We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Mexican food! Charming location”
Review of El Mirasol

El Mirasol
Ranked #44 of 319 Restaurants in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $23
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Since opening in the Spring of 1985, El Mirasol Cocinca Mexicana has built a reputation for consistently serving piping hot plates of artfully prepared Mexican regional cuisine and tangy, flavorful Margaritas. Both El Mirasol locations feature a singular focus on wholesome, fresh food with house specialties like Chicharron en Salsa, our rich aromatic Mole Sauce, thickening the sauces using flax seed, and hand made Corn Tortillas made fresh daily. Expand your Mexican food horizons with regional selections like Shrimp, Scallops or Chicken in Pipian Sauce, Spinach Enchiladas in Chile Verde or enjoy traditional favorites like Carnitas, Carne Asada and Chiles Rellenos are gluten free. The Castaneda family welcomes a chance to serve you at either of their award winning El Mirasol locations, or we can provide catering for your event from small to large at your home, your event venue or host it at our very own Los Arboles Hotel!
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican food! Charming location”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Friends sent us to this Mexican Restaurant at the Los Arboles Hotel on Indian Canyon. It's a bit hard to find and there is no parking right in front, but once you park in the large lot in the back and walk into the courtyard of El Mirasol, you've left the busy city behind. While service was not prompt, our waitress was attentive and took our drink and food order at the same time. I ordered Carnitas and they arrived on the plate formed into little round medallions. They were excellent, crispy, tasty and not fatty. My wife had the shrimp enchilada with green sauce which was excellent. Note - get the homemade corn tortillas, regardless of what you order - they are the best!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bsimonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosArbolesPS, Owner at El Mirasol, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Great to hear that you enjoyed the Carnitas ... and our unique presentation of them. Also really appreciate your kind words about the hand made corn tortillas we make fresh daily. Its a lot of work ... but we are glad to hear that you think its worth it!

¡Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    175
    91
    37
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic food and STRONG margaritas!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Yummy eats at a good price, and friendly service. It gets crowded though, so come early. Can't beat it in Palm Springs.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ShiraP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosArbolesPS, Owner at El Mirasol, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thanks for the nice review Shira ... Happy Thanksgiving and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
221 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great margaritas”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Good place for mexican food with great margaritas! It's particularly enjoyable on a pleasant night eating outside.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosArbolesPS, Owner at El Mirasol, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
We appreciate your support Bob ... Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Try the Pork in Pipian Sauce - Outstanding!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

I come to El Mirasol for the deep fried pork butts in Pipian sauce. I have never, ever seen this dish anywhere else. The margaritas are good, but the food rules.
El Mirasol's food is just a little different than most Mexican restaurants. I can't tell you exactly what is in the Pipian sauce, it just tastes slow roasted, tomato-like and delicious.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank candace8590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosArbolesPS, Owner at El Mirasol, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Glad to hear you enjoyed the Pipian Candace. It is my wife's family recipe ... roasted Pumpkin Seeds are the main ingredient and it is great with Shrimp and Scallops too.

¡Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
128 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Bland Mexican food”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very busy with excellent service and large portions. Nice vegetarian menu. Food was ok but very bland. Inexpensive.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kiddoc1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosArbolesPS, Owner at El Mirasol, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Sorry to hear we didn't deliver the flavors you wanted on your visit to el Mirasol. If you have time I'd like to hear about what you ordered so we can look into the sauce/preparation of the dish. Thanks for the input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mirasol also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 

Been to El Mirasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing