We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family time.....but TOO HOT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palm Canyon Resort & Spa
Ranked #58 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family time.....but TOO HOT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2009

The resort was nice but the weather was too hot (115-117) to enjoy anything outdoors. Even with mist in the shaded area by the pool it was too hot to sit outside and read a book. And the pool was very crowded with kids with very warm water. Even the "adult" area of the pool was loaded with kids.

So we found other things to do in the area that were indoors. The guys enjoyed the Air Museum and the gals enjoyed Dollville-Bearville. There were dolls that looked like real babies. We went to the latest Harry Potter movie. We found a very good coffee place - Koffi - has 2 locations. My son writes for a coffee magazine in Phoenix and rated the place very high. They have wonderful muffins and a "drip" bar which is hard to explain. We went on the Ariel Tram (a AAA automotive card gives you a discount) It was a little hazy but worth the trip, but if you are afraid of heights you should NOT ride the Tram. You stand up and the floor rotates as you ride to the top.
The rooms were very large with a well equipped kitchen. I'm glad we had a view of the mountains and not the pool. It was very quiet. We were not hassled regarding going to a time share meeting.

I would recommend this resort but NOT during the hot summer time. There are too many things you can't enjoy because of the heat.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fun_Awaits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    231
    165
    96
    95
See reviews for
320
186
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jumpsuitj
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

I had the most horrific experience at Palm Canyon Resort and Spa. I went into a dark kitchen to get a glass of water and to my surprise, when I turned on the light, roaches were running everywhere-big ones and little ones! I could hardly sleep and in the morning, I went to the front desk and complained and complained. Ultimately, my room was switched to a much nicer room, but the trauma still persisted. Their only excuse was that the desert is known for roach infestations and they try and control the problem as best as possible, however, I have stayed in many other desert resorts and I never saw one roach let alone 50 plus. If you stay there, remember to keep your food stored away and shake your clothing before you pack them away. You don't want any unwelcomed guests in your home!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jumpsuitj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palm Springs hotels

reno
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2009

What a beautiful place. You feel like you are in Palm Springs back in time. It is such a classy, beautiful place that you do not want to leave. It is relaxing and you are so well taken care of and pampered. If you want to see how a first class operation is run you must visit this place.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollywoodReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bay CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2009

Summer in the desert.....extremely HOT! But, I guess that was expected. Late arrival, lobby was locked. Had to wait a few minutes until I was "buzzed" in. Check-in experience - not bad, but not great either.....so so. Room (1st floor) was spacious and clean. However, noticed that one window slat (window covering) was missing. Resolved within 15 minutes. Pool was a super-plus during the extreme heat, crowded at times, even at night! Overall, the staff didn't go "above & beyond", but the stay was okay. What ruined it for me was receiving my credit card statement and seeing a $50 charge. I called the resort and they said it was for not turning in "towel" cards ($10 each x 5). I explained that I turned in the cards at the front lobby express checkout box. I was told they have no records. Still in dispute, but heads up to others. Make sure you don't fall for their "convenient" express checkout method by placing your cards in the box. Turn in your cards to the front desk and have them sign-off on it.....

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rock4rceCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cricketwith5
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2009

The pool was the main attraction for me. My children loved it. The water was great. The room I stayed in was a little outdated, but clean the Jr Suites are very small it was all they had at the time of my stay. Would I recommend absolutely we are going back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cricketwith5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

This place is truly great. It's about a 5 min cab ride away from great shops and restaurants. They have a top notch pool, with a great bar. It's walking distance from multiple trails to hike, tennis and golf. The grounds are well maintained and the rooms are super clean. I would highly recommend it for a nice getaway.

- the barking turtle
http://www.barkingturtle.com

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eric65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2009

We took our daughter & two of her friends. We had a great time. The kids loved it. We had a 2 bedroom...a little outdated but nice. We had a view of the mountains. The pool was great and it wasn't too far from downtown. We are looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollister3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
3.0 mi away
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
#21 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#34 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,671 reviews
4.5 mi away
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
#45 of 71 in Palm Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
#35 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Monroe Palm Springs
The Monroe Palm Springs
#49 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Saguaro Palm Springs
The Saguaro Palm Springs
#32 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Canyon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Canyon Resort & Spa

Property: Palm Canyon Resort & Spa
Address: 2800 S Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-9337
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palm Canyon Resort & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palm Canyon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Canyon Hotel Palm Springs
Palm Canyon Resort And Spa
Palm Canyon Resort Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing