We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elmer's Restaurant - Palm Springs

Elmer's Restaurant - Palm Springs
Ranked #10 of 316 Restaurants in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Since 1960, Elmer's has been dedicated to providing quality food ingredients and personable, gracious service that make you feel at home. Built on the foundation of Walt Elmer's famous buttermilk pancakes, Elmer's offers seasonally fresh entrees and premium, made-from-scratch favorites in a warm comfortable and inviting family dining experience. With ample choices for breakfast, lunch and dinner, the menu features an emphasis on fresh, Northwest ingredients and traditional flavors. Featured Northwest favorites include Boyd's Coffee, Oregon Marionberry syrup, Tillamook cheese, and sausages from Portland-based Zenner's Sausage Company. Many Guests happily enhance their morning meal with a refreshing Mimosa. While the food is a star in its own right, it's the service that makes customers smile. Led by local owner, Jacky Donnell, the genuine, friendly team at Palm Springs Elmer's delights in welcoming desert locals as well as Northwest snowbirds craving a taste of home. They are proud of the reputation they have built as a local favorite. In addition to local Best Breakfast awards, Guests at Palm Springs Elmer's rave about their experiences on Yelp! and TripAdvisor. Elmer's has also received national recognition in the category of Family Restaurants with high marks on four main attributes consisting of taste, value, service and mood. Elmer's takes pride in their surrounding communities and strives to be the restaurant of choice for families. Choose to dine indoors surrounded by historic and scenic Palm Springs photography or on the outdoor pet-friendly patio. Elmer's is open daily from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great variety menu. Friendly atmosphere. Close to downtown. Walking distance from hotel. Delicious desserts especially the hot fudge sundae. We always buy gift cards to give to friends.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dmullin1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    833
    516
    130
    27
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Living just a couple of blocks from Elmer's I have been there several times and have always had a very good meal. However, what goes above and beyond the food itself is the service. I went there with a group of 12 coworkers after work one afternoon a couple of weeks ago and asked the waiter if he would mind giving us separate checks. To my surprise he said "no problem". He never once had to ask who had what dish as he was giving us our checks and he settled them all quickly. Plus he was very attentive the whole time we were there, keeping the ice tea, lemonades, etc all refilled without anyone having to ask him over. Some of us had unlimited fries with our dinners and same with the fries, a fresh plate of those arrived before we even finished our first batch. Food can be good, but if the service isn't, I won't go back to a restaurant. Elmer's excels in both food and service. You won't be disappointed going there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AKBUCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Good traditional diner with excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

If you want wholesome good traditional food then this is the place to come in Palm Springs. The menu may not be as fancy as some more modern diners, but if you like traditional American fare for breakfast then you cannot go wrong here. Elmers specialises in German pancakes which we did try, they were nice but to be honest they were no better or worse than usual pancakes. The food is good but what really sets Elmers apart from the rest is the friendly service here, amongst the best we had on our 3 week trip. I would recommend it and I would definately go here again myself.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruthie3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Elmers for breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

For breakfast split ham, egg, cheese, tomato omelet with mushrooms on side & hollandaise sauce – was very good, especially with the sauce. Also had hash browns and wheat toast

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank djodea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Terrific family restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stopped for lunch and didn't want to over-eat so we chose selections off the back of the menu which features lighter versions of menu favorites. The menu is inviting, loaded with color photos. Breakfast is served all day so I was torn with what I wanted to order! I finally settled on the hazelnut-crusted wild Alaskan cod. I chose the clam chowder included with my entree. One family member ordered fish and chips, and the other ordered chowder with a turkey sandwich. The generously sized half sandwich was served with a cranberry sauce that was excellent. He was extremely pleased with his choice. The two small pieces of battered fish came with a dill tartar sauce which was very good and coleslaw that was not too sweet, much to his liking. My hazelnut crusted cod sounded better than it smelled or tasted. The fish was cooked perfectly but was slightly fishy and there was no hazelnut flavor detected. The coating was more like a dusting, not a crust and lacked the fresh chives in the description. It was served with the dill tartar sauce that I reluctantly used to give it some flavor. The rice pilaf was boring plain rice that I seasoned with the chipotle sauce on the table. Overall, I was disappointed with half of my meal although it was edible, but I will not be ordering this again on a return visit. The chowder, on the other hand, was very good and the vegetables were crisp tender and perfect. The Northwest Lodge Blend coffee was excellent, full flavored and simply wonderful. The server was delightful and made dining here a pleasure. The noise level was moderate, muffled somewhat by the carpeted floor which made it easy to have a conversation and actually hear each other. I look forward to returning to try some of the enticing selections on the beautiful menu. Breakfast items look exceptional.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elmer's Restaurant - Palm Springs also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 

Been to Elmer's Restaurant - Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing