We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with Great Service”
Review of The Rossi Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rossi Hotel
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
MN
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel with Great Service”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We recently spent 6 relaxing nights at the San Giuliano. It was the perfect place for us. We stayed in the Sedona Suite and it was nice having the separate sitting area with French doors out to our private patio and Jacuzzi. Our front door opened to the pool area which was very convenient. The location of the hotel is just a few blocks from downtown which made for easy access to shopping, restaurants, and bars. The best part of the hotel is Eric and all of the staff who did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable.We especially enjoyed the mimosas by the pool on Saturday and Sunday. This was our first trip to Palm Springs and we will definitely stay at the San Giuliano when we return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BKBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    49
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
31
445
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Wonderful stay...Romantic, quiet and very private.Serice was top cabin.
Two small criticisms keep it from 5 star-The shower door doesn't seal well (unit 8) resulting in a wet floor...we slipped on several occasions.And the Continental breakfast consisted of cellophane-wrapped, commericially baked (manufactured)pastries as opposed to anything remotely fresh and consistent with this wonderful spot.
We loved it and recommend it highly with these two small caveats.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkDeBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrossi, General Manager at The Rossi Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hello and thank you for reviewing our property. In response to your comments regarding our small continental breakfast. We agree with you and wish we could offer our guests freshly baked danishes and muffins, unfortunately, we would be under the same restrictions, codes, fees and licenses as a restaurant and are simply not equipped for this, we simply do not have the space necessary. We do not charge for our continental breakfast nor do we charge for the snacks offered all day to our guests or our delicious mimosas offered by the pool. We hope you understand. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
857 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel is the perfect base in Palm Springs. Not only is the property lovely, and everyone there very helpful and friendly, but you can walk almost anywhere. Our room, #5 (the Gold Room) was a good size, and the bed very comfortable. As with the entire property, everything was very clean. A small fridge and microwave is provided in the room. As the hotel description states, each room has a private hot tub. Ours was surrounded by beautiful flowers and trees, and many hummingbirds. There was coffee in the morning, and snacks offered through the day. We were even offered a mimosa at check-in. The only negatives for this particular room consist of some serious water pressure from the shower spray, and that you could slightly hear/feel traffic from the main street in the morning when it was really quiet. We cannot wait to come back and spend more time here- as others have stated, it is very relaxing. This was our first trip to Palm Springs, and it is hard to imagine staying anywhere else now. We would absolutely recommend this hotel/room to all who want a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: The Gold room was in a nice location, and unlike some of the other rooms, had the private patio in f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

So beautiful! My husband took me here for a surprise birthday getaway (August 2012). I was having such a hard time at work, this was exactly what I needed. I loved the environment, so private and quiet; great when you want to getaway from the busy, loud and crowded resorts down the way. (We always come midweek to Palm Springs, that way we get more privacy when we visit resorts. It makes a HUGGGEEE difference, best way to travel!)

The service was excellent. Everyone was so accommodating and extremely nice! We woke up super early to take a dip in the main pool, and one of the workers made sure to clean the pool before we did so (even though it was so early); he then set up the umbrellas and seats for us so we could both be under our own shade. On top of that he brought us ice cold water and refilled on point. Definitely felt catered to!

The nice thing about this resort is that there are nice private entrances so you don't feel like you're intruding on other guests and their private patios. We loved our room so much. Our room was HUGE! And it's always nice when the sitting room is SEPARATE from the bedroom, feels more homely and secluded. On top of that, we had a private patio with our own hot tub. Perfect if you want to take night dips without bothering other guests in the main central pool.

Definitely coming back on our next trip to Palm Springs, which is often ;) Wondering what our next room will look like??

Room Tip: All of the rooms are different, so enjoy! I don't recall which room has its own private entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Christie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great experience and this small hotel. Our room was the Sedona and it was perfect! We came into town for the Tour de Palm Springs. We used to live in town and visit frequently. We've stayed at many places, but I think this is our new favorite. Cesar checked us in and he is so awesome. Very nice, friendly and the most hard working guy around. Housekeeping was helpful and friendly as well. Our room was lovely, clean and had everything we could imagine. This hotel is very small and quiet, a good place to chill and relax. You can walk to town easily. Thanks for a great experience and we look forward to coming back again.
Suki and Diane

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sookisue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARIN
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had the Gold suite. Amazing private patio hot tub, and top notch bathroom jacuzzi tub, shower and sinks. Perhaps a bigger nosh platter at breakfast would be a good idea...

Very friendly manager, and it was great to be able to walk to dinner and not worry about driving..

Small check in timespan, so plan your trip accordingly.

Room Tip: Their site shows the rooms very well
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UNI4ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gullane, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We found the San Giuliano last year by sheer accident, and thought it was great. Decided to return this year to see whether it was still as good. It is - or even slightly better. The Sunflower Hacienda is huge - a large living room with kitchenette (which includes microwave, fridge and two burner stove), flat screen TV, DVD and radio/cd player. The bedroom is large too, with kingsize bed, superb mattress and ample drawer and hanging space. But the icing on the cake is the private terrace with a large jaccuzi - wonderful therapy after a gruelling game of golf! The managers are very helpful and the housekeepers extremely willing. The improvements this year include the provision of on tap coffee, ice and a limited breakfast, though we preferred to do our own. Our only quibble is that plastic wine glasses and tumblers are provided rather than glass, presumably because of the risk of broken glass by the lovely heated swimming pool.
The hotel (well, it's not really a hotel - 8 rooms only - really a boutique serviced accommodation) is only five minutes walk from the main drag, where there are many restaurants
Some might think that the prices at San Giuliano are a bit high, but the luxury is well worth it. We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ericmyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.4 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,910 reviews
0.2 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
865 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
1.6 mi away
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
#14 of 73 in Palm Springs
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rossi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rossi Hotel

Property: The Rossi Hotel
Address: 375 W Arenas Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6307 (Formerly San Giuliano Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#11 Family Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rossi Hotel (formerly known as The San Giuliano) was originally built as a hotel in the 1920's and was known as The Wigwam, hosting an array of glamorous movie stars. One of the oldest hotels in the Palm Springs area. All eight suites enjoy beautiful private patios and jacuzzis. We are located in the historic Tennis Club District in the heart of Downtown Palm Springs. Enjoy our beautiful pool with the San Jacinto Mountains as a backdrop. Surprisingly, this oasis is located just steps from the exciting Downtown Palm Springs with an abundance of restaurants, shops and entertainment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
San Giuliano Palm Springs
Hotel San Giuliano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing