We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“They were rated #1 for a reason” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desert Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Desert Riviera Hotel
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“They were rated #1 for a reason”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

If you like quiet, clean, and comfortable place to spend your time in Palm Springs this is it. From the greetings you get via email after booking, to a cold beer or glass of wine at registration (and they keep on coming after registration too :) ) then this is the place for you. Great friendly customer service attitude by all who are here.

Grounds and pool area was immaculate. For all you Harley riders, the free Big Orange and Black Harley Limo rides to and from motel to local establishments is great. Free bikes to use for the guests are also great along with fresh coffee and fruit.

I got sick prior to checking in and we didn't know if it could be something serious or not. The managers spent time calling a few locals who hooked us up with a great couple of doctors who opened up their schedules see me and take some precautionary tests so I could enjoy the rest of our time in SoCal. The only bad thing about staying here was we only could stay 2 nights due to other arrangments we had made.

Room Tip: The lower numbered rooms are likely quieter due to fact they are fartest from E. Palm Canyon Drive a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,696
    63
    10
    8
    5
See reviews for
168
1,252
53
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Based on the many reviews in Trip Advisor, we were fortunate to snag a room at this lovely hotel. While rooms were not available when I originally inquired, we were put on a waiting list and received notice within days of a cancellation that fit our schedule. Now that's customer service!

Everything you'll read on trip advisor about the Desert Riviera is true, it's wonderful! (I am surprised that the traffic noise from Palm Canyon wasn't mentioned by others. Fortunately for the hotel, everything else makes up for it). We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Same excellent service and room as our first visit. Judy (and company) was so helpful with maps, directions and special arrangements, especially the rental car. Desert Riviera is clearly a family operation with attention to detail and service that is hard to find in a large hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ptownmolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irvine, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have a ball. Stayed 3 nights. Place and staff are great. Cool 50's vibe !!! New favorite Hotel. Loved the snacks and beverages on arrival. We had fun taking the free bikes out as well. I enjoyed the hot tub and would use it in the morning, and at night. The pool was nice and warm as well. It seemed like a travel back in time to the 1950's.!! "Old school" in a good way !!

Room Tip: All rooms are by the pool, so you cant go wrong !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadwarrior68_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

There are still only good things to say about the Desert Riviera Hotel in Palm Springs. We enjoyed our March break stay there immensely! The staff are so wonderful and accommodating that it feels, to me in a way, like we are loved members of the family - indeed when we arrived, Larry greeted us with a "welcome home".
Our room was spotless and ready when we arrived because the cleaning staff had been asked to attend to our room first because Judy knew we were arriving early! The pool is kept deliciously warm and inviting, the fire pit is on in the evenings and early mornings, pool towels are supplied and there is always a cold beverage offered if needed.
There was even a barbecue evening hosted by Larry and Patty, with some dishes and salads supplied by some of the other wonderful staff.
I can tell you that we would never stay anywhere else in Palm Springs. One evening sitting around the fire we, with our Palm Springs, plotted to give them a not so stellar review so that people would booking the place up for months in advance,so that we could book impromptu vacations there! But, we couldn't do that... If you are looking for a charming boutique type of hotel, the Desert Riviera is the best of the best.
DR gang, we love you guys!

Room Tip: We stayed in room one which is the room we always book but there are others who always book other ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank efrench5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had another great week at this special place with our returning friends and the awesome hotel family. Gumby did his regular stretching by the pool each and Mrs. Gumby had a great time relaxing and catching up. Thanks again to Larry, Patty, Judy and company for making our visit special as always. We've be back! Gumby

Room Tip: Room 1 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Had a wonderful two night stay at The Desert Riviera Hotel. Upon entering through the wrought iron gate a feeling of calm & relaxation takes over. A friendly, clean, well run oasis. Grab a towel, lounge by the pool and let the hummingbirds entertain you. Looking forward to returning one day.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 70 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#4 of 70 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
1.4 mi away
San Giuliano Hotel
San Giuliano Hotel
#5 of 70 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#3 of 70 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
1.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#8 of 70 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Property: Desert Riviera Hotel
Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Riviera Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. (ADULTS ONLY PROPERTY) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Desert Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing