We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad that they have closed”
Review of Great Wall Chinese Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Great Wall Chinese Restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Palm Springs, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sad that they have closed”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I personally liked this place because their Chinese food is more like what I grew up on in Connecticut. Lo mein is noodles and chow mein is vegies. Unlike those fast food places that calls Noodles Chow Mein.

But as of Jun 15 after 21 years in business they have closed. They will be missed by me.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    2
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not just about food”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Palm Springs has lots to offer-- and as the city evolves things change.. We happened to stop in to the Great Wall Chinese Restaurant this evening and were relieved to find an "old fashioned" Chinese restaurant that is more tradition than trend. Owners Ken and Frances Chung are the real deal, making sure there is great service, fair prices, and a traditional menu.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ardis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, fair food and reasonable prices.”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Prompt service, decent food (not gourmet or special though) and fair prices make this a routine lunch spot. In and out fast.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank gone u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Typical 1950s Chinese .....it like it always was”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Nothing Fancy - your run of the mill Chinese Food ---it is what it is...

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank BeagleDads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Bland rip off!”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We ordered delivery because it was the only place and we saw 3 star rating. What a joke. We ordered tofu veg soup which consisted of tofu, napa cabbage and hot water and no spoon (maybe that was a blessing).
combo chow mein, chop suey
spicy shrimp
Incredibly bland, tasted of nothing.

$44 with tip
Don't waste your time or money

there are some pretty good Thai places up and down the street.
I don't know how they stay in business.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank breckandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Wall Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing