We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Easy Relaxation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desert Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Desert Riviera Hotel
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
“Easy Relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

A friend and I visited Palm Springs on a road trip and stayed here one night at the beginning of June. I did a lot of research before settling on a hotel and based on reviews from Yelp and Trip Advisor, we booked a night at the Desert Riviera. I emailed Judy to make my reservation and was promptly sent a reply and confirmation. Needless to say, our expectations were exceeded.

Judy greeted us and offered us a cold drink immediately upon us walking into the office. She welcomed us warmly, showed us the amenities and explained all about the area. Larry was very welcoming as well...we felt like we were visiting family the entire weekend.

The property is on a main road but once you walk into the gates, the outside world seems to fade away. It's a quiet and intimate setting. We stayed in a room with 2 beds and were pleasantly surprised about the size and quality of the room. There was a nice table/chairs with a welcome basket of snacks as well as a kitchenette with microwave, mini-fridge and dishes/utensils (this was perfect because we had packed our own snacks for between meals and gave us a place to keep our drinks cold).

We immediately set out to enjoy the pool...it was clean and well stocked with towels and sunscreens/lotions. The setting is very relaxing and the adults only environment meant nothing but quiet tranquility. My friend borrowed a bike the next morning and took a short ride around the neighborhood, complete with directions and a map from Judy and Larry.

We were truly bummed that we hadn't booked another night at the Desert Riviera because it was the best place we stayed on our road trip!! Palm Springs at this time of year is on the quiet side due to the weather (hot) but we took advantage of the pool during the day and got a great rate (because it's off season).

The only minor thing that would make me give it a 99% instead of 100% is that the wi-fi (while free) wasn't working well and was very slow. This made searching Yelp for restaurant reviews a bit tricky.

Overall, we would definitely stay here again if ever back in the Palm Springs area!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,724
    63
    10
    8
    5
See reviews for
172
1,272
53
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

My husband and I frequent the obvious luxury hotel experiences of the beautiful desert of Palm Springs on a pretty frequent basis... we decided to 'try something new' for our 'baby-moon' / my birthday getaway. I didn't want to stay at the normal places which are a bit more crowded, lots of kids, lots of people, lots of STUFF. We considered a private home rental but only booking 4 days made that a little pricey. My husband stumbled across this gem of a hotel and let me tell you, we will NEVER STAY ANYWHERE ELSE! Let me explain... The owners, Larry & Patty, really know PEOPLE and they have created an environment where you WANT to hang out at the hotel... all day! Their attention to detail is incredible... truly... they could, quite easily, fold a massive pile of towels by the pool like all the other over-priced-average-at-best-resorts we are used to in PS... but instead, someone nightly rolls a single towel and gently lays it over the back of every sun-bather (Of which there are plenty for the 11 total guest rooms on the property...which means no overcrowded pools with only sun beds in the shade etc...) Every sun bed is perfectly sunny or shady (swivel umbrella options...amazing) and half the pool has overhead misters which is brilliant in the hottest of summer. Upon arriving, the enchanting, vine outlined gate is just as charming as what awaits beyond it... although typical, mid-century charm as only Palm Springs should be, there are NO tacky color schemes or overbearing-pepto-bismol bathrooms... everything is just timeless and perfectly thought out. There was a huge snack basket waiting for us in our room (FREE)... which matters, when you're 8 months pregnant and 'snacky'!! And at other hotels you'll pay 3$-4$ for a bag of crisps or a candy bar, here they stock you up when you check in and it's all yours (details. details. details) The kitchenette was awesome, as we love to have our own food available... also stocked with (FREE) soft drinks and waters, and they don't turn the fridges off in between guests so the fridge was, yes, actually cold. Brilliant. They have a bunch of cruising bicycles (I saw at least 6) that are FREE to guests, so my husband and I got a nice little workout riding to grab coffee in downtown (1.6 miles away). The location is great (directly across from The Ace hotel, perfect if you want to hit the bar for a little more action etc. or grab a bite at Kings Highway...) Less than a mile or so from Ralphs and the huge shopping center. Parking = FREE. A massive wall os DVDs to choose from - FREE. We usually unwind after a long day in the sun by watching a movie and at our typical spots, that will cost us about 9$-14$!!! We watched 6 movies over the course of our stay!!! for FREE! ;) you get where I'm going with this right?? On top of all of that, the pool was PERFECT. Great size, perfect temperature, and the grounds were beautiful... Nightly, they leaf blow the flower droppings etc, replace all the chair towels, perfectly rolled & color schemed on each side of the pool, they put out candles at every table and set the ambiance with mood music as well...then, in the morning, they clean it all up and make sure everything looks absolutely stunning & serve complimentary (OBVIOUSLY) coffee and tea, as well as fruit throughout the day. And MORE... There is a community kitchen you can use stocked with sauces and spices, foils and utensils etc so you can prep food then use the grill out by the pool and create your own romantic dining experience. I desperately needed a massage and they arranged a massage therapist to come to my room (Pazzan) who was absolutely wonderful and equally worth returning for!!! Overall the experience was so wonderful we actually extended our stay because we just couldn't bare to leave! We can't WAIT to return and promise, we won't be staying anywhere else! Thank you to Larry and Patty for making us feel like family!!! ;)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

If you're looking to just sit back and relax in a quiet and comfortable setting then i,d strongly recommend the Desert Riviera. The setting is perfect (NO KIDS, no partying - quiet and soothing). Small boutique hotel where you feel safe and at home - you have everything you need and more (just ask if it's not already provided for you...free of charge). I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay and I've previously stayed at the "luxury" resorts in Indian wells and they don't even compare to the service and treatment you receive here. I highly recommend the Desert Riviera (kitchenette was perfect, rooms located right by pool, misters to cool you off, free snack basket and drinks...)

Room Tip: Rooms 3-6 best for view of mountains and pool and further away from Palm Canyon Dr.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STNS16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

A great place to kick back and relax for a couple days in Palm Springs. Clean and spacious rooms, with very friendly owners. A free drink when we checked in set the tone for a great stay. Free drinks and snacks, free limo service, and a great DVD collection are available to all. It's a nice touch, which we really appreciated. The listing here on tripadvisor is a bit misleading, as this place is not what you might typically expect from a top ranked hotel. It's really more of a bed and breakfast than a hotel - but that was fine with us. If you're looking for a relaxing and low key stay in Palm Springs, you'll be happy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DjsTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Everything about the Desert Riviera is fantastic - especially the owners Larry and Patty and all of their staff. You won't find a better place to stay, and I trust that it will exceed your expectations.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueHomebrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

No excellent review here on Trip Advisor is an over-statement on the attributes of this little hotel. We had such an amazing trip to Palm Springs, thanks mainly to the experience offered by the Desert Riviera.
The hotel itself is a little retro-jewel. Gorgeous pool to relax around all day. The bikes available make it easy to get around town. Jerry and the limo service super convenient and fun - Jerry's a riot. Judy, K.C. - so attentive, warm and friendly (didn't get to meet Larry or Patty this trip). Clean, comfortable rooms. TOP-notch, personal service.
I will say that there are a few people on Trip Advisor who complain about the road noise here on the busy Palm Canyon Drive. Our room backed onto the road, and with the exception of a busy Sunday night, the noise wasn't that bad. Take ear-plugs if you must - but note: this road circles most of Palm Springs... there are MANY hotels built along the road and the noise isn't unique to the Desert Riviera so don't let it deter you from staying at this GORGEOUS resort. Take ear plugs if you're worried, but it honestly isn't that bad.
Those on here complaining about the road or the lack of amenities of a mega-hotel (ie kid-pools, gym, restaurant) should just stay at gigantic concrete bunker hotels in the newer surrounding areas in the desert. That said, I think management from those hotel corporations should book a stay at the Desert Riviera for a tutorial in customer service!
Anyone looking for a retro blast of an authentic Palm Springs experience, do call up these fine people and stay here.... great access to restaurants (try the King's Highway across the street - awesome food), downtown, etc.
I can't rave enough about our experience here! Go go GO!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trixrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Stayed here for two nights with my husband and my parents! We had originally only booked one night, but 10 minutes after arriving at the hotel we decided that we HAD to stay another night. Even two nights wasn't enough for this place, but unfotunately we had other plans. We've never stayed at such a friendly place! We felt so welcome right as we stepped in to the hotel and we were greeted with cold drinks after our long drive from Vegas.

The staff is wonderful! They were always making sure we're doing fine and have everything we need.

The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. Wonderful heated pool and jacuzzi and nice pool area to just sit and hang out. The surrounding mountains are beautiful!

I have nothing bad to say about this hotel! Good to know though that it's a little far from town and the restaurants (maybe 20 minutes walk), but the hotel has bikes you can borrow and also a free limousine sevice!

Will be returning in august!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
1.4 mi away
San Giuliano Hotel
San Giuliano Hotel
#4 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#11 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Property: Desert Riviera Hotel
Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Riviera Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. (ADULTS ONLY PROPERTY) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Desert Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing