We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitly the unique and very best place to stay in Palm Springs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Century Palm Springs
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I discovered Century Palm Springs in 2005. I was running away from a resort close to it where I originally booked and stayed just one night...
It is my 19th stay since! Should I say more? Yes, am a european guy travelling a lot and I must say this place is totally unique. First, the location and the unobstructed breathtaking view. Second, the very stylish small manucured resort. Rooms are great with a lot of details, simple but in fact very sophisticated. The staff (the old like the new one) is extremly friendly and really care about guest's confort and satisfaction. It is not totally by chance that the guests in huge majority look like the place.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jedibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 205 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2011

I've stayed at numerous guest houses in Palm Springs over the past 10 years.
I was staying at a different "resort and spa" and had to finally leave because of the condition of the property and the unwanted "critters" in the bed. So, I called Century. Wow, what a difference! Yes, the price is more but it is so true....you get what you pay for. The decor is crisp, modern and refreshing. The service was very good. It is a smaller complex, which for some might not be what they are looking for, but for my partner and I it was great. We've already booked a long weekend for the end of August. I would highly recommend Century to anyone looking for a more upscale stay when in Palm Springs.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FuzzyFtLauderdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

My 2nd time here, the Century simply doesn't fail to deliver! One of those places where the property actually looks better in person than on the website. So much has been paid attention to every little design detail. It's a mid-century-lover's dream, but not on overkill.

For gay men, the place does tend to cater to couples, but a solo traveler will feel welcome.
Both times I stayed in a deluxe king (which has an extra sitting area), but I checked out the standard king rooms, and they are completely spacious as well.

Those looking to do some cooking while there, rooms #8 and #9 are really cool suites which have kitchens, dining areas and private patios. They're really great!!

Most important and what I love best about the place is the staff/management who truly add to the level of comfortableness of your overall stay there. Charlton, James, and especially Greg are simply the best!! Treat yourself and stay at Century!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BadKat68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

We've stayed in other PS gay resorts...this one is outstanding on all accounts. The staff is very accomdating, friendly and service oriented. The mid century moderne decor is very nice. The rooms, gounds and pool are spotless. We would definately go back! This is a place for couples and good friends, not those looking for lots of extra 'action'. Totally relaxing.
Brad & Steve

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

I have visited the Century 4 or 5 times a year over the past seven years. It remains a beautiful, comfortable, clean property.

Over the last two years, however, the place has been sold to new owners and new management put in place. On my last two stays, Charleton, the not-the-general-manager, never left the office except to leave for the day and to open the door for arriving guests. He never helped a guest with a bag, he never offered a cocktail or snack during happy hour, he never skimmed the pool (kind of necessary when the wind picks up), he never picked up a towel discarded poolside. All the niceties of the past--morning television news and Aspen Mills breads at breakfast, the great selection of magazines, chilled towels by the pools, popsicles in the afternoon, the making of dinner reservations, traffic reports for the trip home--are gone (at least if he is on duty). What service that remains has to be exacted. And when you ask for service you are as often answered with a "no" as a "yes" (this would include, btw, asking for vodka during happy hour--they ran out of it on a holiday weekend). Regardless of the answer, the tone will be cold, off-putting, and more than likely rude.

Not coincidently, the demographics of the guests are not the same as they used to be. We're a bunch of 40-something professionals. We are pretty low-key. Other repeat visitors have become long-time friends. Recently, we seem to have less in common with the some of the other guests, some of whom would be as comfortable staying at CCBC as at the Century.

The Century is not inexpensive. My group typically stays in their three top rooms. We are all repeat customers. Yet the new staff cannot seem to remember anyone's name. The new staff seem unable to return phone calls. And recently getting reservations correct has become a problem.

It is very sad. It seems as if the new owners and the management he has chosen are bound and determined to run this place into the ground. The good news, there are options (right across the street). Granted those options are as expensive or more, but they are committed to guest services (at least they claim) in a way that the Century no longer seems capable of or interested in.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank silverlake_advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

First off, this is by far one of the best gay resorts in Palm Springs. The level of cleanliness and style is fantastic. It really can't be beat in an inn of this size. We hope to return.

However, we overheard SEVERAL repeat guests (we have visited before as well) say that the new day manager, while cordial, is distant and not terribly accommodating. Complimentary Social Hour drinks were simply not offered to any guest one night. Breakfast, which is served from 8-10 was not ready until 8:30. When asking a question at the front desk, a response of "this is your last question" is not funny when delivered with a blank stare. Several guests asked that the lounge music be put on by the pool and were told it didn't work. When the charming evening manager came on, the music suddenly worked....three days in a row.

We understand that staffing changes must happen. But, what drew us and others to the Century was the perfect balance of friendliness and professionalism. It's a small 9 room Inn, not a huge hotel shouldn't be managed by a cold distance.

We heard several guests saying, we won't be back if this is the service we're going to get. My partner and I couldn't agree more.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank CityGuys60750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

I recently decided to try a different guest house in Plam Springs having stayed at InnDulge, Santiago and Hacienda numerous times. I chose Century given the wonderful feedack I had heard from others who had visited Palm Springs in the past and their recommendations were correct. While one of the smaller guest resorts in Palm Springs with only nine rooms, the intimacy of this size makes for a wonderful trip. The staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful. The rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean, the pool area is fantstic and beautiful at night. During my stay I was the only "newbie" with everyone else being repeat visitors and I can totally understand why! Century truly is one of the best kept secrets in Palm Springs and for those who want luxury at an affordable price and with stellar service. This is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BWRWashington_D_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.9 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,983 reviews
2.2 mi away
ARRIVE
ARRIVE
#9 of 75 in Palm Springs
220 reviews
1 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#10 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort
0.6 mi away
Triangle Inn Palm Springs
Triangle Inn Palm Springs
#10 of 41 in Palm Springs
160 reviews
0 mi away
INNdulge
INNdulge
#5 of 41 in Palm Springs
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Palm Springs

Address: 598 S Grenfall Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-7619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range: $220 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Century Palm Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Century Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Century Hotel Palm Springs
Palm Springs Century Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing