We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Desert Riviera Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Villa Royale Inn(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel California(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
V Palm Springs(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,003)
Filter reviews
2,003 results
Traveler rating
1,912
65
13
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,912
65
13
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitpizza ovenowners rick and marthaother guestssnack basketwelcome basketroad noisefree snacksdvd libraryheated poolbbq areathought of everythinglittle extrashumming birdsbottled watersmall hotelcruiser bikes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,169 - 1,174 of 2,003 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2012

My recent stay was wonderful and I want to come back. The staff are outstanding and go above and beyond the call of duty. I forgot my laptop charger and Judy went home and got hers for me to use. You don't get that kind of service anywhere. The limo service to the airport is an added touch and having it available in the evenings was a real treat. I loved the pool - Larry keeps it heated to 90 degrees - I spends hours in there - delightful. Sitting around the fire pit at night was so relaxing and very pretty with all of the candles and mood lighting. If you are looking for a small boutique hotel with lots of charm and exceptional service - this is the place.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowbirdwannabe_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We thought the price seemed reasonable for palm springs, and the attention to detail was impeccable. They truly transform the place at night, with candles everywhere, lights in the trees and the firepit. The rooms were very clean, with comfortable furniture and bedding, and the pool area couldn't have been better or more appropriate for the size of the hotel.

However, all visitors should be aware of 2 major issues:
- Road noise is inescapable and constant, as the hotel is right on E palm canyon drive. They've done their best with the hedges and greenery, but you must realize that this hotel is right on the road, making pool time a little less relaxing that it could be.
- We had some major water issues. They said that the pipes were under repair, but after 2 mornings of intermittent scalding we stopped showering there.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nirav K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Our second visit and as good as the first and are now planning our 3rd. you really cannot find any where better and we have tried. the little extra touches are so simple but so thoughtful to make you feel welcome, our only problem now is their second hotel which is as welcoming. The owners and the staff are so friendly it is like staying with friends. We could not get as many nights as we wanted so will book early next time, we will be returners as are most of the other guests, which say's it all.

Room Tip: Rooms that open to front of pool are ideal and a small kitchen included.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandyterry_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We took a chance and tried something different than the typical Marriott, Hilton, etc.. Desert Riviera is a quaint hotel near everything Palm Springs has to offer. The owners are great people, but "dad" made our stay delightful and was so much fun around the fire pit. The accommodations are special and they really have restored it to what I am sure it was like when these hotels were the hottest in town. We will stay there on a return trip, as I understand most do. Take a chance and try something different. You won't regret it!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that walks out to the pool. Most do, but make sure you ask.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

This is a fantastic place. Not the fanciest hotel in Palm Springs, just the nicest. Larry and Patti make you feel incredibly welcome and comfortable. I've never been to a hotel where they say "help yourself to beer from the fridge anytime." Our room was VERY clean, and the grounds are immaculate. It deserves its top rating on tripadvisor. It seemed like most of the other guests were return visitors, so book early. Free cruiser bike use. Free fresh fruit always available (including grapefruit from Larry's tree). Free limo service to restaurants. You can't go wrong.

Room Tip: We were in room #1, and it had a kitchenette and was great!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews