We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Fav Place in Palm Springs-Our De-Stressor!!!”
Review of Old Ranch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Old Ranch Inn
Ranked #28 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I found ORI from a website about small hotels in Palm Springs. My husband and I go away for long weekends. It is difficult for us to go for a regular vacations. I remember I liked it from the pics I saw. Some of the other small inn's creeped me out because the decor in the room was like your Grandma's room. Too much calico and lace.
We think we have stayed 3 times, in room 3 (just there June16, 2012) two times, then one night in room 8, next night room 2., we loved it, we wanted to stay another night. We love every room, even 3. privacy is not an issue, there are only 8 rooms!!!! The grounds are beautiful, warm and friendly.
It is so relaxing, we forget about work. Relaxing at the pool, in our room, walk down the street.
Ed and Larry are so welcoming, wonderful, lovely, amazing, etc..... I could go on and on. Love them!!!!
Of course I want them to prosper, and I tell people about it, but I feel somewhat selfish because I want to keep them all to ourselves, our little secret!! But, I am too late!!! We will be back again in the hotness of PS, hopefully we can get a room!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4ChellyL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (633)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 633 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

This is our third time at the Old Ranch Inn and another wonderful stay. Ed and Larry make you feel so welcome and its the personal touches that make this lovely place so special. As usual the room was comfortable, best nights sleep in weeks and the relaxed atmosphere makes the Old ranch Inn the only place we would ever wish to stay in palm Springs. The level of hospitality is outstanding and I can only echo all the other positive reviews. My one concern is it gets so popular Its hard to get a booking, After traveling for two weeks it was wonderful to return to such a relaxed haven.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamou32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is truly a fantastic place. Everything is so tidy and well kept. We had a room with a nice well-equipped kitchenette. There are only 8 rooms to share the pool. The owners are very friendly. They gave us a map with the celebrity homes around Palm Springs. The scenery is magnificent.
The street is very calm with easy parking. Downtown is only a few minutes away. We only stayed there for one night, so sorry ! If I go back one day to Palm Springs, I will book my room months in advance to be sure not to miss this fine address!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Not having ever stayed in a small hotel like this one, we weren't sure what to expect. Another couple convinced us to come out and spend 2 nights relaxing by the pool in palm springs, so we figured, why not?

It was a wonderful time! The hotel is very quiet, and the other guests are respectful of one another. The hotel next door had a bridal party going on, which was loud but did not go on too late. It is very close (walking distance) to downtown with all kinds of restaurants and bars to get food and drink.

We stayed in room 3, which is opposite the check in desk. It is also on the corridor leading in/out of the hotel, so everyone had to walk by that room. Definitely make sure you have your curtains closed!! But other than that, we hardly were disturbed by the other guests. I would definitely recommend asking for rooms 4-8 for more privacy. The rooms were spacious, the beds were comfortable, and the bathroom had a walk in shower only, which was great for us. There is a small refrig, a microwave and even plastic cups for poolside drinking. The pool is normal sized, like for a regular home. But it is well kept, and not too cold (it was 105 when we were there!) so you can just jump in and float if you wanted.

There is a small garden area, where you can read or eat the fresh fruit in the mornings. They do not have a spread for breakfast, just the fresh fruit and coffee. It isn't a B and B!

My only complaint about the entire place is that they need either a communal large ice maker, or in room individual ice makers for the room. Ice is a necessary item when it is warm, and the small freezers in the refrigs are just too small to keep any kind of ice. Oh, and it is first come, first served on the pool lounge chairs people - you don't get to "claim" a lounge chair for your stay. If you aren't there laying in it, it is open for anyone to use! Get over yourself!

We definitely will be back!

Room Tip: ask for rooms 4-8 if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BMRosenberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

My husband and I booked our stay at Old Ranch Inn based solely on these reviews. I knew we would not be disappointed. I don't know how I can possibly add any new tidbits of info that will help assure people to stay at Old Ranch Inn. So, I guess I'll repeat what others have already said. My husband and I wanted to stay at a small, quiet inn for our trip - not a big huge resort-type hotel. This fit the bill perfectly. We woke up each morning and grabbed some fruit by the pool (which were supplied by Larry & Ed - two of the most wonderful hosts!). We swam around, laid on the pool chairs, and enjoyed the peace and quiet - as well as the beautiful views of the mountains. One afternoon, Ed even brought out ice cold water bottles to us while we were sitting by the pool. It was very thoughtful.

We dined at some great places right in the heart of downtown Palm Springs. Larry gave us some great tips on restaurants. We walked a mere three blocks and we were on the main drag. All the restaurants we ate at were right there within 1-3 blocks. It was nice not to have to drive anywhere. Walking was great. The kitchens were well furnished with a sink, full sized refrigerator, toaster, microwave, coffee maker. The fridge was even stocked with full ice cube trays. Only thing missing was a blender...but we brought ours from home so we could blend some margaritas in the afternoons.

The beds were very comfortable with nice linens. There's also a huge complimentary DVD selection in the office that Larry and Ed invite guests to enjoy. The rooms are decorated very nicely. Very high quality furniture. Definitely not like many of those outdated Palm Springs resorts that are out there. And the rates are very reasonable. Definitely worth it!

I could probably write a ton more, but I'll leave it at that. I can promise you will LOVE this inn. And you will especially love Larry and Ed. They are delightful hosts and we enjoyed getting to know them during our stay. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7 and enjoyed it very much. Very spacious. The furnishings are very nice. Front fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed in the king one bedroom suite, and loved it! It was a quiet, cool, and lovely haven inside, which is important when the outside temps are over 100. The decor is very elegant, service was great, the location is prime (within walking distance to great restaurants, but in a quiet residential section), and the spacious and tastefully decorate unit was very welcome.

Room Tip: Even though this room was right by the front door and across from the office, it was very quiet. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daheg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Well what can I say. I understand from Ed and Larry that it is our 8th time that we have had the pleasure to stay at this delightfull location. I think by now we have sampled all the rooms and I have no hesitation in recommending the Old Ranch Inn for not only the hospitality of the hosts but for the total relaxing experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnandgill_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.8 mi away
Colt's Lodge
Colt's Lodge
#13 of 75 in Palm Springs
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rossi Hotel
The Rossi Hotel
#4 of 75 in Palm Springs
605 reviews
1.5 mi away
Palm Springs Rendezvous
Palm Springs Rendezvous
#12 of 75 in Palm Springs
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 75 in Palm Springs
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#7 of 75 in Palm Springs
922 reviews
1.5 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#29 of 75 in Palm Springs
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Ranch Inn

Address: 220 S Patencio Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6337
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#15 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $166 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Ranch Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Old Ranch Inn' is an Historic Palm Springs Retreat located in the Historic Tennis Club Neighborhood in the Downtown Village, and is tucked away behind gates, amidst palm trees & flowering plants, shady patios and sparkling fountains. The 'Old Ranch Inn' is a quaint, intimate hotel with an informal, relaxed atmosphere. Its' poolside suites range in size from large charming, well-appointed full-room suites, to a one-bedroom luxury apartment; all with kitchenettes, spacious baths, private patio retreats & some with fireplace. Our pool is heated to a wonderful 88 degrees. We also offer Continental Breakfast in the mornings from 8am-11am which consist of; Starbucks Coffee a variety of Bagels (Onion,Plain,Everything,Cinnamon Raisin), English Muffins, Yogurt's, Hot Oatmeal, Cold Cereal, Granola, Blueberry and Banana Muffins. Also a variety of juices; Tomato, Apple, Grapefruit, Pineapple,and Sunny D Light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Old Ranch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ranch Hotel Palm Springs
Old Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing