We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not A Great Mexican Restaurant”

Taqueria Tlaquepaque
Ranked #97 of 318 Restaurants in Palm Springs
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
California
Level Contributor
253 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Not A Great Mexican Restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

The staff is pleasant enough, but this taqueria is just barely OK. The locals seem to like it, but it is not a place to which I would return. They serve uninspired typical Tex-Mex fare which is not at all really tasty or memorable.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TJFLG42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    75
    12
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Group Favourite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

One of our favourite places in Palm Springs. Good food, hot, friendly service. We are never in a hurry and the staff treats us like family. Good value, good tastes.. Not fancy and who needs it !! Better value than the "name" places in town. Don't miss this place !!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BossHoss24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Mexican”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Again just a walk from our resort where Sandy, our host, recommended this place. It was a great recommendation, too. This place ain't fancy, and appears to be a favourite of Mexican working men and women in Palm Springs. The food is real homemade Mexican fare, perfectly cooked and delicious. You could easily be in Mexico City the food was so authentic. Will certainly stop here every time I return to Palm Springs. Oh, btw, they don't serve margaritas so go else where if that is what you are looking for. This is a place for great food and a beer.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
355 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Gone Down Hill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

We have visited this place several times during our regular visits to Palm Springs. We have always been happy with this place. Not this time. Only one harried wait staff for the whole place. Virtually no service, no refills on chips and salsa or water or drinks even though restaurant was half empty. My wife had to go to the kitchen to get a sour cream side which the waitress had forgotten twice. Food was mediocre at best.

There are plenty of other Mexican restaurants in the area so we will likely not return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dogswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“The real deal and BEST in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

You know it is a good sign when half of the parking lot is filled at lunch with the trucks of the local landscapers and gardeners. Wow, is this food delicious and real, made from fresh local ingredients, including goat meat. Simple diner type atmosphere with fresh warm from the kitchen chip,and salsa. You will not find better Southwestern-Mexican in town.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KingstonBWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taqueria Tlaquepaque also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 

Been to Taqueria Tlaquepaque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing