We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Late night Oasis of Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manhattan in the Desert

Manhattan in the Desert
Reserve with OpenTable
Manhattan in the Desert is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 316 Restaurants in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Farrell
Sharon, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
184 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Late night Oasis of Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Having arrived after an all day flight from the East coast we decided to go straight from Palm Springs international airport with our rental car to Manhattan in the Desert for a late evening
fill up. This place is the Jewish deli capital of the west coast. You MUST have the Matzoh ball soup at $4.99 it is a must have. We decided to each get a bowl then also one of us had a Cobb salad ( half salad is giant full salad is a mountain $9.99 & 12.99) I decided on the "Frisco Burger"
( sorry San Franciscan's but I did not name it) this is a half pound beef burger cooked the way you want it on a Grilled Parmesan sourdough bread with melted Swiss cheese and sliced tomato $10.99 The portions are very large especially the "Deli" type of foods this place is fabulous for a sunday or saturday brunch even with tables out door under umbrella's.
It is a full Deli, Bakery and restaurant on East palm canyon drive just east of Farrell on the east bound direction. You will love it and the staff has great attitude. You will notice many don't look Jewish at all but I would say about 3/4 of the servers have been there for many many years as we have been going there with each visit to the desert at least once each year since 2004 and the same people are there to serve you and they do recognize you too! SO go for it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike71553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    207
    76
    25
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Astoria oregon
Level Contributor
1,671 reviews
1,069 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 707 helpful votes
“Ate here twice, first time almost good, and came back to be diappointed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

If it were possible to have a real east side neighborhood deli here in the desert would be utopia. Finding one outside of New York has been impossible. Now finding Broadway and 40's area style delis are much easier. They, of course are over priced catering to the tourist crowd. So this one goes.
The second trip is convincing enough if you want a New York deli catch a flight to New York.
We dont think we want to return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Journeyman644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Huge servings and better-than-average food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

It's a bit of a schlep from downtown, but it's a beautiful setting for a good meal. I had the half-sized Cobb salad that was delicious and so big I couldn't finish it. The only disappointment was they didn't have any tiramisu available that night. The service was fast. I'd go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fatbearbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galiano Island, Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“DOG=Patio!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Finally found a cafe that would let us bring our dog onto the patio! Food was okay, very mediocre. A place to eat! They seemed to have a large selection of desserts, that looked really good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Will F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“DESSERTS!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've only had a full meal here a couple times, and the food was OK, if memory serves- the real draw here, and what makes Manhattan a "must have" every time I visit PS is the dessert selections. Housed in two giant cases in the entrance are huge portions of cake, tarts, brownies, cookies, and pastries galore! YUMMY! Prices are moderate, considering how much dessert you are getting- one portion can easily serve 2 people. I always get a Florentine fruit tart, which isn't made with flour for you gluten free folks with a sweet tooth ;) Leaving can be a bit tricky, since you can't turn to go back North into town and have to make a U-turn up the street.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manhattan in the Desert also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 

Been to Manhattan in the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing