We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Place in Palm Springs”
Review of Old Ranch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Ranch Inn
Ranked #22 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed at the Old Ranch Inn from February 18 to 20th, 2014, in room 4. The Inn is located a few blocks off the main drag of Palm Springs so it's easy to walk to anything. The rooms are clean and well decorated - the Inn has been renovated fairly recently. The room we had had a walk in shower, instead of a tub shower, which we very much appreciated.

The owners, Larry and Ed, were very friendly and helpful - gave us advice about the area and were concerned about our comfort in the Inn.

The neighborhood is good but the Inn has a locked front door after about 5 or 6 pm (you have a key to open it) so people cannot just wander into the place.

The decorating touches lent a "homey" feel instead of the institutional feel you get in some hotels.

The Inn is attractive, clean and well appointed.

The negative aspects of the Inn are as follows:

1. The office closes at about 5pm so if you need anything after that, you're out of luck.
2. "Breakfast" is pretty modest. Best to get breakfast from a restaurant.
3. The keys are on a key ring that is large and weighs a lot. It's uncomfortable to carry it in your pocket. A modern card access would be an improvement.
4. The air conditioner in our room did not cool the room off very quickly and would not get the room really cool. And this was when the nights were cool.

Overall, it's one of the better places we've stayed and we'd go back.

Room Tip: Rooms 4, 5, 6, 7, and 8 face out on the pool. The other rooms face to a hallway, but at least some o...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
There are newer reviews for Old Ranch Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 627 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014

We've been staying at The Old Ranch Inn for the last 8 years. Every year we need to spend a week away from Minnesota, and going to Palm Springs has become our "destination". As usual, Ed & Larry got us up to speed on the new restaurants and changes in DT Palm Springs on the first day of our arrival. The Old Ranch Inn is only about 3 blocks away from downtown, so there is always something new to go see - - or a new place to eat. The hotel has 8 rooms - - and each room has a door right out to the pool area. There is also a fire-pit (gas), with some chairs & tables to relax, and have a cocktail before heading out for dinner. We love going to Palm Springs, and you can't go wrong staying at The Old Ranch Inn !

Room Tip: All the rooms are quite good. However, my wife loves the two rooms which face the south, which get...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

My husband and I have been staying here with another couple for the past nine years. We would never consider staying anywhere else. This is a small boutique property with eight rooms surrounding a pool. Ed and Larry are the perfect hosts and will be full of recommendations of things to do and places to eat. It is just a short walk to downtown. We've already made our reservations for our tenth visit!!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank FiveForTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This was our first time to the Palm Springs area. It was also just 2 days after a hectic season of business and the start of our all important vacation break. Mutual friends suggested this perfect place to stay as it was their favorite.

Palm Springs is like a flash of the past with rejuvinated neighborhoods of all styles and taste. It's very high-end WITHOUT the attitude! The Old Ranch Inn was fabulous starting with the easy parking of our car. A tastefully decorated breezeway led us to the quaint office. There, Larry greeted us and checked us in. Although we anticipated a 3pm arrival, we had misplaced memory that Pacific time was one hour earlier than our state of Utah. No bother, Larry was extremely welcoming and we apologized for being dummies. We simply enjoyed a well planned pool area with table settings and PLENTY of room to stretch out. We had unloaded the car and carefully placed our things outside the room with no intention to have our housekeeping gal rush on our account. But while enjoying wine, we suddenly discovered she was lifting our heavy luggage and boxes, everything was being placed in the room! We rushed over to assist, but this is the cache of this establishment. Total customer care. She was a sweetheart and the room sparkled!

Our room (#12) was decorated with such warmth and charm, but it was substantial and very rich feeling. The bed was sublime. The bathroom even felt artsy along with the other multi colored walls. The furniture was very comfortable too. A/C remote control by the bed! The kitchen had everything one could want. Our friends arrived and by that time, I had prepared cheese plates and opened some chilled champagne,.... such is the spice of life and this wonderful place will help you achieve it.

Ed and Larry, from the start you brought on the great vibe. Ed with your emails and follow up, great personality. Larry - thanks for the warm greeting! And the ensuing conversations with you later were wonderful. Our vacation started with meeting you guys and well - we're in love with your creation there and you should be very proud. It's what people that appreciate time away from hectic life need. The pool was fresh, beautiful gardening, a restored piece of Palm Springs History that feels special - you've done it all. Thank you for the excellent treatment and perfect stay. This is how it's done RIGHT. Cheers to your success from the guys at Lake Powell. See you in the future!

Room Tip: Look at the virtual room visual on the website. It will clearly show you what you need to know for w...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiciPageArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The Old Ranch Inn is the place to stay in Palm Springs. This relaxing little retreat is within walking distance to all the restaurants, bars and action along Palm Canyon Drive. Larry and Ed are the friendliest and most accommodating Inn Keepers you will ever find. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The pool was warm and inviting. We will definitly return to The Old Ranch Inn. Thanks Larry and Ed.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The best stay we have ever had. The room was excellent and super clean. The whole place was clean, Very private, only 8 rooms set up for 2 to sleep, thus very quite place for adults. Ed and Larry, the owners had every answer to every question relating to where to eat and want to do. Will for sure go back soon. Felt like we were in a very private home. Thank you Ed and Larry for all of your hard work. Rai & Paula

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We discovered this gem in Palm Springs and am almost reluctant to share it for fear we would not be able to return! The facility is a gorgeous 8 room hotel in a quite part of old Palm Springs but minutes away from restaurants and shopping. The two owners Larry and Ed are great guys that can not do enough for you including great restaurant suggestions, recreation activities etc. the rooms are very well done and maintained at a five star level. Their moto "arrive a stranger leave a friend" is very true as their return rate of "friends" is extremely high. A must stay in Palm Springs!
Pat and Kerry

Room Tip: any room is great
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
879 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,269 reviews
1.4 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
1.4 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Ranch Inn

Address: 220 S Patencio Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6337
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#15 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $155 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Ranch Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Old Ranch Inn' is an Historic Palm Springs Retreat located in the Historic Tennis Club Neighborhood in the Downtown Village, and is tucked away behind gates, amidst palm trees & flowering plants, shady patios and sparkling fountains. The 'Old Ranch Inn' is a quaint, intimate hotel with an informal, relaxed atmosphere. Its' poolside suites range in size from large charming, well-appointed full-room suites, to a one-bedroom luxury apartment; all with kitchenettes, spacious baths, private patio retreats & some with fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Old Ranch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ranch Hotel Palm Springs
Old Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing