We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of El Mirasol

El Mirasol
Ranked #57 of 353 Restaurants in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $23
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Since opening in the Spring of 1985, El Mirasol Cocinca Mexicana has built a reputation for consistently serving piping hot plates of artfully prepared Mexican regional cuisine and tangy, flavorful Margaritas. Both El Mirasol locations feature a singular focus on wholesome, fresh food with house specialties like Chicharron en Salsa, our rich aromatic Mole Sauce, thickening the sauces using flax seed, and hand made Corn Tortillas made fresh daily. Expand your Mexican food horizons with regional selections like Shrimp, Scallops or Chicken in Pipian Sauce, Spinach Enchiladas in Chile Verde or enjoy traditional favorites like Carnitas, Carne Asada and Chiles Rellenos are gluten free. The Castaneda family welcomes a chance to serve you at either of their award winning El Mirasol locations, or we can provide catering for your event from small to large at your home, your event venue or host it at our very own Los Arboles Hotel!
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I never thought I'd find chicken in chocolate sauce - the house special - as enjoyable as it was here. A typically good Mexican experience in every respect.

Thank DMCRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosArbolesPS, Owner at El Mirasol, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Glad to hear you enjoyed the Mole. It is pretty labor intensive sauce to make. But when we hear comments like yours ... we know it was worth the effort.
¡Gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (696)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

474 - 478 of 696 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

This restaurant was excellent! This was a last minute decision because we were starving and we got lucky finding this place. Their chips and salsa rocked!! The service was very attentive and refills of chips and drinks were prompt. We ordered the carnitas which were fantastic and cooked in a way we had never seen before. Ridiculously good. We also had the machaca con queso with beef which was amazing too. Easy parking on the street and pleasant outdoor seating.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosArbolesPS, Owner at El Mirasol, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Gracias Kit ... my younger brother Chuy makes the Carnitas and we all get hungry when we smell them cooking!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

we had to visit El Mirason for saturday evening margaritas and tacos. Always a good crowd and good food. Eveyone knows and appreciates this place.

Thank Frances E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosArbolesPS, Owner at El Mirasol, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

We appreciate your patronage and your nice review Frances ... ¡Gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have traveled to Palm Springs for the last 12 years and I discoverd El Mirasol early on and never have gone to any other Mexican reastaurant since for authentic Mexican food. The service is always friendly, efficient , and deliver you a great meal for very reasonable pricing. It is always busy and they never rush you and if you have to wait ten minutes for a table it is well worth it. It is conveniently located near downtown and parking is in front or around the corner on the street. if you haven't been there you owe one visit to see for yourself.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Claudio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosArbolesPS, Owner at El Mirasol, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thanks for your support Claudio ... we really appreciate the kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have eaten here several times, and if I lived here this would be my go to Mexican Restaurant. I like the laid back atmosphere, but the prompt service. This is the kind of restaurant where, you are not seated, served and please move on. We relaxed with, as others have said, great Margaritas, The dishes we had were excellent, with large portions. One night we couldn't order an entree after the appetizer. Dinner can be busy, but worth the wait.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mirasol also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to El Mirasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing