We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in Palm Springs!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Desert Riviera Hotel
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2008

My wife and I found this wonderful oasis centrally located in Palm Springs. We travelled from NY to attend a Salsa Dance weekend at a large hotel but chose The Desert Riviera Hotel for its charm, personal attention and wanted to experience a property that reflected a " mid-century" style and friendly atmosphere.The Stearns Family , Larry, and Judy are such wonderful hosts. We learned that the property was recently rennovated and marveled at the transformation. We took early morning swims in the large heated pool and relaxed in the spa just steps from our room. The gardens and overall ambience is exceptional! The rooms are so well designed and detailed. All possible ammentities are included.Judy and Larry were always available . After a long day of dance classes we returned to DR to enjoy a late afternoon Pizza Party hosted at the Tuscan Grill by Steve .Great storytelling at night around the outdoor firepit. All of this with the mountains as a backdrop clearly visible from all directions at the property.( Don't miss the pink glow of the mountains just before sunrise)We enjoyed a toast of champagne and culinary delights New Year's Eve afternoon on the terrace around the pool.with other guests.. A little early ! but (Mark and Bev were guests from UK) so we celebrated UK time! Easy walk to restaurants for breakfast Elmers and Manhattan Deli . Limo was great! Richard our chauffeur, was eager to share local stories and happenings. The Thursday Night Street Fair is great fun.! Larry and Judy were very helpful with local information and with dinner reservations. Next visit we hope to meet Patty Stearns, the designer of this charming property

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NYon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,926)
There are newer reviews for Desert Riviera Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,765 - 1,771 of 1,926 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2008

The reviews on this site all seem to be too good to be true - but having spent 4 nights there with my husband at the end of December 2007 we found that they are all completely accurate.

Larry and Judy are perfect hosts (we didn't meet Patty). We spent a great New Years Eve afternoon and evening around the pool - Larry and Judy were distributing free champagne and amazing freshly cooked pizza from the bbq whilst we chatted with some of the other guests. Nothing seems to be too much trouble for them and they have got the balance right - they are there for you when you want them but not in your face all the time - it feels very laid back and relaxed.

Would we go back? - Absolutely!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bevandmark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2008

Two friends and I stayed at Desert Riviera Hotel to celebrate my 40th birthday. We had a lovely time!! The hosts were very attentive, but not overly so, we loved Room 10 (nice size and ambiance), our pool time was spectacular - we were even treated to Margaritas!! - and the limo was a great touch. My only reason for rating it a four and not a five was its location. While the limo was great, I would prefer to be closer to downtown because I like to be able to walk to and from dinner, shopping, etc. Other than that (which I'm sure is not an issue for many), I have nothing but compliments for this wonderful establishment. Thank you for a fabulous weekend!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingmom2_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2008

Absolutely the best stay at any hotel in the nation! My fiance and I were planning a getaway before his deployment to Iraq. Larry, Judy, Richard and Steve made our last week together before Iraq the best we could have ever spent it! I am amazed at the dedication that Larry has for this "boutique" hotel and it's guests.
We were honored to stay in the "Manager's Suite", a.k.a. the "part of the family suite", which he offered even though the hotel was completely full!! Our week was filled with beautiful views, morning greetings from Larry and Judy, an overflowing list of things to do and places to eat as well as a completely complimentary limo service with the best chauffeur, Richard, a.k.a Ricardo!
ALL of the guess work normally accompanied at any hotel stay, such as what to do, where to eat, etc., was completely absent. Judy was always there to help you plan your day and evening, giving the best recommendations for everything! We felt like family and had absolutely no stress! We were also very appreciative of our privacy.
We felt completely secluded in our room and always knew we could socialize with guests at our leisure. After nights out, the outdoor fire pit was always bustling with Larry and guests enjoying drinks and cigars and having a blast! Larry was always at the fire pit mainly to make sure that all was going well maintaining the serenity of the hotel. The owners and everyone who went with it couldn't have done anything better!!! This was the most personal place we have ever stayed...we WILL be back...every year...

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank nivanoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2008

My husband and I decided to take a quick New Year's get away and chose the Desert Riviera based on reviews from Trip Advisor. We called the hotel directly and booked through Judy (Judy is the BEST!) and she was kind enough to hold the rooms while we sorted out our flights. She also juggled the rooms at the hotel so that we would not have to switch rooms in the middle of the trip (they were full) and that was greatly appreciated.

We flew in to LAX and drove to Palm Springs. Our flight was late and we did not get in until after 9pm. We met Larry when we arrived and he encouraged us to join him and a few other guests at the fire pit. We dropped our bags in the room, came out and Larry greeted us with cold beers!! Such hospitality is hard to find. We joined the others around the fire and had a great time and that was just the first few hours we were there!!!

We met so many nice people and we all felt like we were guests at Larry's home rather than a guest at a hotel. He had great suggestions about trails to hike and areas in Palm Springs to explore. The Carl Lykken Trail (Free!) was great as was Joshua Tree National Park. If you need a reservation, Judy can handle it! We had a spa day after hiking at Joshua Tree and Judy arranged everything. If you are there on Thursday's, there is a street festival in downtown Palm Springs with crafts and food.

The limo (FREE!!) that the hotel provides is a great service and Richard is great! Rooms were so cute and well appointed and the kitchenette was a plus so we could keep our snacks and wine cold.

I could go on and on, but the bottom line is that we will be back to visit Larry, Judy, Richard (Ricardo!) and the gang again. We have NEVER felt so welcome anywhere and had such impeccable service. The big hotels could learn a thing or two from Larry and Judy.

Thanks for having us!!

Ashley & Matt

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Mashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2008

Our stay was amazing. The service was amazing. This trip will be forever remembered and we will continue to come back to this great hotel. This hotel is incomparable to any other hotel. My fiance and I stayed at the Desert Riviera from the 30th of December until the 6th of January and it will be something we will never forget. Larry (the owner) accommodates your every need and if he can't he will find someone that can. The rooms are gorgeous, comfortable like being at home. The rooms are nice and spacious, have nice comfortable beds, big shower heads, clean floors, refrigerators (drinks and snacks), and all the luxuries and extras that you need. Judy (at the front desk) will make reservations for you whether it's at a restaurant, spa, golf, etc. The pool is exquisite, heated just enough, and if it's too cold then the spa does just fine. The overall atmosphere at the hotel will make you so comfortable that you will never want to leave. Richard (the chauffeur) is amazing also he will take you to your dinner reservation at night and pick you up at the airport. Overall this hotel is everything that all those other hotels try and strive to be. It encompasses the top level of traveling and does it with ease. It exceeds anything that I could ever imagine, and made for the best stay I have ever had. Between the service, the outstanding and clean accommodations, and overall feel of the hotel, I have to say again that this was the best hotel hand down. I will continue through the years to stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank slagelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2008

We had a lot of regrets after staying at the Desert Riviera Hotel.

We regretted that our 2 night stay wasn't longer; that we didn't have enough time to enjoy the exquisite gardens more or take a dip in the delightful pool; that we weren't able to take a ride in the complimentary limo or use the free bicycles. And most of all - we regretted having to leave at all!

The hotel is just lovely. The rooms are spotless (they put my housekeeping to shame!). The kitchenette was so handy and appreciated. We loved the wooden Venetian blinds and the flat-screen TV with built-in DVD player (DVD's available in the common area by the office - free!).

What makes this little gem of a hotel really sparkle, though, is the unconditional hospitality of Larry and Judy (we didn't meet Patty this time).

But what we regret most of all is - that we have to wait to go back!

A stunning little motel!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Criticaltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,569 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 73 in Palm Springs
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
879 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
189 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $200 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Riviera Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. (ADULTS ONLY PROPERTY) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Desert Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing