We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian Taste Treat in Palm Springs, CA”

Johnny Costa's Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
Johnny Costa's Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 319 Restaurants in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We won the Best of the Best for Italian the last 3 years by the Palm Springs Life reader's choice awards.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
109 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Italian Taste Treat in Palm Springs, CA”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

While in Palm Springs on vacation, we had the opportunity to dine at Johnny Costa's Ristorante to celebrate my husband's birthday.

The restaurant has an old time supper club atmosphere which we found to be very inviting. Service and the food were excellent. The portions were a perfectly sized. John, our waiter, was attentive, but our meal was not repeatedly interrupted by him or others checking in with us to see how we liked our food. My husband said his veal parrmesan was among the best he has had. I was happy to find that osso bucco was one of the specials the night we were there, and special it was! We plan to return to the restaurant with friends to try the Steak Sinatra.

Johnny Costa's was crowded the night we were there, and we were glad to have made reservations (which can be made by phone or online). Plan to take your time as each dish is made to order. The menu offers everything from Italian specialties and seafood, to salads and pizza. Save room for the tiramisu!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dare2BGroovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    130
    44
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A great throwback place, Can we say, Rat Pack”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is one of those places where you can just see Frank Sinatra or Mel Torme walking in at any evening. It is classy, clubby and delicious. It is an old school Italian place with a modern touch, just enough to show that they are with the current times. Wonderful waitstaff and really good food, Love the Foccacia service. No cramped tables where your forced to hear about someone recent surgery. Cold crisp salads, and good portions. Wish they open all summer, though. It is always a, "go to" place for us out of town guests and kids.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The food - very good. We had the Steak Sinatra...everything about it was delish! I made the reservation online, and The Restaurant even called to verify my needs! How neat is that! They had no fireplace, tho, but they gave us a very nice booth. We had a nice dinner and drinks, and the waiter brought us a celebratory dessert as we were there for our 21st Anniversary. I would like to return again on our next Anniversary trip...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Valcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Waiter was very gentle. Service was prompt and proper suggestions were made.
Unfortunately the food is not good. Very far from an authentic Italian restaurant (I'm an Italian who frequently fly abroad).
The pasta dishes range from acceptable (linguine with clams) to awful (spaghetti with anchovies) but they are overpriced.
Desserts are too sweet.
Portions are big but big do not mean good.
Skip It

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danigraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We went here for my Birthday dinner and the service and the food was fantastic I had the chicken parmagana and it was the best also my Girlfriend follows a vegan diet and they accomadated this very well

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DeniseandJohn2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Costa's Ristorante also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 

Been to Johnny Costa's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing