We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palm Canyon Resort & Spa
Ranked #57 of 74 Hotels in Palm Springs
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is our second stay here. The location is what works for us. This is an OLD timeshare, built cheaply, and not well maintained. Diamond resorts has recently bought it. We'll see if they improve it at all. The pool area is definitely the only positive about this place. So - great for kids.
Place needs cleaning, repairs.

Room Tip: If you want quiet - request a room away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phyllis1484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (721)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 721 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We traded our timeshare for a week and it followed 3 other visits to the area with stays in 4-star resorts. I liked this resort as well as the others because it was easier to load/unload and park, the pool was easier to access with nice warm water, location is better if u like original Palm Springs. Full cleaning service midweek and the friendliest staff I've ever seen anywhere.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank okbuzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We are staying here at the moment. The pool area is definitely the highlight of this resort and what attracted us in the first place. It has has a Vegas feel. I am curious as to when this resort was originally built; it feels like the 60's. The rooms are basic but we are pleased with the fact that it is very clean and has a kitchenette. The bathroom has been patched up but really needs a complete remodel with no fan and a very short shower head. I had an asthma attack and went out onto the balcony only to find that the door which is heavy to close and open in the first place had locked us outside. This could have been a medical emergency if it wasn't for a security guard who was strolling the property heard us calling him and came up to open the door for us by coming into our suite from outside. So, not good. Front desk and bar staff.. excellent and friendly. So... overall; if you get a good deal it is great, but not the same as a 4 or 5 star resort in my books.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marycanary29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Palm Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Thank you for writing a review about our Palm Canyon Resort & Spa. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our resort’s amenities and accommodations. Our desert oasis provides the luxurious escape with its tropical landscaping and serene atmosphere. While we are happy to hear you are enjoying your stay, we are very concerned about the lock-out inconvenience you have experienced. Our guests’ safety is a priority, which is why we are not taking this feedback lightly. The maintenance team has been notified and is taking action to ensure a lock-out does not occur in any other rooms. Our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. Enjoy the rest of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I don't know how Palm Canyon could be worse or called a spa. The rooms were falling apart, had a dirty feel, and the desk staff was unbelievably rude. The night manager did try to help by giving us a meal card.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Palm Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

We sincerely regret to hear you were dissatisfied with the quality of your stay. Currently we have fitness center, room, and overall resort renovations on our 2014 agenda. Your maintenance and housekeeping concerns have been forwarded to the respective team managers.
While the unsatisfactory experience you had with the Front Desk is uncharacteristic, we will be sure to address this with our Front Desk manager for coaching purposes. We are happy to hear our on-duty manager was able to acknowledge your concerns and provide compensation for your unusual experience. It is always encouraged that our guests do provide us the opportunity to mend any unexpected issues that may arise during their stay.
We are confident if you choose to stay with us in the future, you will be pleased to see the renovations our property has undergone to maintain the experience our guests have come to expect and deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed here for three nights. The best part of the resort was the pool area which included a nice snack bar including breakfast items. Our room was very comfortable but much of the resort needs updating and we experienced the need to have our front door locking mechanism replaced. The activities were limited but we did enjoy a desert nature trail guided walk which was conveniently across the street from the resort. Garage parking was available although one had to be careful because there were columns between each parking space.

Room Tip: Probably ask for a room overlooking the pool. We had a mountain view which included looking out at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgk10_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Palm Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Thank you for your review! We are really pleased that your stay here was a generally favorable one, although we’re sorry to note that there were some issues with the lock on your apartment’s door. We really hope that this didn’t mar your stay here, and that you’ll choose to return here in the future – we’d love to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed in a one unit bedroom with kitchen; very comfortable beds. The one bedroom suites are huge - large dining area, kitchen area, bedroom, living room, large balcony area for sitting. We had a great view of the pool area.

We were there on a stay for free time share deal (listen for 90 minutes) and also received a $100 check which we used to go to Tinto - a great tapas restaurant a 5 minute drive away.

In the time share presentation we heard that Diamond has just taken this on and planned to do substantial upgrades. This included making sure both pools are heated (should be done by end January 2014); major improvements to the units such as granite counters (not in yet); repainting the units; and do many upgrades. As such, I would expect this place to be substantially better and would receive from me a very good rating (due to the large units, closeness to downtown Palm Springs area; and beautiful pool.) At the time of our stay it was still average so thus the rating I gave it for the stay I was there. I would expect this to change if improvements as planned are completed.

There is an excellent cafe on site - including having cocktails and beer for sell. Great place to sit outside at night (closes at 10:-00 to keep it quiet for the nearby units.

Staff is wonderful.

A major lowlight for me is that the signage for the property is poor - took me a bit to find the place (and this is a common complaint for many.). If you drive up the street and find the dirt road you have gone too far; turn around drive down and the property will be on the right side of the street (but you will not be able to see the sign if you do that). As such it took me multiple times to find.

Good parking on property - 1 space per unit. Garage type. easy to take things to unit. We had a 2nd car with us and we found convenient on street parking directly by the resort.

We had a maintenance issue (the dishwasher of the unit above us was leaking) causing a major bubble in our unit. We saw it (luckily it was football playoff days so we were in the unit) and called maintenance. they quickly responded and solved our issue.

Excellent and friendly staff.....Excellent and seemed to really take care and pride in their jobs.

I would recommend it if you like a great pool; large unit. And as mentioned I expect the property to substantially improve in the next year.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Palm Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you for providing such a detailed review of our resort. We are pleased that you chose to vacation with us at Palm Canyon Resort & Spa, Palm Springs. We do pride ourselves on providing you with premium in room amenities; exceptional hospitality and great customer service not only meet but exceed expectations through our branded hospitality experience-thank you for noticing. As the property has recently come under new management, we are in the process of updating all that you have mentioned and more including improvements to our signage. It is great for us to read that our maintenance team provided you with the assistance you needed, however, we are sorry this problem occurred in the first place. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated by everyone here and we hope you will be able to come back again soon as we are convinced that you will be fully satisfied with the improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed here for 2 days in a one bedroom condo. The living area was very spacious you could easily sleep 8 on inflatable matresses. The bedroom had a king size bed. The condo was clean and not too old. Appliances were reliable. Parking is good. Pool was nice. Reception people very nice. The concierge lady was very condescending, she asked me what I wanted...did not provide me with the answers I needed. Overall good place I would return again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mvictoria72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#37 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,835 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Inn at Palm Springs
Best Western Inn at Palm Springs
#40 of 74 in Palm Springs
790 reviews
1.3 mi away
Caliente Tropics Resort
Caliente Tropics Resort
#45 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
#38 of 74 in Palm Springs
433 reviews
4.5 mi away
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
#42 of 74 in Palm Springs
2,594 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Saguaro Palm Springs
The Saguaro Palm Springs
#36 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Canyon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Canyon Resort & Spa

Address: 2800 S Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-9337
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $94 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palm Canyon Resort & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palm Canyon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Canyon Hotel Palm Springs
Palm Canyon Resort And Spa
Palm Canyon Resort Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing