We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Closed down...finally” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rock Garden Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rock Garden Cafe
Cuisines: American, Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
La Canada, California
Level Contributor
704 reviews
407 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
“Closed down...finally”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

This restaurant has been struggling for years...barely staying open. I used to want to eat here (it has a very nice open outdoor area) but every time I stopped the place felt dirty and the menu was pitiful so we left. Now it is for closed with a big For Sale sign on it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Rogerdob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    24
    8
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One word-Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

If you read only one review please read this one. I ordered the $14 angel hair pasta and meatballs, one of the can't mess this up, entrees and even my 2 yr old daughter didn't like it. The pasta was ok but the sauce was watery and tasteless. The meatballs were untouchable not in a good way, in a way like they were un-EATable. Gross! 30 minutes after dinner and my stomach hurts and I'm burping up some nasty stuff. My wife had a swiss mushroom vegitarian burger. It came out to our table minus the swiss and mushrooms and no fixings. We sent it back and it came out two minutes later with a processed slice of cheese, not swiss, unmelted and mushrooms. She said it was below average. Our 6yr old didn't even touch his cheese crisp and seriously how the heck can u mess up one of those. Please do not order the tap water! Worse than out of your backyard hose.
We are from Phoenix and if we come back next year and this place is still in business, I will be EXTREMELY surprised! We spent $42 for some of the worst grub that I've ever attempted to eat. Like throwing $$$ away. Do not spend your money here opt for taco bell.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gleninaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“We have stopped here many times...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Over the last 20 years, we have made several trips to Palm Springs and always have at least one meal at Rock Garden. It is not gourmet food, but also not gourmet prices. We have always felt welcome, we enjoy the shaded patio dining. The waitstaff is always cordial and keep the beverage glasses full while allowing us our privacy just to sit and chat while we dine. We are quite surprised that this facility is not ranked higher by Trip Advisor participants.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCEANSIDE
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely patio - found out why there was only one other couple there”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

The rock garden was lovely, food disappointing. Although there were only two other people eating on the patio, none in the restaurant inside, our waiter appeared to want to rush us even though we told him we were in no hurry. He certainly was not pressured to turn the table over either. My husband ordered the sirloin stead which was mediocre and my fish was lackluster. Salads were fine. Save your money and go elsewhere.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank A. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant outdoor setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We received a warm welcome by the hostess who was very patient while our party of 4 decided where we wanted to sit - patio with view of the water and rocks feature. Our drinks arrived promptly and our food shortly afterwards. The salads were excellent, so too was the generous sized appetizer Quesadilla.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank maryd987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Garden Cafe also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing