We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the return visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Desert Riviera Hotel
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Same excellent service and room as our first visit. Judy (and company) was so helpful with maps, directions and special arrangements, especially the rental car. Desert Riviera is clearly a family operation with attention to detail and service that is hard to find in a large hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ptownmolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,926)
There are newer reviews for Desert Riviera Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

876 - 882 of 1,926 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have a ball. Stayed 3 nights. Place and staff are great. Cool 50's vibe !!! New favorite Hotel. Loved the snacks and beverages on arrival. We had fun taking the free bikes out as well. I enjoyed the hot tub and would use it in the morning, and at night. The pool was nice and warm as well. It seemed like a travel back in time to the 1950's.!! "Old school" in a good way !!

Room Tip: All rooms are by the pool, so you cant go wrong !!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadwarrior68_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

There are still only good things to say about the Desert Riviera Hotel in Palm Springs. We enjoyed our March break stay there immensely! The staff are so wonderful and accommodating that it feels, to me in a way, like we are loved members of the family - indeed when we arrived, Larry greeted us with a "welcome home".
Our room was spotless and ready when we arrived because the cleaning staff had been asked to attend to our room first because Judy knew we were arriving early! The pool is kept deliciously warm and inviting, the fire pit is on in the evenings and early mornings, pool towels are supplied and there is always a cold beverage offered if needed.
There was even a barbecue evening hosted by Larry and Patty, with some dishes and salads supplied by some of the other wonderful staff.
I can tell you that we would never stay anywhere else in Palm Springs. One evening sitting around the fire we, with our Palm Springs, plotted to give them a not so stellar review so that people would booking the place up for months in advance,so that we could book impromptu vacations there! But, we couldn't do that... If you are looking for a charming boutique type of hotel, the Desert Riviera is the best of the best.
DR gang, we love you guys!

Room Tip: We stayed in room one which is the room we always book but there are others who always book other ro...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank efrench5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had another great week at this special place with our returning friends and the awesome hotel family. Gumby did his regular stretching by the pool each and Mrs. Gumby had a great time relaxing and catching up. Thanks again to Larry, Patty, Judy and company for making our visit special as always. We've be back! Gumby

Room Tip: Room 1 is great
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodney F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Had a wonderful two night stay at The Desert Riviera Hotel. Upon entering through the wrought iron gate a feeling of calm & relaxation takes over. A friendly, clean, well run oasis. Grab a towel, lounge by the pool and let the hummingbirds entertain you. Looking forward to returning one day.

Stayed: March 2013
Thank Annie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Just finishing up 3 nights at this great boutique hotel in Palm Springs. It's a completely redone 1950's mid-century modern motel that used to be the main type of lodging here. There are less than a dozen rooms all grouped around a central pool area. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and it has all the trappings of a high-end resort but without all the hassles, kids and extra charges. This was our first "adult" vacation away from our 7 year old, and it really was relaxing. When you check in you are greeted by the sister of the owner/operator who offers you a beer or wine while you check in. The office is full of movies, books, golf clubs, fresh fruit and even bikes -- and nothing is extra. The rooms are clean and maintain their 1950s charm while being modern at the same time.

This hotel is a great romantic spot -- it's very low-key and relaxing. Definitely recommend and we will be returning!

Room Tip: We were in room #10 -- double queen. Very nice room but it butts up against a main drag so there is...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I've had the chance to stay at many hotels in PS and the desert palms has become one of my favorites. They really make you feel special and at home when you arrive and stay. The place is small and very inviting. When you arrive youre offered a beverage of your choice - beer, wine, soda, or water. The rooms have a welcome basket of great goodies. It's something that most hotels will charge if you decided to have a bite. They even have a bbq for you to grill a great dinner for you and youre guest. I would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ldfong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,566 reviews
1.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 73 in Palm Springs
715 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
187 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $199 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Riviera Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. (ADULTS ONLY PROPERTY) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Desert Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing