We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not FRENCH French Fries”
Review of Pomme Frite

Pomme Frite
Reserve with OpenTable
Pomme Frite is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #65 of 319 Restaurants in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $29
Cuisines: Belgian, French, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Marysville WA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not FRENCH French Fries”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Going to a French restaurant in the middle of the desert sounded intriguing. The service was fine, a bit snooty but hey! It's a French restaurant! The food was good... excellent sauces. But then the French Fries arrived. With a restaurant which calls itself POMME FRITE, one would expect the genuine article when it comes to French Fries. But these were your basic, out of the bag French fries. I have been to France a number of times -- and these are NOT the fries that are served in France. If you are going to call yourself Pomme Frite, then serve the real thing! Would go again, in fact we have been twice, but don't even bother trying the fries. Mine just sit there in their silver cone and get cold. Wonder just how many they throw out a day?

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wifolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCC245, Owner at Pomme Frite, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you very much for visiting Pomme Frite. We are very happy you enjoyed the food and service. We are a bistro serving French and Belgian cuisine. We are sorry if you were expecting the typical French fries aka Pommes allumettes or shoestring fries but we have been serving Belgian fries for 15 years, they are a little thicker but done the same way. We hope to see you again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    152
    69
    34
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ceres, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Steak”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Had the rib eye steak and it was tasty and well prepared. The side vegatables were excellent as well. Service was good and wine reasonably priced.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CoachByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battleford, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“An Owner/Manager With an Attitude”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

The food in this establishment is excellent as is the staff. The service (except as noted below) is very good. I am so impressed with the food and the knowledgeable staff (again, except as noted below) that i hope to come back again and again. On the other hand, my wife is so "put off" with the manager/owner she only goes with me under protest. Well, maybe not under protest but certainly with a lack of sincere enthusiasm.
The O/M struts about the premises like a drill sergeant with a serious attitude issue. I have never seen him smile or offer a kind word to his staff members or his patrons. When we lingered over coffee after our meal for two couples he aggressively approached our table and begin unceremoniously removing items off the table: not just dirty dishes but, for example, the water pitcher.

There is one huge bonus when one visits Pomme Frite and that is the man with the cloth cap who often plays his accordion just opposite the patio. Be sure to tip him after your meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reklaw252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Don't waste your time going anywhere else for a steak as this place is the best in town! Also the fries are amazing!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnaLou79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Average Service, Food”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Pomme Frite has great outdoor seating - covered but still able to enjoy the lovely Palm Springs weather. Excellent for people watching. Service is curt with shades of friendliness, usually reserved for what looks like the regular customers. We were there for brunch and once the restaurant got busy, things got really sloooow. Not like a leisurely brunch slow, either. The escargot was very good. Scallops, not so good with some tasting off. My partner's crepe was average and my omelet OK. Here's the kicker. If you are a restaurant called Pomme Frite, you should have exceptional pomme frites. These were run of the mill french fries you get at a burger place. I would say, this is a place to go for a snack and a glass of wine or good beer (the beer selection was outstanding) and people watching. Otherwise, pick again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AMPWyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCC245, Owner at Pomme Frite, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your lunch on our award winning patio overlooking Palm Canyon drive. Sorry you were disappointed with our pommes frites but we look forward to see you again in the future at Pomme Frite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pomme Frite also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Pomme Frite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing