We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was horrible”

LG's Prime Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
LG's Prime Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #51 of 318 Restaurants in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Baristo
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food was horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

So my husband and I decided to drive to Palm Springs to treat ourselves to a nice dinner out.
We should have known the food wasn't going to be that good because we were able to walk in on a busy evening in PS and sit down at a booth (lol)
Anyway, we wanted to order a crab cocktail which we were informed it was from a can. Although I appreciate the waiter letting us know this, it's awfully odd that at a $50 steak house entre they would have "canned" crab. Again, we should have known what was coming and left after the appetizer. Well we didn't and my husband's steak arrived and it was poorly done and a bad presentation. Definetely not a Ruth Chris but truly at a Ruth Chris price.
We would never go back.
For a $200 meal which included 2 glasses of wine, I was totally disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    107
    53
    29
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Significantly underdone steak”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had eaten before at LG's and were looking forward to a birthday dinner there, but it definitely didn't end up being a good experience. I ordered the 8 oz. filet medium rare and it was barely cooked inside. It looked shimmeringly slimy (if that makes any sense) and I'm surprised it didn't start mooing. I've had a lot of medium rare steaks and this wasn't cooked even close to what I've experienced elsewhere.

The very nice waiter, an older gentleman, took it back to the kitchen as I just couldn't stomach it after a bite of two, but it came back a couple of minutes later and it was only a tad better. I ate as much as I could given I wasn't paying, but it will be a memorable night in all the wrong ways.

My partner's 14 oz. filet, which was ordered medium well and butterflied (cut in half before cooking), was done to perfection.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Hughes, Ca
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We love LG's!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We eat at LG's just about every time we visit Palm Springs. It is one of the best steak houses we have been to. They serve the steaks sizzling hot, they make a wonderful Caesar Salad at your table, the sides are all large enough to share between several people. We love eating out on their patio and enjoy their wonderful wine list. It is also a great place to people watch as they all pass by on the street.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelerbuggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Traditional steakhouse done well”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is the traditional steakhouse with al a carte meat and seafood done perfectly . The service was outstanding , and wine selections perfect albeit a pricey restaurant. LG's is central with valet service and has a conventional interior. Your craving for great beef will be satisfied but the table is much too small to comfortably accommodate a la carte service for 4 .
Had the wedge salad - not the best that I have had . My salmon was fine but the vegies had far too much butter . This is a recommended shared plates as portions can be too much.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank calgarian48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just OK....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Traditional steakhouse atmosphere. Cool mid-century booths. Very accomodating on the vegetable plate (creamed spinich, potato, asparagus), which was fairly good....but expensive for the level of quality. Steak...the cut was good, but not up to par on flavor.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank issyluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LG's Prime Steakhouse also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 

Been to LG's Prime Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing