We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great water slides, but abbreviated occupancy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palm Canyon Resort & Spa
Ranked #59 of 74 Hotels in Palm Springs
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Perhaps the fact that you can't check in until 4PM and must be out by 10AM wouldn't bother most people, but it just plain annoyed me. The front desk staff graciously allowed our children to use the pool area while we waited but sitting in the 100 plus degrees sun waiting wasn't comfortable. Still, only getting to use a room for 18 hours seems a bit chintzy. The children totally enjoyed the pool area, however, I did not notice a lifeguard. There may have been one, but I was hiding in the one unoccupied shady seat I could find. When we did get our room it was clean. The bathroom was in need of a rehab around the tub and shower and the kitchen was little dated too. Still, we had a one bedroom unit and it was spacious and comfortable. Because the children had such a good time I would return.

Room Tip: Opt for at least the one bedroom. It was not much more than a regular room and it was large and most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 718 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

My family and I have been going to this hotel for years, and it has always had good service, and extremely great rooms, there is always a full kitchen, and a great couch, (it could be a futon) The bedrooms are always clean and the master bedroom me and my wife stayed in had an attached bathroom, with two sinks, and two mirrors, and a small towel rack, with soft towels my daughter enjoyed how they were so soft, the smaller bedroom had either a full-sized bed or two twin beds (if we brought one of her friends) and both bedrooms had a wooden closet and a TV, which had been upgraded to larger ones, they left a booklet full of the channels they had, which was a lot. The living room was spectacular, the carpet was beautiful and we were able to buy food from a nearby Trader Joe's. I very much recommend for you to stay here, but you can always check out the other reviews for more details!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank granters2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

The
This resort receives the out customer alot more than timeshare owners. Specially Friday and Saturday. I do not recomand to go Friday and Saturday. Too many people.
If you are the owner of timeshare, you don't want this resort.
Services average. But overall too old. Elevator smells bad, living room floors is stained, arm rest on sofa chair is sticky......the queen bed is horrible, my wife and I could not sleep.
If you are the owner of this timeshare, you need to stop paying the maintenance fees or raise your voice to have more quality maitenance. Your property value is dropping by these reasons.
Majorly, too much outsource customers than timeshare owners.

I choose not to go this place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Palm Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Although we are primarily a Vacation Ownership property here, we do provide hotel accommodations to rental guests. We assure you that we remain committed to developing enhanced offerings and ensuring our owners and members continue to see value in their ownerships and would not intentionally want to negatively impact our owners and members by this. We are very sorry for the inconvenience this may have caused you and we hope we can address this matter further with you and offset these difficulties. Thanks for your valued feedback and we hope for another opportunity to host you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This is a place for families. Tons of kids running around. Had to literally fight for chairs at the pool due to families throwing their belongings on chairs and just leaving so that they could secure something when they come back.

Honestly, I had no problem with that. I had more of a problem with the fact that the rooms were antiquated. Stains on walls. Blinds that came off and could barely open because they were so old. No exhaust fan in the bathroom. Two sinks in the bathroom, with a mirror only in front of one of them. Basically, nothing is modern.

If you are looking for something very nice looking, don't stay here. If you don't mind an old room that looked very unkempt because you really just want to stay at the pool with the kids, go for it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank J Alberto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Palm Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We regret to hear about the discomfort you encountered because of the condition of the room you received and our pool. The pool is crowed at times, because it is our main attraction. We will be replacing and adding pool furniture as needed this year as well as updating many different aspects of the resort through the property. We appreciate your feedback on this topic and will use this information during future renovation discussions. Thank you for your TripAdvisor contribution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We used my sister-in-law's timeshare points for (what was to originally be) one week. The young lady who helped us upon check-in was very pleasant and helpful. To make a long story short, we were very disappointed in our accommodations and only stayed two nights. Our only visit to the pool proved to be one of the main reasons why we didn't stay longer. The pool was so packed with kids that we didn't even think of going in so we sat at the pool bar. There were a couple people who casually mentioned that they don't have a room there and only use the pool. Why are people being allowed to use the pool when they aren't registered guests??? The junior villa we stayed in was fairly small. The rug has stains on it. The paint is peeling off of the walls in the bathroom. Guests are provided one day of coffee for the coffee pot and if more is needed, you will be charged. The only plus to this "resort" is that we had fairly decent food while sitting at the pool bar. The maintenance man who helped open the a/c vents in our room was very nice and very helpful. I always thought that Diamond Resorts were top of the line but this place isn't. And I won't go into detail but there's a sign posted on the gate to the pool that could be worded a little differently (it involves having flu-like symptoms). The biggest complaint for me is that they allow people who aren't registered there to use the pool. Those people take up space in and around the pool area from registered guests. We won't go back.

Room Tip: Be prepared to share the pool with unregistered "guests".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Palm Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Thank you for your comments. Many guests, like yourself, have complimented us on providing an exceptional check in experience and we are pleased to have provided you with that same great service. As our valued guest, your satisfaction is one of our primary concerns and we truly regret the displeasure you had with the rest of your stay. There is no shortage of reasons why our pool being the main attraction is often found to be a great place to retreat for families traveling with children. However, we do not allow “trespassers” and monitor this to the best of our ability. We are, however; happy to provide our interval owners with a “day pass”, availability permitting.
Additionally, we regret you were not satisfied with our complimentary starter pack of coffee and condiments offered as a courtesy. We are happy to provide additional packs for a fee when requested. Thanks for your valued feedback and we hope for another opportunity to host you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Just got home from Palm Canyon and won't go back! We have traveled all over the world, and this hotel is one place we will never visit again. We were in a junior villa. We had 2 rooms. Outdated and not that clean. The carpeting and furniture is old and dirty. We called and asked for 2 more blankets and were told we were only allowed one! The pool is average, but we spent two days and had a lounge chair not one day!! We tried to tell management , some man running around the pool area in a linen suit , and all he did was tell us he would be back to talk to us. Put us off 2 times and never addressed our complaint. Then the early afternoon of the second day the slide pool had to be closed for shocking. The main attraction of our visit was for the slide pool! Only had mistress going on half of the patio area and it was 100 degrees! Also asked to exchange our wet pool towels for a couple of dry ones, and were told they couldn't do that! Huh? Really? Overall it was obvious they were just worried about getting time share people to buy into this place , that is obviously in the middle of a turnover. Their excuse for poor facilities is that they are in the process of changing ownership. Well, who's problem is that? Obviously the consumers at this place.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Aswellgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Palm Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. Following the reading of your review we are very concerned and disappointed. As you mentioned, we have transitioned the resort to new management. Since Diamond Resorts has taken over Resort Management here we put great emphasis on providing excelled customer service and standard of accommodation and truly apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are currently bringing our facility and teams up to excellence standards as we speak. There are several exciting projects we have planned. Please understand that this is not an excuse but an explanation. We will begin replacing sleeper sofas, large appliances as needed, televisions, and DVD players. The fitness center will undergo renovation and new equipment will be added. Additionally, the pool area will have improvements such as a new pool deck, replacement of patio tables, pool furniture, and pool signage. We would like to welcome you back to our resort in the future and hope you will enjoy our enhancements the next time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This resort is very nice. We stay here on a regular basis and like all that it has to offer. it needs a bit of updating but over all very nice. My family loves the pool area and you can just lay out and relax or jump in the pool and cool down.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ticomex66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#37 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,803 reviews
1.3 mi away
Caliente Tropics Resort
Caliente Tropics Resort
#44 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,307 reviews
4.5 mi away
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
#42 of 74 in Palm Springs
2,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
#38 of 74 in Palm Springs
424 reviews
2.8 mi away
Marquis Villas Resort
Marquis Villas Resort
#57 of 74 in Palm Springs
313 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Palm Springs
Hilton Palm Springs
#15 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Canyon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Canyon Resort & Spa

Address: 2800 S Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-9337
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $89 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palm Canyon Resort & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Palm Canyon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Canyon Hotel Palm Springs
Palm Canyon Resort And Spa
Palm Canyon Resort Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing