We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will never forget...”
Review of Old Ranch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Old Ranch Inn
Ranked #20 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Will never forget...”
Reviewed May 4, 2007

In January my husband and I decided to go to the Coachella Festival. On the Coachella site, they had a list of Hotels you could contact, I called many of them, but they were all full, or charging an outrageous amount of money. One small hotel I called was booked but she recommended that I go to Small Hotels of Palm Springs, I went to the website, and liked what I saw when I spotted the Old Ranch Inn. I called them and they had 1 room left at a decent price, so I booked it. We didn't know what to expect when we got there, but it was wonderful. Ed and Larry who run/own the Inn were so welcoming. We both felt so relaxed while staying there, they have such great personalities and were so kind to all of the guests. The rooms are beautifully decorated, and very clean. They take a lot of pride in their Inn. It has so much character. I would recommend this to everyone I know that is planning to go to Palm Springs and wants to escape the daily routine. It is walking distance to everything downtown. This was our first trip to Palm Springs, CA, and we both want to go back as soon as possible. I have no desire to check any other Hotel out, once you find a place like the Old Ranch Inn, you don’t need to stay anywhere else.
Norm and Jackie.

  • Liked — The Hospitality, and the beautifully decorated and clean rooms
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank albertaragdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    55
    8
    1
    5
See reviews for
36
446
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
san diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2007

This is a small hotel. It was a house and has been converted, with some extra building where space was added, to become one of the most wonderful places to stay. This was our second time here. The first time was for a little rest time that my husband and I needed, and we took a chance on this location. We were and still are so glad we did. This last time we booked only a few days, because it was all we had. If we have a day here or there, you will find us at the Old Ranch Inn. I am NOT a hot weather person. Can't stand it, but for time at the Old Ranch Inn, I'll take even the weather. I can absolutely promise, you will NOT be disappointed with your stay. I am looking forward to the next stay....and am hoping for the suite some day!!! Try this beautiflu eye in center of your stormy life and you will be SOOOOO glad you did! You will also be happy to meet Ed and Larry, (owners)who are the most gracious hosts you could ask for. My husband and I feel like we have made two new friends. I wish we had a lot more time to just be around the pool and enjoy the tranquility, and the kindness of the accomodating Ed and Larry.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank tigerbite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2007

We have just returned from our 3 week honeymoon in the states and after having stayed in a number of different hotels, this was by far the best. A small inn in Palm Springs, the setting is perfect, owners very friendly and helpful, and it is in an excellent location. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and if we ever return to Palm Springs we will be sure to stay at the Old Ranch Inn.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank franSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2007

We originally booked our room at Desert Riviera Hotel (currently #2) but they called and very apologetically said that they were overbooked. So, we booked a room here. The place is very clean and kept up. The rooms are very nice too. They included a kitchenette along with dishes and silverware. Larry was very helpful. We stayed in the Tiffany Room, which is directly across from the office. Though, for $188.43 total for 1 night...I think it's a little overpriced. This is our first stay in Palm Springs, so we have no other hotel experience here.
This is why we did not rate it a 5:
1 - The bathroom sink faucet is too short. So you end up getting water all over the counter top when you try to wash your hands.
2 - You have to have gymnast abilities to grab the toilet paper. It is located behind and to the right of the toilet.
3 - When closed, after-hours, the front door slams shut. It would blow you out of bed if you were staying in the front two rooms.
4 - A useful information binder in the room would be nice. It could contain instructions on how to use the very nice air conditioner in the room.
All of these are easy fixes but annoyances when you are staying in the room. We are going to try the Desert Riviera Hotel next time, but would not advise anyone from staying at the Old Ranch Inn. It just didn't give us the "Wow" factor.

  • Liked — The small number of rooms.
  • Disliked — Nothing special that made me really like it.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MREUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2007

We have just returned from a California trip where we spent 4 wonderful nights at the Old Ranch Inn in Palm Springs. Previous reviews that speak of beautiful surroundings, tranquility, fabulous appointed accommodation, etc are spot on - we literally couldnt fault a thing - only that we hadnt booked to stay longer! Ed and Larry truly are great hosts who were genuinely warm and welcoming from arrival to departure. We stayed in Room 8, which offered luxurious decor and comfort, patio doors leading directly onto the pool area (with sun all afternoon) and a private patio area to the side. It was bliss to return after an evening out and sit around the lit pool area, listening to the various fountains within the hotel grounds - and nothing else! - it was so peaceful and quiet you forgot that you were only a five minute walk from Palm Canyon Drive. During the day, there were humming birds around the patio, trees you could pick oranges and lemons from and relaxing music. Villagefest was a good night, as was a trip to the Spa Casino (we won!). Overall we left Palm Springs feeling like we didnt have a care in the world, so relaxed, and with definite plans to return to the Old Ranch Inn.

  • Liked — Quality Of Accommodation And Wonderful Hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank BURDONS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo ca
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2007

We are frequent travelers to Palm Springs and enjoy staying at different places. First trip to Old Ranch Inn and we are hooked. Most notably the proprietors Larry and Ed made us feel like family. Attentive gracious and accommodating. They make the difference. Doesn't hurt that each room is uniquely decorated beautifully. Beds were fabulous, the morning coffee was very good (I'm a coffee snob and the blend they use was great) rooms were very spacious too. Quaint quiet and relaxing was our stay - A+

  • Liked — location, owners, cleanliness, beds, decor
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank currybj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2007

We have just returned from our California holiday, and by far the best hotel we have ever stayed in is The Old Ranch Inn in Palm Springs. Unfortunately we were only there three nights as we could spend a lot longer in both the hotel and Palm Springs. We felt as though we had arrived in laid back paradise. Hotel isn't a just description, it felt as if we were personal guests of Ed and Larry. When we had a minor hiccup with a trip we had booked over the internet, they even rang the company for me to sort it out. The rooms are clean and very spacious, with very efficient and quiet air conditioning. The location is excellent, a five minute walk from the main street with a great assortment of shops and places to eat. We don't usually return to a place once visited, as there are so many cities to visit, but The Old Ranch Inn will definitely see us again.

  • Liked — Friendliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Madagascar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
865 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,260 reviews
1.4 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
1.4 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
186 reviews
1.5 mi away
Palm Springs Rendezvous
Palm Springs Rendezvous
#7 of 73 in Palm Springs
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Ranch Inn

Property: Old Ranch Inn
Address: 220 S Patencio Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6337
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#15 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Ranch Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Old Ranch Inn' is an Historic Palm Springs Retreat located in the Historic Tennis Club Neighborhood in the Downtown Village, and is tucked away behind gates, amidst palm trees & flowering plants, shady patios and sparkling fountains. The 'Old Ranch Inn' is a quaint, intimate hotel with an informal, relaxed atmosphere. Its' poolside suites range in size from large charming, well-appointed full-room suites, to a one-bedroom luxury apartment; all with kitchenettes, spacious baths, private patio retreats & some with fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Old Ranch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ranch Hotel Palm Springs
Old Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing