We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Deli Around” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manhattan in the Desert

Manhattan in the Desert
Reserve with OpenTable
Manhattan in the Desert is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 316 Restaurants in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Farrell
Corona, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Deli Around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have been to some of the best deli style restaurants in California and this is in the top five for sure. Corned beef is the best. Fresh baked breads and pastries on premises. If you love delis you gotta love Manhattan in the Desert.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank L I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    207
    76
    25
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just As The Name Suggests”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is the best deli restaurant in the Valley, bar none. The food is consistently good, the staff are consistently attentive, and the crowd is consistently New York-like. Ya gotta love it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TandJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego CA
Level Contributor
322 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“This place never disappoints us”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have eaten here several times, and if the worst that we can say is that you will have to wait to get in, well that should tell you something. There is a large bakery case area when you enter to tempt you. The food has always been really good. We like the cold beet borscht. It may sound strange if you don't know what it is, but you should try it. We also like the "tri" salad, where you can choose egg, tuna, chicken or chopped liver along with a bagel and tomatoes, cukes, red onion, etc. We have had all kinds of sandwiches, dinners, etc, and all of it is pretty darn good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank nadojeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Winner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

As a native New Yorker, the true test of a great deli is pastrami on rye. I can say without reservation, that " Manhattan in the Desert" is a piece of the "Big Apple." Don't forget the potato salad and the cole slaw!

Helpful?
Thank tahoejk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not a pleasant experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

After waiting over twenty minutes for a table, but feeling it was justified by the good ratings on this site, we ordered typical diner fare: pastrami sandwich and club sandwich.

The first unpleasant experience is the level of noise - either everybody is yelling or the acoustics magnify sounds. You have a choice of not talking to your partner or joining in the cacophony and screaming too.

The second unpleasantness comes with the first bite of pastrami: it is SALTY!!! Sure, there is lots of meat and if one's grade were to be based on portion size, this would rate top marks. However, quality of food in my book is far more important than how much the kitchen has stuffed between two pieces of bread.

The third unpleasantness occurs as I reach for the mustard dispenser (the sandwich consists of bread and meat, period). The squirt bottle is so greasy I don't want to touch my sandwich afterwards without wiping my fingers with Purell first. The mustard helps the pastrami go down, but I know I'll be drinking water for several hours to offset this salt overdose.

The club sandwich was rated a 6 or 7 out of 10 by my partner. In other words, not too bad but not worth a second visit. As to this pastrami sandwich, I give it no more than a 3. Anyone who has tasted the pastrami at Schwartz's Deli in Montreal, Canada, knows that few places come close to matching its superb flavour; Manhattan in the Desert's offering is not even in the same league.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsCalabash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manhattan in the Desert also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
 

Been to Manhattan in the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing