go elsewhere...lol
This place is perfect.
not a party hotel Not a Kids babysitting resort.. perfect for good times relaxing with new friends.

Jim & Cheryl
Edmonton, Alberta

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cyclecpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,583 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 74 in Palm Springs
726 reviews
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 74 in Palm Springs
885 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#4 of 74 in Palm Springs
195 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $232 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Riviera Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. (ADULTS ONLY PROPERTY) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Desert Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing