We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best pastrami ever!”

Sherman's Deli & Bakery
Ranked #2 of 18 Dessert in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Best pastrami ever!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This became our favorite restaurant in Palm Springs once we tasted their pastrami sandwich! It's buttery rich and delicious and *so* big; one sandwich lasts a couple of meals (unless you really stuff yourself!) We've tried several desserts and love their banana cream pie as well as the coconut cake and San Jacinto cake. They do things big. Bring your appetite. Fine service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cahack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,272
    704
    188
    59
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
221 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great lunch, great service”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This place is awesome for lunch. We loved our sandwiches and the deep dish apple pie is really great. Don't let the crowds deter you, they are extremely efficient here. There are lots of employees serving and clearing tables. Even during lunch time we had only a short wait for our food. We will definitely return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 52cali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good basic food”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

the variety is good, and it is a quintessential diner experience. It is a definite stop whenever I'm in Palm Springs

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillette Wyoming
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Send a salami to your boy in the Army. . .”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Sherman's is a good stand-in for the few real NY delicatessens still in existence. The matzoh ball soup was very nice, as were corned beef and pastrami sandwiches. Chopped liver was also good. Only faults were the enormous latkes, which lacked onion content, and the salami sandwich, for which the meat was merely mediocre and clearly not of the quality Hebrew National (or a couple of othe purveyors) offer.
All in all, a very nice meal, not cheap, but not at all outrageous. Excellent service considering the numerous customers typically waiting, and while not a Katz's,Carnegie, or Stage Deli, it's a nice California substitute.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“NEW YORK DELI BLISS”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Just go there!! I bet you will go more than once. Always busy but great service. Take out too. Outside and indoor dining.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lwilson126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sherman's Deli & Bakery also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 

Been to Sherman's Deli & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing