We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shangri-La in Palm Springs!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Desert Riviera Hotel
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Shangri-La in Palm Springs!”
Reviewed January 4, 2008

We had a lot of regrets after staying at the Desert Riviera Hotel.

We regretted that our 2 night stay wasn't longer; that we didn't have enough time to enjoy the exquisite gardens more or take a dip in the delightful pool; that we weren't able to take a ride in the complimentary limo or use the free bicycles. And most of all - we regretted having to leave at all!

The hotel is just lovely. The rooms are spotless (they put my housekeeping to shame!). The kitchenette was so handy and appreciated. We loved the wooden Venetian blinds and the flat-screen TV with built-in DVD player (DVD's available in the common area by the office - free!).

What makes this little gem of a hotel really sparkle, though, is the unconditional hospitality of Larry and Judy (we didn't meet Patty this time).

But what we regret most of all is - that we have to wait to go back!

A stunning little motel!

  • Liked — Beautiful Grounds, Charming Decor, Exceptional Hospitality; Mountain Views
  • Disliked — Shower water pressure
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Criticaltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,813
    64
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
183
1,339
55
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2008

What can I say? Excellent service at a reasonable price and THEN some. Three couples (including me) rang in the New Year at the Desert Riviera and could not be more impressed with the treatment we received.

The location is convenient, the style is hip and cute, and the attention to detail was superb. Owner Larry and Manager Judy immediately made us feel like family. They sincerely cared about the quality of our stay and followed up regularly to be sure that we felt cared for.

We were encouraged to make friends around the cozy firepit and relax in the bathwater-warm pool. Bikes (individual and tandem!) were at our disposal for trips around the neighborhood, DVDs were available for viewing AT NO CHARGE on our sleek flat-screen TVs, and the limo (helmed by city-savvy driver Richard) was available to our 6-person group FOR FREE on both busy nights before the New Year!

Larry has an overwhelming sense of pride in his little oasis, and it shows. We will be back this year and for years beyond, and we'll be bringing friends!

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BabsSilverwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2007

My husband and I chose this hotel for our annual anniversary trip. Every year we stay at the number 1 ranked hotel on trip advisor. I have to tell you that out of the last 6 we have stayed at, this one is our fave so far. The room was great, and the property is gorgeous. But what makes this place so good is the service. The owner was always asking if there was anything else he could do for us. He even offered us a second night for free as an anniversary gift however we were unable to take him up on that! What makes a good place are the little things. The in room snacks, the drinks upon arrival and the overall feel of the place. We are looking forward to our next trip in August and will stay here again...

  • Liked — the service
  • Disliked — the location
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Kellymay_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, AZ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2007

This was the best hotel stay I've ever had. Judy, Steve, and Larry were amazing hosts. We arrived there and they immediately offered us champagne and sparkling cider to celebrate our arrival. They recommended excellent dinner options (Spencer's was fabulous) and called Richard to take us in the Limo. On the way back, Richard took us around the city and waited while we walked through Robo-Christmas (that's an entry on its own, but if you're around during Christmastime, it's certainly an interesting, if slightly disturbing, sight). The pool was perfect - 80 degrees on a 55 degree day - and available whenever we felt like it. They added nice touches like leaving fresh dates, chocolate, and fruit out in the foyer for a snack during the day. We also rode their tandem bike up into the mountains which was a lot of fun. They recommended the not-to-miss activities like the Thursday night art festival with food, artists, and street music. Honestly, I've never had such great hosts. Oh yeah, we also borrowed DVDs from their open DVD library one night. It was just a wonderful, relaxing, happy stay.

  • Liked — The staff was amazing, the setting was lovely, clean. Pool was warm ;)
  • Disliked — loved it all
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank leo7333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 25, 2007

Well it is Christmas…

One of the things I am thankful for this year is our “Desert Rivera” experience!

We were visiting SoCal in October and having a great time. We were in Oceanside and the fires were raging. Being on vacation I was not following the news! (Insert DUH here)

We set out for The San Diego Wild Animal Park and a hotel near by… It was then I realized we were in trouble. All the roads going north and south were jammed. (It took us three hours to move one mile! We got off on a side road and made the decision to forget our plans and go to Palm Springs!

All I had was an old GPS, and a bad map with little detail. The cell phone was worthless!

Finally the phone “woke up” and I called Larry at the inn… We were planning a stay there but they did have a room for us two days early?

He said he would call back in 15! He did too…

He said our room was ready, and we could arrive at any time, don’t worry you have a place he said! He also said he had a map and offered directions and said we could call his cell at anytime! Some 45 min later he called just to see if we were ok!

We arrived to a perfect room our 138 mile trip took us eight hours and I saw things I never wish to see again! Judy greeted us in the am (nearly noon when we woke up!) and the GENUINE concern was evident, we had a great day at the pool a great meal in palm springs and that night we spent poolside in front of the fire with other guests, Judy and Larry!

The motel is a very sensitive restoration of a mid-century modern jewel. EVERYTIING was perfect down to the linens… Impeccable taste!

I am a fairly well traveled guy… never in my experience have I had such a perfect experience from the help… to the advice… to the room… the hosts... and and pool.

I can’t imagine a better place!

Thank you!

  • Liked — The hosts
  • Disliked — Too far from home!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShutterbugChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2007

We only had a few days and were in desperate need of sun and relaxation. We found the hotel on the website; smallhotelsofpalmsprings.com. There is a reason this hotel is ranked #1! The hotel's website looked inviting so we called and were immediately made to feel welcomed after speaking with Judy on the phone. You feel relaxed and cared for the moment you walk on to the property. Larry, one of the owners, goes out of his way, as does everyone else to ensure that your stay is a relaxing one. The rooms are more than clean and comfortable. Each room has complementary snacks and a fridge with various beverages. Larry made sure we had everything we needed, introduced us to other guests and made himself more than available should we require anything at all. There are bicycles on the property should you choose to use one. There are fresh pastries and newspapers each morning. There is a firepit that you can sit around in evenings and look up at the stars. The rooms surround a beautiful pool and incredible landscaping. I cannont say enough about this hotel except to say that if you want to relax and like being pampered please do yourself a favor and make a reservation. We liked it so much we are going back in January!

  • Liked — Staff
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NurseLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2007

I can't wait to go back to the Desert Riviera. This hotel has a bed and breakfast feel since there are only 10 rooms surrounding the heated pool. All rooms have a view of the mountain. Yes, the rooms are newly remodeled, spacious, clean, and bright and the bed/linens...fabulous! We didn't take advantage of the kitchenettes but it was nice to have cold beverages waiting in the fridge for you when you got back to your room after chillin in the pool with the other guests (that all become your friends by the end of your visit). Judy and Larry rock! Judy helped plan my weekend since I was surprising my bf, Loran, for his bday. She made dinner reservations for us, scheduled a couples massage (which was heavenly) and even picked up a cake for me. Michael (the limo driver) took us out and brought us home each night. The limo definitely added an old skool palm springs vibe to the night. We loved the fire pit, beautiful grounds, the free movies (what a fun collection of movies...all my favorites), the tasty brewskis and the amazing company we had. The atmosphere is so comfortable and relaxing that it was tough leaving the place to explore the area. We were too lazy to take a ride on the bikes that they had available to borrow but we'll make sure to next time. Couples, friends or staying solo...all will enjoy the Desert Riviera. You are sure to have a goooooooooooood time!

  • Liked — The staff and ambiance.
  • Disliked — That I couldn't stay longer.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifunki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,257 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Rossi Hotel
The Rossi Hotel
#4 of 73 in Palm Springs
576 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
856 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
185 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
#15 of 73 in Palm Springs
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Property: Desert Riviera Hotel
Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Riviera Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. (ADULTS ONLY PROPERTY) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Desert Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing