We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner”

Wang's In The Desert
Reserve with OpenTable
Wang's In The Desert is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #99 of 323 Restaurants in Palm Springs
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 1 Block North of Ramon
Description: Located in beautiful downtown Palm Springs, Wang’s in the Desert’s concept is Pan Asian Cuisine combining different types of cooking influences including Sichuan, Cantonese, Mandarin, Japanese, Thai and Korean. We use only the finest and freshest ingredients found throughout Asia and the Pacific. Our restaurant is warm and inviting! You can dine in our dining room looking at our Koi pond; cuddle in our private Red Room, smoke on our outdoor patio, or relax in our spacious lounge. The choice is yours… Whether dining or relaxing, Wang’s represents California living at it’s very best.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Saturday night dinner, busy but excellent Chinese food and service. Menu not huge but good variety. Sweet and sour snapper was excellent as was chicken lo-mein.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kiddoc1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    152
    66
    40
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My wife and I have eaten at Wangs several times but had not been there for quite a while. We were in Palm Springs with friends who had also been to Wangs with us previously so we all decided to stop for dinner. The food has always been very good and on this visit it was exceptional. My wife and I had the Calamari with Jalapenos as an appetizer and we both agreed it was probably the best Calamari that we have had. The Chicken in Black Bean Sauce was also outstanding. Our friends had soup and shared the large appetizer platter which turned out to be a full meal for them. The service was excellent and our waiter was friendly and professional. This was during the week so the restaurant was not full and was not noisy. We have been there on a weekend and can attest to the high noise level. If you are in Palm Springs and looking for a Chinese restaurant you can go wrong with Wangs In the Desert.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Garymstoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Two worlds”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We love going to happy hour on Friday nights, followed by dinner at Wangs in the Desert. The energy is good and the drinks are a strong pour and a good value. The food is also very good. We have been several times now. My only recommendation is to only eat in the main dining room. Twice now they have sat us in the dining room off the main dining room, which is like Siberia, a completely different experience, like two seperate worlds. Granted we had no reservations, but other times we were seated in the main dining room without a reservation. When I asked the host, she stated "it's luck of the draw". I will continue to visit Wang's, but I will either wait for seating in the main dining room, or eat elsewhere.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Festive Atmosphere and Superb Food”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is not your parents' Chinese Restaurant! From the hip decor and clientele to the great bar and patio, this is more like a trendy hot spot that happens to also serve amazing Chinese food. Yes, it is noisy, but so is that highly overrated P.F. Chang's. I make it a point to stop at Wang's every time I am in Palm Springs. Oh, I recenrtly discovered the amazing Friday Happy Hour. Come here to see and be seen!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RaymondD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Used to be better !”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

First, I'd like to say we had dinner at this place a couple of times before. During our 5 differents visits to this restaurant, over 3 years, we saw a real big difference on the level of service at the outside patio and inside of the restaurant.

You absolutely will need to place a reservation on weekend to eat inside. We went 2 years ago, ''walk-in'' and we were place in their punishment tables ( on a mezzanine, away and hidden from everyone) and hopefully, this time , we got despite that a good service from a kind and helpful waiter from Toronto. Another time , our '' inside'' service near the pond was acceptable.

Now, talk about eating outside, on the patio... Because when you're visiting PS, maybe it's natural to want an outside dinner... People seems to go on their patio only to enjoy their cheap drinks bargains... and not eating.

We went during Easter this year for our last day dinner... We went outside for dinning and ordered a full meal with appetizers and the main course.. We got our appetizers within an acceptable time but for the Entry.... We had to wait 45 minutes for our main course ... The waiter told us '' we have a problem in cuisine, and had brought to us 2 miso soups for the wait... When their famous '' Wang's treasure'' finally arrived, we weren't hungry anymore. Their patio is supposed to be for non smokers but 2 people were smoking in the middle of patio .

Our last and very last visit in October ended again to give then again a try and we had chosen to eat outside because they had a singer outside this Sunday evening...

First, we ordered 2 Chardonnay and we we're given 2 sauvignon blanc or pino grigo. It's a small detail but... We ordered their used to be famous dumplings... We got them 20 minutes later.. ( despite that our waiter ( gabriel if I'm right) said' '' I'will bring them right away. Then, we wait and wait for our main meal... for about 40 minutes... After that extremely long wait, we ran empty of water and wine and we had to run after our lazy waiter to get a refill of water and another glass of '' chardonnay'.. They came with utensils and plates... We had to change 1 of the plates which was very dirty with stick food and grease and we got no apologizes for that,

When we saw our waiter sitting 2 tables away from us with another waiter both smoking a cigarrette inside the patio ! I asked to get the check for our dumplings and wines... and just ask to cancel the main course... He said to our that something usual at Wang's to wait a long time for meal... Finally, a very rude waiter bring to us our 2 plates within 30 secondes after our cancellation of our order... Strange ? So I told him that we waited for a so long time that we weren't hungry anymore , he just asked '' Do u want it or not'' I responded NO and he took them away....

I think it's enough said.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M0ntreal30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wang's In The Desert also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Wang's In The Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing