We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Guess We Couldn't Keep It a Secret” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Ranch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Ranch Inn
Ranked #20 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Bakersfield, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Guess We Couldn't Keep It a Secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2008

I guess the word had to get out about "The Old Ranch Inn." This was our second stay, because we had such a great experience the first time. The proprietors are lovely, welcoming people. The rooms spacious, warm and immacualte. It's just a nice relaxing place to stay. While not having all the eminities of the large hotels, it makes up for in charm and convenience. If you like smaller, cozy places with personality, this is your place.

  • Liked — The friendly, warm atmosphere.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cabailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    54
    7
    1
    5
See reviews for
35
437
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2008

Stayed for one night in January rather than going to the hotel where my convention was held. This was a great decision. The inn is small, quite and very convenient - I walked to restaurants and to the convention center (a bit of a hike). The rooms are well appointed - my only regret was that my wife did not come along. I highly recommend this as an alternative to the larger properties in Palm Springs

  • Liked — Room quality, convenience
  • Disliked — no check in desk after 5 pm and before 8 am - adequate arrangement were made however
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LA_Food_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2008

We just returned from too short a visit to Palm Spring and in particular, too short a stay at the Old Ranch Inn. The property is located idealy in close proximity to downtown,(a short 5 minute walk). We usually stay at one of the major hotel chains, but decided to try this inn based on several reviews. We were decidely impressed with all aspects of the property including the genuine hospitality of the gracioius proprietors, Ed and Larry, who go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. As a matter of interest, we stayed in Phoenix, Santa Barbara and Palm Springs on this trip and can state emphatically that the Old Inn was by far the most enjoyable. We would heartily recommend this property to anyone seeking a quiet, enjoyable stay in Palm Springs. We will most certainly be staying here again on our next trip to Palm Springs.

  • Liked — hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank bigbird1toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2008

We just spent 5 delightful nights at the Old Ranch Inn. It's a very well maintained property, and a great place to rest and relax. The two owner/managers - Larry and Ed - go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable, and they have great attention to detail. It has an excellent location, right between the mountain face and downtown Palm Springs. The free continental breakfast by the pool got every day started on the right foot.

  • Liked — Location to downtown Palm Srpings
  • Disliked — The price
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank gnolta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2008

We spent five nights in Palm Springs in early February, and chose the Old Ranch Inn because of its excellent Trip Advisor ratings. We had a lovely suite with a fireplace and full kitchen, with its own little private patio. The grounds, pool. etc. were terrific, as were the hosts - everything we needed or asked about was provided gracefully. Prices were on the high end of what we consider acceptable, but all things considered, were appropriate. The only small negative was the pre-packaged pastries with the breakfast - something fresh would have been better. A terrific place to stay in beautiful Palm Springs.

  • Liked — Location, hosts, room
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Ecclephone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2008

Recently my wife and I traveled to Palm Springs for a 10 day vacation. We had been to the city before and we wanted to stay in the old part of town. We had booked two locations for our stay in that neighborhood. After spending the first night we asked if we could extend our stay. Everything from the room to the pool or the western decore was very pleasant.

Larry and Ed do everything they can to make you feel right at home. From dinning reservations to bicycle rental or getting a cab they will make your connections easy.

We would recomend the hotel and plan to revisit.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank ElmerMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2008

We stayed in Palm Springs on way home to UK from New Zealand. ORI was an excellent choice as it was a quiet location but an easy walk into town. Our hosts were friendly and helpful. Our room was very comfortable and the heated pool a relaxing extra.

  • Liked — Quiet relaxing location of the inn
  • Disliked — Liked everything
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MM&PLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#8 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
1.4 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#7 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.9 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Las Brisas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Ranch Inn

Property: Old Ranch Inn
Address: 220 S Patencio Rd, Palm Springs, CA 92262-6337
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#15 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Ranch Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Old Ranch Inn' is an Historic Palm Springs Retreat located in the Historic Tennis Club Neighborhood in the Downtown Village, and is tucked away behind gates, amidst palm trees & flowering plants, shady patios and sparkling fountains. The 'Old Ranch Inn' is a quaint, intimate hotel with an informal, relaxed atmosphere. Its' poolside suites range in size from large charming, well-appointed full-room suites, to a one-bedroom luxury apartment; all with kitchenettes, spacious baths, private patio retreats & some with fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Old Ranch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ranch Hotel Palm Springs
Old Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing