We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and pool area, but out of date facilities.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palm Canyon Resort & Spa
Ranked #57 of 74 Hotels in Palm Springs
Reviewed March 12, 2014

My husband and I have owned a time share here for over 20 years. We do love to stay here when in town and have brought family and friends many times. We had the two bedroom, two bath suite by the pool this time. The rooms are large and spacious including the bathrooms (plenty of storage), and it has a smaller but fully stocked and adequate kitchen. The issue is the place definitely needs updating. The furniture, and carpet are out of date and worn out. The shower was awkward to operate. Our room was not thoroughly cleaned. The carpet had fresh burns, the room smelled like smoke in a non-smoking room. Why housekeeping didn't address this before we entered the room was frustrating for us. The refrigerator had two dozen eggs in the drawer and the furniture was dirty, including the glass tables and the chairs. The front desk sent someone immediately to clean the carpet, and the staff responded quickly and offered a new room. But because there was 5 of us, we stayed because we were not going to be in the room that much. We were there for the Indian Wells Tennis tournament. Also the pool area is strict, not allowing food, drink or water at all. And although the food is very good at the bar, the drinks not so much and are expensive. The pool and the towels were very nice, with a fun slide and a life guard on duty. The grounds are immaculate, beautiful and clean. The rooms are quiet and the air conditioning works very well. Last word, in past stays our rooms were clean and comfortable with no problems.

Room Tip: Not all the two bedroom suites have two bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leslie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (722)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 722 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

We took a 2 week break from the UK winter at PC Canyon & Spa and didn't regret it.
Maybe the rooms are a little tired ( I'm told there is a rolling programme of updates) but overall it was a great base for travelling around the So Cal and Arizona R66 etc areas.
Pool is great ( aided by a January heat wave) and proximity to all the action in downtown PS is fab.
Great staff even though our keys needed constant reprogramming, were we alone in this?
We plan to return what more can I say?

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bufleberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Palm Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you for choosing our delightful Palm Canyon Resort for your California getaway. We are proud to offer guests spacious, fully furnished villas, well-equipped kitchens, home-like living/dining areas and everything else you need for relaxing stay. Our resort is surrounded by tropical landscaping in hopes of providing guests with the relaxing atmosphere they expect and deserve.
We do have many upgrades on our 2014 agenda, such as: upgraded linens, carpet replacements, and landscaping improvements. Our resort is confident you will be pleased with these upcoming refurbishments.
We are thrilled you enjoyed our pool and in-cave whirlpool spa that is accompanied by a captivating rock formation and alluring waterfalls. Our spectacular water slides provide fun for children and even our young at heart adults.
The issue you were experiencing with your room keys is definitely unusual for our resort. We are investigating this issue for further review and coaching purposes. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
Thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Pool, pool deck, poolside restaurant and bar are lovely. The location is quiet. These are the high points of this property.

Rooms are large and spacious, need some upgrades. Apparently the property has been recently acquired by Diamond Resorts, and they plan to refurbish.

Currently some plumbing and wiring are a bit dodgy,, kitchens contain bare minimum utensils. Carpets failed the "white sock test", and grout patching was crumbling out of tile floors, leaving sharp crumbly bits underfoot. Recycling was utterly ineffective as the bins were not labelled and consequently were all filled with mixed garbage, a simple thing to fix if someone wanted to.

Timeshare sales force were always present but not aggressive. Could use more reception and telephone staff and fewer timeshare sales people. Staff were very helpful at fixing problems, (unfortulately they had to attend our suite at least four times) but they must get tired of saying "sorry" all day for some of the conditions. Most of these conditions should be remedied during refurbishment.

Come for the pool and sunshine and quiet location, try to ignore the shortcomings for now, and maybe in a few months it will be updated.

Room Tip: Oasis building, pool view is facing the interior. no road noise. On the 3rd (top) floor, there wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccb1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is our third stay at Palm Canyon Resort and Spa, what kept us coming back is the pool and the location. The rooms have never been the highlight, they are very out-dated and minimal. This time, there were five of us in a big room, 2 bedroom 2 bath. Here are the pros and cons of our stay:
Pros:
*LOVE the pool. Great for kids. Great staff at the bar, and the food and drinks are good. Nice pool towels, some toys available for kids, lots of seating, and fun water slides.
*The staff is very nice, from the front desk, to the pool staff, and the housekeepers. Everyone was plesant and helpful.
*Good location, close to downtown Palm Springs, and close driving distance to Rancho Mirage and Palm Desert
*The room was very spacious

Cons:
*The room was FILTHY. I tried not to think about the fact that when we walked around barefoot in the room the bottoms of our feet were BLACK. Gross! The grout was falling off in the bathroom, there were areas of visible mold. There were large amounts of dust on the light fixtures. The place just felt dirty.
*No daily housekeeping???? Why not? We paid a good amount, and this should have been included in the price. We had to call housekeeping every morning for garbage pick up, towels, toilet paper, paper towels, pick up dirty towels, etc...what a pain for us and for them I'm sure. The place gets dirty after a 4 day stay, and housekeeping should be standard at a resort.
*NEEDS AN UPDATE! This place is old....talking things are falling apart and the decor is the early eighties tan, turquise and coral. The TV was tiny in a big room. The furniture was unattractive. Overall update needed.
*The internet service was horrible. They gave us a wi-fi password, and some of us could get our wifi to work, but I never could the whole trip. I had to walk out to the pool, and even then it was shotty. The minute we drove off the property, my connection worked fine. The need to improve the wi-fi network.

Overall, we used to like this place for the price, but the price has gone up and the place has gone down. The black feet got us, and we won't be back. There are plenty of places with nice pool areas that aren't dirty and offer daily housekeeping.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sadiebea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Palm Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Thank you for your review of our resort. We are thrilled you are your little ones enjoyed our sparkling pools and waterslides, the service our team members provided you with and found our location to be convenient for your needs. At the Palm Canyon Resort & Spa, one of the newest resorts added to the Diamond Resorts International® family, it is our goal to provide the highest level of guest satisfaction with our wide array of resort services, amenities and gracious hospitality. We apologize if this was not your experience. We assure you we are working hard to ensure that improvements that are necessary to maintain and improve the resort are invested in for our future guests. Since acquiring the resort last year, we have already begun taking action to improve and provide the exceptional services that our guests have come to expect and deserve and we appreciate your understanding and patience during this transitioning phase. If you were unaware of our cleaning schedule prior to check in, we apologize if this had a negative impact on your stay. As we are primarily a Vacation Ownership property, a mid-week cleaning is provided for stays of five days or longer, where additional cleaning is available for a nominal fee. However, there is no excuse for the carpet being dirty and we have passed this concern on to our team for coaching and review. Wi-Fi access is managed and operated by a 3rd party vendor. Regretfully, we cannot troubleshoot the service provider’s web-hosting services. We will be sure to address the internet connectivity issues you experienced while here respectively with our provider. We sincerely hope that you would be willing to give us another chance to make a better impression on you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is our second stay here. The location is what works for us. This is an OLD timeshare, built cheaply, and not well maintained. Diamond resorts has recently bought it. We'll see if they improve it at all. The pool area is definitely the only positive about this place. So - great for kids.
Place needs cleaning, repairs.

Room Tip: If you want quiet - request a room away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phyllis1484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We traded our timeshare for a week and it followed 3 other visits to the area with stays in 4-star resorts. I liked this resort as well as the others because it was easier to load/unload and park, the pool was easier to access with nice warm water, location is better if u like original Palm Springs. Full cleaning service midweek and the friendliest staff I've ever seen anywhere.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank okbuzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We are staying here at the moment. The pool area is definitely the highlight of this resort and what attracted us in the first place. It has has a Vegas feel. I am curious as to when this resort was originally built; it feels like the 60's. The rooms are basic but we are pleased with the fact that it is very clean and has a kitchenette. The bathroom has been patched up but really needs a complete remodel with no fan and a very short shower head. I had an asthma attack and went out onto the balcony only to find that the door which is heavy to close and open in the first place had locked us outside. This could have been a medical emergency if it wasn't for a security guard who was strolling the property heard us calling him and came up to open the door for us by coming into our suite from outside. So, not good. Front desk and bar staff.. excellent and friendly. So... overall; if you get a good deal it is great, but not the same as a 4 or 5 star resort in my books.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marycanary29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Palm Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Thank you for writing a review about our Palm Canyon Resort & Spa. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our resort’s amenities and accommodations. Our desert oasis provides the luxurious escape with its tropical landscaping and serene atmosphere. While we are happy to hear you are enjoying your stay, we are very concerned about the lock-out inconvenience you have experienced. Our guests’ safety is a priority, which is why we are not taking this feedback lightly. The maintenance team has been notified and is taking action to ensure a lock-out does not occur in any other rooms. Our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. Enjoy the rest of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#38 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,836 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Inn at Palm Springs
Best Western Inn at Palm Springs
#40 of 74 in Palm Springs
790 reviews
1.3 mi away
Caliente Tropics Resort
Caliente Tropics Resort
#46 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
#37 of 74 in Palm Springs
433 reviews
4.5 mi away
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
#41 of 74 in Palm Springs
2,598 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Saguaro Palm Springs
The Saguaro Palm Springs
#36 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Canyon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Canyon Resort & Spa

Address: 2800 S Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-9337
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#16 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $93 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palm Canyon Resort & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palm Canyon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Canyon Hotel Palm Springs
Palm Canyon Resort And Spa
Palm Canyon Resort Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing