We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and we will be back for sure.”
Review of Old Ranch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Ranch Inn
Ranked #22 of 74 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We found this wonderful hotel via Tripadvisor and what a find! The owners Ed and Larry are such nice guys and couldn't be more welcoming. We were given a very comprehensive list of restaurants which helped us. Larry showed us around when we got there and we got a nice bottle of wine as it was our honey moon. It is the small touches like this that make you feel like a friend staying rather than a customer. We had the pool area to ourselves nearly everyday. We were given advice about what to see and do which helped us out.

We had only planned on staying 7 nights however we changed our travel plans and came back here for a further 3 nights. It really is that good.

We will both be coming back here again. Thanks again to Ed and Larry for such a nice time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JC19EB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

284 - 290 of 628 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2011

We returned from a recent trip to Palm Springs and stayed at the Old Ranch Inn for about 4 days. This was our 2nd visit to this hotel and I am so glad we decided to return. We visit Palm Springs often and have stayed at at least a dozen different hotels in the area. Our last visit confirmed that this is by far my favorite place to stay in PS. Ed and Larry are the nicest people I have met during our visits to the area. They went above and beyond to make sure our stay was wonderful. Need a recommendation for dinner? Larry and Ed will tell you where to go. Ideas on what to do while in town, they are happy to give you suggestions and ideas. I love that they were so friendly and would take the time to chat with us while we would be hanging out by the pool or stopping in the office. They really made us feel like guests, not just customers.

Now for the inn itself. It is about 4 blocks up from downtown Palm Springs, so everything you would want to do is within walking distance. We were there in the summer, so we drove during the day to minimize our time out walking in the sun. However, the location would be perfect in the winter season since it is just off the strip but close enough to stumble home to. The inn has only about 8 rooms, but both rooms we stayed in were comfortable and so charming. We had a kitchenette in each room we stayed in. Everything is clean clean clean. The pool area is so beautiful and relaxing. We were lucky enough to have the whole place to ourselves the first night we arrived since nobody else was checked in, and it truely felt like we were at home. The only reason I rated Sleep Quality a 4 is because my husband said the bed was a little too firm for him. I didn't find this to be the case for myself, but I thought it best to be objective and reflect his experience as well.

Like I said, we have stayed at about a dozen other hotels since we began visiting PS over the last 7 years and the Old Ranch Inn is the one hotel where I KNOW we will get great service and have an awesome time. I cannot wait until we visit again. This is the one place that immediately sets me into vacation mode. Thanks Ed and Larry for helping to make our last trip to Palm Springs the best one yet!

~Michelle M.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dandeelioness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Our room at the Old Ranch Inn was Very Nice as everyone has stated in their reviews. We received a very quick tour with Larry on arrival, he was just leaving when we arrived. Ed had left us a list w/his recommendations for restaurants, good advise and great food for the 2 nights we were there. We had a couple things we would of addressed if staying longer. The bed in our room was way too firm for either of us. If staying longer we might of asked for a different room or even left if one not available. The air conditioning worked too well. One afternoon upon returning it was so cold I had to get under the covers on the hard bed to read & stay warm enough. It was 110 out so cool is good but cold was a bit much. The air unit has a hand control but it did now seem to make a difference and we were told not to change anything on the unit itself. The one other thing I will mention, that while the towels were pretty thick, they were awfully rough to the skin. Not a major problem but will mention it. It was not necessary to bring any of this to the owners attention, as we were staying such a short time. I did go to the table outside at the back of our room, the area could be nicer, some upkeep and cleaning is needed in this area. We enjoyed our stay and the peace and quiet of the area is great. Location very convenient to town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NRosenbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Larry, Ed and Teresa are our family. We been coming here for years and love it. It is a nice mix of gay and straight and people from all over. We are from South Dakota and we met others from Great Britian and Switzerland. Teresa always makes sure we want for nothing. She is a remarkable lady and Larry & Ed are gentleman and friends. i cannot wait to move to PS but I will truly miss staying at the "Old Ranch Inn."

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SouthDakotaRic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I couldn't say one negative thing about the Old Ranch Inn if I tried. From our warm reception and ongoing hospitality from friendly, knowledgeable owners Larry and Ed, to the absolute perfection that is the pool and patio area, the Old Ranch Inn delivered!

I stayed three nights with my mother in mid-July and we enjoyed fresh coffee and fruit each morning on the patio followed by hours of lazing by the pool, followed by incredible dinners at restaurants of the owners' recommendations.

If you're looking for a peaceful, quiet, relaxing vacation this is your place!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CameronJoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Upon arrival Larry made us feel very welcome. We had room no. 6 and it was lovely. The room is huge, the bathroom beautiful and it even has a small kitchen, with everything you might need. The bed was very comfortable. And it was also very quiet.
We arrived on a Thursday and on Thursdays you have from 7.00 - 10.00 PM Villagefest. That´s a very nice market with artists, bands playing, entertainers, shop-till-you-drop-stands & delicious foodstands. And the best thing is, the Old Ranch Inn is only 3 (small) blocks away from Villagefest & shopping/dining district of Palm Springs :-)

We stayed only for one night, but next time we defenitely should stay longer. And we will go back to the Old Ranch Inn without any doubt! If we could, we would be back tomorrow!

Ed & Larry thank you very much for a lovely stay. And Ed I loved our talk at check out :-) Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monique02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

this is simply the best place to chill out, well done Ed Larry and Teresa for running such a great place !! Can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plodUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.5 mi away
Palm Springs Rendezvous
Palm Springs Rendezvous
#8 of 74 in Palm Springs
762 reviews
0.2 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 74 in Palm Springs
885 reviews
1.8 mi away
Colt's Lodge
Colt's Lodge
#10 of 74 in Palm Springs
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#4 of 74 in Palm Springs
195 reviews
1.0 mi away
Los Arboles Hotel
Los Arboles Hotel
#24 of 74 in Palm Springs
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday House
Holiday House
#16 of 74 in Palm Springs
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Ranch Inn

Address: 220 S Patencio Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6337
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#15 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $188 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Ranch Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Old Ranch Inn' is an Historic Palm Springs Retreat located in the Historic Tennis Club Neighborhood in the Downtown Village, and is tucked away behind gates, amidst palm trees & flowering plants, shady patios and sparkling fountains. The 'Old Ranch Inn' is a quaint, intimate hotel with an informal, relaxed atmosphere. Its' poolside suites range in size from large charming, well-appointed full-room suites, to a one-bedroom luxury apartment; all with kitchenettes, spacious baths, private patio retreats & some with fireplace. Our pool is heated to a wonderful 88 degrees. We also offer Continental Breakfast in the mornings from 8am-11am which consist of; Starbucks Coffee a variety of Bagels (Onion,Plain,Everything,Cinnamon Raisin), English Muffins, Yogurt's, Hot Oatmeal, Cold Cereal, Granola, Blueberry and Banana Muffins. Also a variety of juices; Tomato, Apple, Grapefruit, Pineapple,and Sunny D Light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Old Ranch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ranch Hotel Palm Springs
Old Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing