We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little midcentury inn!”
Review of The Desert Star

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Desert Star
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We loved the Desert Star Hotel! Beautiful design and full of great midcentury furniture and decor. Only six units, so very quiet and private. The saltwater pool was great and even in the hot summer the pool was shaded perfectly in the afternoon. We enjoyed taking the two cruiser bikes out in the morning for coffee too. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gketch36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 29 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2011

Super clean (I think you could eat off of the paving stones on the patio and floors!); well supplied units; great, prompt and friendly tho' unobtrusive service. It's a quiet secluded little place in a great location with a great host. The WiFi was a real plus.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhm121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

I have stayed at the Desert Star 3 times now and I LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE it. I travel from Melbourne, Australia, to visit it whenever I am in the United States. I seriously think I am obsessed with that place and how good I feel when I stay there. I dream about The Desert Star and I have photos of it on my office wall.

EVERYTHING about this place calls me back year after year; peaceful, private, the beautifully conditioned pool, the cruiser bikes, the perfect host, Davy... everything everyone else says in the previous reviews is true, Davy is the nicest guy you could imagine. If I could own a room at the D.S., I would buy it in a heartbeat.

I wish everyone knew how great this place is but at the same time, I am really glad not everyone knows or it would be difficult to book in.

The rooms are perfect in size and comfort and are absolutely spotless. I love that I can self cater. I love the private courtyards outside each bungalow. The decor is divine; simple, stylish and cosy. The beds are super comfy and the linen super soft. I have stayed in Bungalow 2 (my fave) and also Bungalow 6 (larger and more luxurious with the shower room). Check out the Desert Star website for photos of each gorgeous room... I can assure you that the photos are super accurate.

What I like most: everything (sorry, it's true, DS is a complete package of goodness)
What I liked least: that I live so far away!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowdropper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

first off, davy was quick to respond to my e-mail request for availability, and was able to accommodate just what i was looking for on short notice.

upon arrival, i was impressed with the low-slung, mid-century architecture and the fact that it's a boutique hotel with no rowdy kids or parties going on. there are just 6 bungalows, and ours (#3) was a delightful suite with a clean design and very cool layout. plus, the large, private patio was an added treat. the moment we stepped forth, an amazing sense of calm and relaxation took over, and we seriously didn't want to leave the room.

davy was extremely helpful and non-intrusive, and he was able to provide us with excellent dinner recommendations which we heeded. it all added up to a fantastic weekend which i had been stressing over for weeks in hopes of getting it right. leave it to the desert star to get everything right.

i can't recommend this place highly enough, and it's not a question of if we'll be back soon - it's when we'll be back soon.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outofmylmnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Good clean design, great service, absolutely solid location. I want to live there. And I certainly hope to return.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RUtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

I am from Spain and I have been in hundreds of hotels worldwide since I work for the airlines. The Desert Start is a great boutique hotel!! "classy casual", spacious bungalows,bikes for guest use, awesome private patios!!! I can´t wait to come back in few months. I certainly recommend this place for couples and those looking for a relaxing scapade to beautiful Palm Spring.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valenciano76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2009

Hands down, a fantastic experience this weekend at the Desert Star. Our room was so cute and modern, great comfy bed, private patio, and totally reasonably priced. Heres a thought, if you have a big group of friends and you want a getaway weekend, this place would be amazing to rent out completely. The pool is literally right outside your door but I never felt that it was loud or too close. The hosts are great and totally accommodating. Davey made great recommendations for drinks, dinner, breakfast, shopping, everything. Definitely one of the great things about staying with locals. Davey and Walter were so friendly helpful and professional, and their place is an absolute gem.

Room was clean, very nicely furnished, and felt like home. We didnt want to leave! Oh and the pool is saltwater, love it. We will absolutely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowdaysalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
3.0 mi away
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
#42 of 75 in Palm Springs
2,602 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Palm Springs
Hard Rock Hotel Palm Springs
#32 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,128 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Palm Springs
Hilton Palm Springs
#15 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#37 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,840 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ace Hotel and Swim Club
Ace Hotel and Swim Club
#18 of 75 in Palm Springs
894 reviews
1.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Desert Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Desert Star

Address: 1611 S Calle Palo Fierro, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8861
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range: $130 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Star is a mid-century modern hotel offering an intimate, relaxing experience, while being surrounded by palm trees and impressive mountain views. Each bungalow is a spacious 600 square feet and has a living room and fully-equipped kitchen. Read a good book by our heated salt water pool, explore the desert on one of our cruiser bikes, or just unwind in your own private patio. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing