We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Realised Palm Springs dreams...”
Review of The Rossi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rossi Hotel
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Realised Palm Springs dreams...”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We came accross San Guiliano when looking for an alternative place to stay after another hotel just did not meet expectations. What we wanted was a room with pool access and outdoor space of its own to enjoy the evening dessert heat and watch the hills... All this and more was our experience in San Guiliano. Especially appreciated considerate touches, robes, bottled water, available fruit and snacks all day... My husband travels a lot on business and these are often not available or offered in luxury resorts!
Very impressed by the warmth of the owners, the location cannot be beat, just a short walk to everything, and we found the neighbourhood to be quiet and peaceful. As I say San Guiliano helped us to turn a bad experience to the good, we even stayed an extra night... I would recommend this comfortable Hotel to anyone who wants to experience the best of Palm Springs!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    49
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
30
439
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
131 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This little 8 unit mini-resort is the perfect place to relax and soak up atmosphere of Palm Springs. The grounds are impeccable, and beautifully manicured. We stayed in the Ranch unit and enjoyed a very private courtyard, and ready-for-us jacuzzi. The room was very clean and we'll appointed, and having many original era touches. You are easily in walking distance to the main street eateries and stores. On top of all this the service is attentive, and friendly (thank you Bob!). This will be a frequent stop for us. The only tip is to be prepared for the continental breakfast to be somewhat minimal. No big deal. Take a morning walk to breakfast....... or spend it over sleeping! I Easy to do here!

Room Tip: We think the Ranch unit has it all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dangerdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We needed a hotel for the night on our way home in Arizona. We stopped at the visitor’s center outside Palm Springs and received information along with a high recommendation to San Giuliano hotel. We didn’t know what to expect when we arrived at the hotel. We paid for the room before seeing it because we liked the location and outside appearance of the property. Our room was not just a bed in a space. The room was suite with a private outside Jacuzzi. Five star amenities like robes and slippers, outdoor fire place, great heated pool and gardens, big washroom and great service. This was our anniversary and the room was the most perfect romantic setting one could ask for. We plan on celebrating our anniversary next year at the San Giuliano hotel four nights. We highly recommend the San Giuliano hotel.

Room Tip: All the great restaurants are two to three block walk from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Larry913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I'm writing much except to echo all of the positive comments you can read here. An excellent value for the money. Very quiet and romantic. Thank you very much to Eric and Caesar for making our trip even better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dyzd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
161 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

At first glance you feel like you're getting near 5 star luxury for a fraction of the cost. Once in, you realize there's fraying around the edges of your initial experience -- limited TV channels, not the best quality television though the screen is larger than most. Worn areas here and there in the tile bathroom, etc. These minor realities do not actually diminish the comfort of the room though or pleasures such as the personal spa on the private patio, the proximity of the pool (steps away from the front door of our room) or the more than adequate little kitchen. Most reviewers comment on how nice the staff is and that's true - but, not having a 'lobby' or anyone on the premises can be a drawback such as the one we experienced where one of us forgot our phone (where we'd put the code) and therefore got locked out, unable to contact anyone. Management insists they're only a phone call away and that's true: we had to call them for another issue and they came right to our rescue -- but who wants to call them late, late after a night at the casino. (<--- the phone/code problem) Town is a few short blocks away. The surrounding mountains are gorgeous. The free snacks are a nice touch. I would definitely stay here again. Pets are also welcome but then Palm Springs is a very dog friendly town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JesseLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My wife and I have stayed twice now at the San Giuliano hotel. The first time was Dec 2012 and we stayed in the Sedona suite for three nights. Awesome room, front doors open poolside and of course the private patio with a jacuzzi. We loved the room and hotel instantly. If I had to say anything about the Sedona, it was the shower. The pressure was so strong and the type of shower head was one you couldn't adjust. Just too strong...it would sting sensitive parts of the body! I actually wonder is someone complained once in the past about the pressure being too weak causing the now too strong. Wasn't a big deal, everything else was great.

Our second trip was April 2 - 5 2013. This time we stayed in the Fountain suite. From the pictures it looked like the view from the private hot tub would be facing the mountain and we were not disappointed. It had a spacious yard and wonderful room inside. The bathroom in the fountain was HUGE! The shower more than made up for the high pressure in the Sedona. Loved it. We loved the room.

I have read some of the other reviews. I believe any of the bad ones were under old mgmt. This is not your traditional hotel. Staff is only onsite till about 6PM. I don't find this to be a problem at all. The main gates have electronic keypads for entry, so once you check in you can be in and out as you wish. The staff super nice on both trips. I feel like it is the best of both worlds. They are available if you need them, but otherwise everything is thoughtfully stocked/supplied. It really gives you a nice intimate feel.

There is no lobby with a big breakfast spread but around 9AM each morning they do provide coffee and breakfast muffins etc. Also snacks/water throughout the day. This is part of the charm in our opinion. It really feels like you are far away but close to downtown.

The room was clean. It had a small fridge and microwave. We bring some waters and alcohol so that we can have some afternoon libations before dinner :) We will definitely stay here again and again.

Room Tip: For the Fountain suite you park right in front of your door on a side street. Very nice. Feels VIP...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank itanalyst619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Took my girlfriend here to celebrate her birthday. Had to schedule at the last minute and thx to tripadvisor found this lovely spot. Sitesee in morning, drinks at the pool ( right outside our door) all afternoon until the sun dipped below the mountain, private hot tub in evening, then clean up and walk to dinner at one of the many great places on Palm Canyon - Lulu is only 2 blocks. Couldn't have been a better trip. Loved it and will return if in Palm Springs again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.4 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,888 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 73 in Palm Springs
703 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
845 reviews
1.3 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
182 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rossi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rossi Hotel

Property: The Rossi Hotel
Address: 375 W Arenas Rd, Palm Springs, CA 92262-6307 (Formerly San Giuliano Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#11 Family Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rossi Hotel (formerly known as The San Giuliano) was originally built as a hotel in the 1920's and was known as The Wigwam, hosting an array of glamorous movie stars. One of the oldest hotels in the Palm Springs area. All eight suites enjoy beautiful private patios and jacuzzis. We are located in the historic Tennis Club District in the heart of Downtown Palm Springs. Enjoy our beautiful pool with the San Jacinto Mountains as a backdrop. Surprisingly, this oasis is located just steps from the exciting Downtown Palm Springs with an abundance of restaurants, shops and entertainment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
San Giuliano Palm Springs
Hotel San Giuliano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing