We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Feels like home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Ranch Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Old Ranch Inn
Ranked #15 of 70 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Feels like home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Old Ranch Inn has a very intimate feel to it, I loved that you walk right into your room, and its literally a couple steps to the pool, feels like your own condo. Room are spacious, and nicely decorated with small kitchenettes.

The pool area is very nice and quite, there isn't a ton of space so sometimes getting a spot in the sun required moving some chairs around, but we luckily were were always able to soak it in.

Ed and Larry were nice hosts, Ed was super nice upon arrival showed me the room made sure I was comfortable. A few blocks from the main strip, which was so lovely for dinning, shopping and coffee shops.

Room Tip: Choose one by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Live4it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    53
    7
    1
    5
See reviews for
35
433
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
san Diego
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Favorite of ours!! We have been coming to the Old Ranch Inn for years and it never gets old to us!! In fact...the Old Ranch Inn is the main reason we keep coming back to Palm Springs!
We feel as if Ed and Larry are our friends and we are always greeted warmly!! I can never say enough nice things about them! They care about our stay at the Inn. The rooms are spotless...as is the garden and pool area! Not to mention all the help that they offer in restaurant advise and in helping us to plan our outings for the day!
Also, really liked Brenda, who kept our room so nice and clean!
Wonderful! Super enjoyable!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pah8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Visited the Old Ranch Inn again last weekend and it was like catching up with old friends. Ed and Larry are a pleasure to talk to and the hotel is beautiful and very, very comfortable and quiet. We love the location of this hotel - walking distance to downtown, but far enough away to be quiet so you can hear all the songbirds nearby at this time of year.
During our stay, Larry recommended a restaurant for dinner, which turned out to be as delicious and nice as the rest of the places they have recommended. When we asked about bicycling in the area, they had maps available for routes we might try next year.
We booked next year's stay at the hotel before we left! Tip: if you prefer down pillows, you may want to bring your own.

Room Tip: The room we choose is a king suite at the front of the hotel, facing the street. It is quite large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Calred53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I can't say enough about this great little spot. I love Palm Springs because of Old Ranch Inn. It's in a great location in a quiet, walkable neighborhood just three blocks to the heart of town with lots of great places to eat. Our room was comfy, inviting, well-equipped, and tastefully decorated. Housekeeping was stellar. And, there's a sweet pool area with plenty of seating areas. Ed and Larry have thought of everything and are generous and welcoming hosts. They'll even pick you up at the airport! Kudos on creating a charming hideaway. We are already planning our return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fudgehaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Ed and Larry are deserving of their Trip advisor award displayed in their office, very accommodating hosts. Enjoyed our stay at the Old Ranch Inn, very comfortable and clean thanks to Eveylyn the house keeper who always had a friendly smile for everyone each day. She will very willingly do small amounts of laundry for the guests whenever asked which we thought outstanding. We were givin lots of tips, directions to places to visit , the best of restaurants pointed out and discount card for the local grocery store. Each morning there was fresh coffee and fruit out by the pool for the guest to use, but also a coffee maker and supplies in the kitchenette refilled each day. In the office there are books to borrow and many movies to chose from. The pool is kept about 85 which was very clean and not heavy with chlorine , fresh pool towels every day placed in your room and always extras for the asking if needed. The pool furniture is clean and in good condition and never a shortage. Overall we would recommend the Old Ranch Inn for a short or long stay, a very quiet area of town only a few blocks from downtown.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Wade D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
365 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Kinda feel like the princess and the pea here...after all the rave reviews...as a Tripadvisor follower, carefully researched Palm Springs choices. The Old Ranch Inn gets pluses for location certainly! And, it is super clean, attractive, small, run by two very helpful guys. Lovely pool too. Just know that the bed is really, really, really hard. My husband and I both had great difficulty getting much sleep...not fun for four nights:(. That was the spoiler for us, unfortunately...

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

It has been a year since we were here for two weeks and I was looking forward to coming back as everything was pretty much perfect last year. Life got even better this year. We were welcomed as if we genuinely mattered, and I believe we do. It was a good feeling. As well, we are in the same suite, but they got a new closet, a new bathroom vanity, and everything is even better. I had ordered some parcels before leaving Canada and had them delivered to the office and they were waiting on arrival.
This place is small enough that there is no competition of any kind for space, location, or comfort. The bed in suite one is firm....perfect. there is a huge, amazingly comfortable couch, two arm chairs, a fireplace, and a good sized kitchenette. you get your own little private patio which is really special. We are only three blocks from the main strip and enjoy both the quiet and convenience of being able to walk to envy thing.
Ed and Larry are the most friendly, efficient, and helpful business owners we have encountered. If you want to know anything about Palm Springs or the area, they will be able to help you. After bad treatment in Las Vegas, this is truly heaven.

Room Tip: Go for room 1 or 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmff4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.4 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 70 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Giuliano Hotel
San Giuliano Hotel
#5 of 70 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#8 of 70 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#11 of 70 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.9 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Ranch Inn

Property: Old Ranch Inn
Address: 220 S Patencio Rd, Palm Springs, CA 92262-6337
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#15 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Ranch Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Old Ranch Inn' is an Historic Palm Springs Retreat located in the Historic Tennis Club Neighborhood in the Downtown Village, and is tucked away behind gates, amidst palm trees & flowering plants, shady patios and sparkling fountains. The 'Old Ranch Inn' is a quaint, intimate hotel with an informal, relaxed atmosphere. Its' poolside suites range in size from large charming, well-appointed full-room suites, to a one-bedroom luxury apartment; all with kitchenettes, spacious baths, private patio retreats & some with fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Old Ranch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ranch Hotel Palm Springs
Old Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing