We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it.”
Review of The Rossi Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rossi Hotel
Ranked #4 of 74 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I'm writing much except to echo all of the positive comments you can read here. An excellent value for the money. Very quiet and romantic. Thank you very much to Eric and Caesar for making our trip even better.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dyzd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 589 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

At first glance you feel like you're getting near 5 star luxury for a fraction of the cost. Once in, you realize there's fraying around the edges of your initial experience -- limited TV channels, not the best quality television though the screen is larger than most. Worn areas here and there in the tile bathroom, etc. These minor realities do not actually diminish the comfort of the room though or pleasures such as the personal spa on the private patio, the proximity of the pool (steps away from the front door of our room) or the more than adequate little kitchen. Most reviewers comment on how nice the staff is and that's true - but, not having a 'lobby' or anyone on the premises can be a drawback such as the one we experienced where one of us forgot our phone (where we'd put the code) and therefore got locked out, unable to contact anyone. Management insists they're only a phone call away and that's true: we had to call them for another issue and they came right to our rescue -- but who wants to call them late, late after a night at the casino. (<--- the phone/code problem) Town is a few short blocks away. The surrounding mountains are gorgeous. The free snacks are a nice touch. I would definitely stay here again. Pets are also welcome but then Palm Springs is a very dog friendly town.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JesseLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My wife and I have stayed twice now at the San Giuliano hotel. The first time was Dec 2012 and we stayed in the Sedona suite for three nights. Awesome room, front doors open poolside and of course the private patio with a jacuzzi. We loved the room and hotel instantly. If I had to say anything about the Sedona, it was the shower. The pressure was so strong and the type of shower head was one you couldn't adjust. Just too strong...it would sting sensitive parts of the body! I actually wonder is someone complained once in the past about the pressure being too weak causing the now too strong. Wasn't a big deal, everything else was great.

Our second trip was April 2 - 5 2013. This time we stayed in the Fountain suite. From the pictures it looked like the view from the private hot tub would be facing the mountain and we were not disappointed. It had a spacious yard and wonderful room inside. The bathroom in the fountain was HUGE! The shower more than made up for the high pressure in the Sedona. Loved it. We loved the room.

I have read some of the other reviews. I believe any of the bad ones were under old mgmt. This is not your traditional hotel. Staff is only onsite till about 6PM. I don't find this to be a problem at all. The main gates have electronic keypads for entry, so once you check in you can be in and out as you wish. The staff super nice on both trips. I feel like it is the best of both worlds. They are available if you need them, but otherwise everything is thoughtfully stocked/supplied. It really gives you a nice intimate feel.

There is no lobby with a big breakfast spread but around 9AM each morning they do provide coffee and breakfast muffins etc. Also snacks/water throughout the day. This is part of the charm in our opinion. It really feels like you are far away but close to downtown.

The room was clean. It had a small fridge and microwave. We bring some waters and alcohol so that we can have some afternoon libations before dinner :) We will definitely stay here again and again.

Room Tip: For the Fountain suite you park right in front of your door on a side street. Very nice. Feels VIP...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank itanalyst619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Took my girlfriend here to celebrate her birthday. Had to schedule at the last minute and thx to tripadvisor found this lovely spot. Sitesee in morning, drinks at the pool ( right outside our door) all afternoon until the sun dipped below the mountain, private hot tub in evening, then clean up and walk to dinner at one of the many great places on Palm Canyon - Lulu is only 2 blocks. Couldn't have been a better trip. Loved it and will return if in Palm Springs again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Nice place to forget about the car for the weekend. Park it, and enjoy your time together. Walk into town, numerous good restaurants, and spend time on your private patio & jacuzzi. Pool area complements the upscale resort feel. Great place for couples looking for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RRSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My long time girlfriend and I finally moved in together in early January. To celebrate we took a "honeymoon" trip to California and while in Palm Springs stayed in the Fountain Hacienda for 5 days as well as the Sunset for one night at the end of our trip. Overall observations follow:

Palm Spring is a great town, even in the "cool" season of January. You can get get air rates (we got $400 return from Ottawa, Canada at a time when (much closer) Florida rates are typically $700). We experienced very plesant temperatures with all day sunshine. As many reviewers mention the core shops/restaurants are only a 5 minute walk away. We felt very, very safe at night walking to/from the downtown strip. Look for the market on Thursday nights.

Fountain room - great room with exceptional privacy and great price (we stayed from Sunday-Friday). I travel frequently and I believe this may have been the best ever room (with yard) I have ever stayed in. Very, very highly recommended for a couple wanting some peace and quiet/romance.

Sunset room - another great room will a good kitchen. This and the other rooms that surround the pool area would also be great as they provide both privacy (in the yard/hot tub area) combined with a great courtyard/poolside for social conversation/relaxation.

Owners - take immense pride in the facility (well landscaped, clean rooms and grounds) and are extremely helpful with any questions, requests while still respecting privacy.

Excursions - we are both golfers and we planned our trip during the PGA tour stop at La Quinta, which is only about 45 minute drive from the hotel. We saw many of our favourite pros. For those who golf, there are numerous courses in the area. We also greatly enjoyed another day trip (highly recommended) to Josha Tree national park - an exceptional experience and just about 1 hour or less out of town. Day trips to the coast and to the LA area are also possible depending on how much you want to get out vs staying in town relaxing.

Room Tip: Fountain is outstanding for privacy, however does not provide direct access to the pool/courtyard. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank skyguybri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a great find in Palm Springs. Quiet, luxurious and with all the amenities you would ever want for your weekend getaway. It's within walking distance from the main town attractions, including shopping, restaurants, museums. The service is excellent, friendly and always available, even if you forget the key combo to your door ;-)

We're going back next motnth...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Dimitris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.4 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,932 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 74 in Palm Springs
726 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#8 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 74 in Palm Springs
885 reviews
1.3 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 74 in Palm Springs
195 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rossi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rossi Hotel

Address: 375 W Arenas Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6307 (Formerly San Giuliano Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#11 Family Hotel in Palm Springs
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rossi Hotel (formerly known as The San Giuliano) was originally built as a hotel in the 1920's and was known as The Wigwam, hosting an array of glamorous movie stars. One of the oldest hotels in the Palm Springs area. All eight suites enjoy beautiful private patios and jacuzzis. We are located in the historic Tennis Club District in the heart of Downtown Palm Springs. Enjoy our beautiful pool with the San Jacinto Mountains as a backdrop. Surprisingly, this oasis is located just steps from the exciting Downtown Palm Springs with an abundance of restaurants, shops and entertainment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
San Giuliano Palm Springs
Hotel San Giuliano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing