We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality, Relaxation, and Fun all in one place! Who would of thought?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Desert Riviera Hotel
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Cedarpines Park, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hospitality, Relaxation, and Fun all in one place! Who would of thought?”
Reviewed March 30, 2011

We visited Larry and Patty at the Desert Riviera for our 3 year wedding anniversary. We are in our 20's/30's and were looking for a relaxing place in Palm Springs. We live in the mountains about an hour away and had to get out of the cold. :) Boy did we love this place. We were greeted by both Larry and Patty and they were so sweet and put a bottle of champagne in our room for our celebration. They were so wonderful to talk to and they made everything so perfect. They provided fresh towels, snacks, drinks and best of all the pool was open and warm 24 hours a day! We used the beach cruisers they offered one morning to get a bite to eat and then relaxed by the pool. All staff members were helpful and made us feel so welcome. We will definately be back this year and can't wait to catch up with the hosts! Thanks for all you did for us!

Sincerely,
Tory and Matt

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingWards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,799
    64
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
180
1,331
54
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
One person from one world
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

This was our fourth stay. We love it. Judy and Larry are exceptional hoteliers; they always go the extra mile. It's a small awesomely remodeled 50's hotel, we see the same couples each year and few new ones. Always great laughs and conversation at the fire pit but the noise is kept in check for those who like to get there sleep. I've never been to a place where the owners take such an interest in making sure their guests are happy, really nice. We booked again for next year on our way out.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PembrokeLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2011

We returned to this hotel after staying here in March of 2010 and this is still THE most perfect place to relax and enjoy the beautiful desert enviroment. The pool, the palm trees, the hummingbirds, the hot tub and grill and fire pit, and the perfect hosts, Steve, Judy, Larry, Patty, and Lucy. Heck, we even met Grandpa this time, who was visiting and helping out at their new hotel nearby, the Hotel California. I have a feeling that one will be just as nice when it is totally finished.

For first timers who may be nervous about the fact that so many people who stay here know the owners like family members, rest assured that if you want privacy and to be left alone, there is NO problem with that. The owners do not bother their guests. What they do instead is ensure that everyone who stays here feels at home and they try to provide everything and anything they can to make you feel comfortable: sweet and spotlessly clean rooms, free coffee all day, huge and colorful pool towels, free fruit, free snacks in the room, free beverages in the fridge, free bikes to use, free phone calls (even international), a limo at your disposal if you want it. What these owners do so well is NOT nickel and dime their guests. Actually, given the rates, it is exactly the opposite. This place is a bargain and an absolute joy!

We will always look forward to our next stay at the Desert Riviera, just like everyone else who ever gets the chance to stay here. Take my advice though: book early for the high season. This place is a special secret no longer and the word is out. The Desert Riviera rocks!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael/Steven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

We just loved this place...........Everything positive that you read is true.

I'd be shocked if you stayed here and didn't agree.

No one does it better.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shark75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2011

Lovely people, lovely place. We were travelling with our four month old baby and were made to feel very welcome. The room was immaculate and had a cool vibe, and the grounds and pool are lovely. The other guests were extremely friendly and most seemed to have stayed there multiple times. We couldn't go out for dinner at night but instead got takeaway and ate by the fire pit which was very nice. The restaurant recommendations were spot-on.

I can't imagine there is a nicer spot to stay in and around Palm Springs. Everything you need is provided for you. Stay here if you can - this is how hotels are supposed to be!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2011

A friends review prior to booking our stay at the Desert Riviera didn't come close to descibing our experience at this "Hidden Gem" in the Desert. We felt immediately at home with the warm welcome we received the moment we walked in the door. The grounds are impeccably maintained, the accommodation was immaculate as well as well appointed. The owners, Larry and Patty, are two of the most accommodating people you could imagine. Our only regret was not booking more than a 3 night stay. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MurrayandBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Small details set this hotel apart from others. Fresh fruit and drinks every day. Board games, movies, books, bikes, and even suntan lotion. Great pool, hot tub and fire pit. Other guests are nice. Owner makes you feel like he is truly happy you are visiting!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia4622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 73 in Palm Springs
703 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,540 reviews
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
182 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
1.4 mi away
The Rossi Hotel
The Rossi Hotel
#4 of 73 in Palm Springs
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Property: Desert Riviera Hotel
Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Riviera Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. (ADULTS ONLY PROPERTY) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Desert Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing