We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in everyway!”
Review of Old Ranch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Ranch Inn
Ranked #20 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect in everyway!”
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We just got home from a three night stay at the Old Ranch Inn. We wanted to getaway for a quick trip of serious R&R. We found the PERFECT place!
So close to downtown yet so tranquil and relaxing. We could have stayed at one of the larger resorts but we really wanted to avoid the crowds and noise. The Old Ranch Inn met every expectation and more.
The rooms are immaculate and nicely decorated. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are spacious. The kitchenette came in so handy as we went to the grocery store and stocked up on snacks and beverages for sitting poolside and some breakfast items.
Ed & Larry will make you feel like friends and we can't wait to go back.

We had an early, early morning flight and in my rush to get out the door I forgot my ipod. I called and Ed ran to our room, found it and it's now on it's way back to me. Now that's service!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank gettome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    55
    7
    1
    5
See reviews for
35
443
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Jurong, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

The two guys who run this place make this property worth a stay. Ed and Larry made us feel right at home on there property.
We stayed in one of the one bedroom units. It was perfect.
I would say that this place is the number 2 most romantic place we have stayed in 2011. Mind you, we have stayed in a lot of hotels this year already. I put this property above the Ritz in ST. Thomas, The Four Seasons on Maui and the Ali Tower in Honolulu from a feel of romantic.
Larry and Ed will tell you the good places to eat (with a discount coupon) and what to see.
I usually find their kind of hospitality and kindness only in Hawaii and at home in Asia. These two Americans represent your country well.
Yes, I know it isn't exactly in the same league as a five star hotel, but it was darn romantic in a romantic little town.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank World2Explore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

We just got back from a quick trip to Palm Springs, and our first stay at Old Ranch Inn. What a perfect little spot to relax by the pool, walk to fun Palm Canyon Drive, and stroll through the lovely historic Tennis Club neighborhood. Our hosts are personable and informative, and the room immaculate and comfy. We'll make this our regular haunt when we visit Palm Springs again.

Room Tip: By the pool - and not facing into the west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Fogleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

There are 8 rooms in this great little boutique hotel in the tennis club area with 4 rooms opening onto the pool and 4 very close (down the hall to the outer door, which is locked at night). The innkeepers are there during the day and a phone call away at night for emergencies. Rooms were well appointed, nicely decorated and very clean - ours was a bit small but bathroom spacious (shower only) so felt bigger and the little kitchenette had a sink, fridge and microwave.There is an air conditioner for each room that worked well. (There is 1- 1 bedroom suite with full kitchen). The owners, Larry and Ed, were very attentive and welcoming. We especially appreciated their recommendations for golf, dinner and making the reservations (including being sure we got a good table). We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: I would try for a room on the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JoM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

My third stay at the Old Ranch Inn and it seems to be getting better. It is so easy to be in Plam Springs. I love to stay where some many things are within walking distance. The Inn is very relaxed and fun. I feel like I am staying with friends rather than at a hotel. The staff does everything they can to make your visit perfect. We made our reservations for next year!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sonnymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

This place is a gem - we had 2 nights here and could have stayed much longer. The owners are really welcoming and could not be more helpful. They recommended us restaurants, the best route to get to LA airport and what to see in Palm Springs. The rooms are lovely, all open out onto a courtyard with a beautiful pool and citrus trees. They don't do breakfast but they do tea and coffee in the mornings, and when we were there they also offered us fruit from their grapefruit trees. We are British, were in the USA and Mexico for 4 weeks and this was the best cup of tea we got. They clearly listen to feedback from guests.
It's very gay friendly but not exclusive, so when we there there were straight as well as gay couples and everyone seemed to be having an equally good time.
The Inn has a great location - just up the road from the main street in PS, so it's easy to access shops and restaurants but feels peaceful. Would absolutely definitely stay there again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank queeenofcakes59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

The Old Ranch Inn was a wonderful spot! Walking distance to everything. The owners Ed and Larry were great! Friendly, nice, and helpful. The suite was comfortable and homey. The pool was quiet warm and very relaxing. I cannot say enough good things about this place!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Veggie_Momma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
845 reviews
1.4 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
1.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 73 in Palm Springs
703 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rossi Hotel
The Rossi Hotel
#4 of 73 in Palm Springs
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Ranch Inn

Property: Old Ranch Inn
Address: 220 S Patencio Rd, Palm Springs, CA 92262-6337
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#15 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Ranch Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Old Ranch Inn' is an Historic Palm Springs Retreat located in the Historic Tennis Club Neighborhood in the Downtown Village, and is tucked away behind gates, amidst palm trees & flowering plants, shady patios and sparkling fountains. The 'Old Ranch Inn' is a quaint, intimate hotel with an informal, relaxed atmosphere. Its' poolside suites range in size from large charming, well-appointed full-room suites, to a one-bedroom luxury apartment; all with kitchenettes, spacious baths, private patio retreats & some with fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Old Ranch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ranch Hotel Palm Springs
Old Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing