We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best course, close to the airport”
Review of Escena Golf Club

Escena Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 18-hole, par 72 Nicklaus design, rated #6 public course in California by PGATOUR online. Wide fairways, great views, highly acclaimed cuisine, ultra-cool mid-century modern clubhouse. Open to the public for golf, breakfast, lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
194 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best course, close to the airport”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

If you get in early or fly out late you can easy squeeze in a round before or after your flight. Nice track, plenty of challenge nice wide fairways and no tricks. Easy to figure this one out and not have to play it a couple times first, of course a few rounds always helps. Very cool clubhouse and restaurant is pretty good also.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grant L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    73
    20
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Liked this course a lot - relaxing”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We had 1 last morning to play. This was right near the airport and on a couple of the 'top 5' lists I had found. We went out at 7am and staff was great. Course was in great shape - very open. Some deep grass, but your job is to stay out of it. Greens slow in the AM and sped up as sun came up.

The couple we played with said the greens were much slower than normal.

Food was very nice and I would play this again.

13 Handicap

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matt321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver bc
Level Contributor
191 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Great Family Day Round”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Great round of golf with my brother and brother in-laws, staff was very helpful getting us out, my rental clubs Callaway's were more than adequate for my skill set. Coarse was in great shape and great value.
The food at the 10th tee was fresh and they had wide variety including a veggie option.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank comingforthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria oregon
Level Contributor
1,673 reviews
318 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 709 helpful votes
“Midcentury with beautiful views good food.”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Nice pleasant. Good lunch.
Waitstaff needs to learn not to interrupt people speaking. Always leave and return later to ask to remove dishes while others are still dining.
When in a conversation just a quick turn of your head waving them away is that appropriate?
Would they know that timing is wrong?
Anyway excellent midcentury
architecture style and design. Good food.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Journeyman644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
221 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Definitely worth a visit for brunch or lunch. The food is tasty, and the views are unmatched. I ordered the Cobb Salad, which was perfect, and very affordable.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Escena Golf Club also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 

Been to Escena Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing