We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the little things that count”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Desert Riviera Hotel
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Fairbanks, Alaska, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It's the little things that count”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

While on a southwest road trip with my girlfriend a few years ago, I scoffed at the idea of stopping in Palm Springs and staying in a little poolside place. I'm glad she didn't listen to me. What started as one night turned into three. I love this place. We were made to feel special from the moment we walked in the door, and I've seen the owners have given the same warm and welcoming greeting to everyone else who's checked in while I was in the office. An offer of a glass of wine, beer, soda when you walk in from your long road trip to get there is a little touch that goes a long way. The office is homey and welcoming. Lots of little amenities, like a constantly growing collection of great movies to watch on your in-room wide-screen TV/DVD player (when you're feeling lazy and sun-baked). Cruiser bikes, including a tandem. Outdoor grill, hot tub (yes, it's nice to have that even in the desert, especially at night). It's a good place to home-base if you're headed to Joshua Tree to hike or climb. A nice little local standby hike nearby is the Liken Trail, a little further away are some great trails to palm oases in Indian Canyons park. The place generally has a great energy, and a great group of guests seem to gravitate there, making it a nice place to socialize if you want, or keep to yourself if you don't. I admire the owners for their obvious skill in running a business, for their excellent attention to customer service. So much so that on our last visit, I asked Patty and Larry for their advice in applying some of what they do in my own new business. We live in Alaska, and knowing that we will be guaranteed to have a great experience, we take regular trips to Palm Springs to stay at the Desert Riviera. And I never new I could be a person of routine. I can't recommend this place highly enough. Say hi for us when you go.

Jeff and Janice

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,830
    64
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
185
1,348
58
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

It's hard to even know where to begin to put our wonderful experience into words. I am extremely picky when it comes to hotels, but this fabulous place exceeded all my expectations. Stylish, retro, down-to-earth, a true home away from home. The hospitality we experienced here is out of this world and will be the benchmark I compare all other hotel service to from now. We felt like honored guests and family at the same time.

The hotel is impeccably clean, the room was spacious, the bed was comfortable, the little in-suite kitchen was so convenient, the pool was refreshing and peaceful, never a lack of things to do with bikes and movies available for free on site. We didn't wanted to leave!

Thank you for making our honeymoon so very special! Can't wait to come back for another stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAT1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Desert Riviera really is as good as the ratings imply. We were there for three nights in October and enjoyed our stay in the hotel and in Palm Springs. Larry and Patty are incredibly warm and friendly, but not overbearingly so - certainly nothing like the holiday camp atmosphere which I was fearing. Rooms and pool area are stylish and understated - in fact, the hotel is far nicer than the website implies. Recommend it wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: The hotel is situated on a main road and there is a little traffic noise but not disturbingly so ,es...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris11599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2011

My boyfriend and I have stayed at the Desert Riviera multiple times over the past 4 years, and each time we are so glad to be there and look forward to the next time. The proprietors have a gift for making you feel at home, and with very nice accommodations, amenities, and pool area. The kitchenettes and grill are a plus for those who do not want to eat every meal out (we usually hit Trader Joe's immediately), and we love using the tandem cruiser. The pool and hot tub are awesome after a hike or run, and the pool area really is very relaxing and quiet. This is a very special place, and I have stayed at many boutique "special" hotels through the years.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aksnowbirdFairbanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

My husband and I went to Desert Rivera for our 12th wedding anniversary (we also went for our 10th). If you want to get away form everything and relax, this is the place to go. We were extremely fortunate to have 80+ degree weather for our November trip and spent most afternoons lounging about the quiet and heated pool. As much as we love our son, we love having a place to go where there are only other adults lounging about. No screaming, splashing children at this pool. The limo service to and from dinner is excellent and the staff has excellent knowledge of the area restaurants. We look forward to future anniversaries spent in such a peaceful, relaxing environment.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamElSegundo_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

TripAdvisor has done it again! Desert Riviera was rated at the top for Palm Springs lodgings, and it didn't disappoint. Like our stay last summer at the Phoenix in San Francisco, the DR is a remodeled 50s-60s motel, but with a stylistic flair and an accent on generous comfort. The owners/hosts, Larry and Patti, were so amazingly helpful, providing snacks, coffee, making reservations at local restaurant, recommendations, and always cheerful and fun. When we were there we found out that the NY Times had just done a profile on the DR. Hopefully, that won't make it too busy to get a room because we intend to come back.

Room Tip: We liked Room 8 with the little enclosed patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Desert Riviera deserves to be #1 in Palm Springs. As world travelers with extensive experience with B&Bs, 5 star hotels and everything inbetween, we were delighted with the warmth of our welcome and the extensive range of amenities that the owners/hosts, Larry and Patty Stearns, offer their guests. No detail for your comfort is overlooked. The place is well-maintained - immaculate! We stayed in their largest room with a separate kitchen which was spotless. The decor is well-conceived and well-executed. It was a pleasure to be in the room then walk out to the pool surrounded by imaginative landscaping. The entire place glows with care and attention. Desert Riviera gives you an opportunity to support an independent local business and you will really get value for your money. We feel terrific about staying there and wouldn't hesitate to go back. You will love this place!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovestoLearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,263 reviews
1.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
869 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
#15 of 73 in Palm Springs
172 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
3.3 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#8 of 73 in Palm Springs
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Property: Desert Riviera Hotel
Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Riviera Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. (ADULTS ONLY PROPERTY) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Desert Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing