We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and great service”
Review of Thai Smile

Thai Smile
Reserve with OpenTable
Thai Smile is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 319 Restaurants in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food and great service”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

A friend and I were looking for something different that the boring American cuisine coming from the convention hotel we were stuck at for a week, so we walked down the street to Thai Smile, at the recommendation of the concierge. We got in at about 5:30, and that was a good thing, because when we left at about 6:30 the place was packed and a waiting line at the door. We started with Satay Chicken (grilled) and Thai Spring Roll, both were served hot and very good. Then we ordered Duck Shoo-shee and Thai Smile Garden, with fried brown rice. A very nice and filling meal for two guys to split. I'd come back next time in PS.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RGS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    216
    96
    38
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nanoose Bay, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fun bar, great food and service”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Well prepared Thai food, well priced wines and efficient, friendly staff. Busy place for good reason. We will be back on our next trip to Palm Springs.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Loved this place ,very informal and a bit noisy inside.We sat on the patio where it was a little quieter.Large menu with a range of spiciness to suite everyone.Hope I get to go again

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Catmint227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Good food but slow, disorganised service”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We enjoyed our food (my green shrimp curry was good) but the service was indifferent and slow. We ordered our entrees at the same time as our bottle of wine and then had a 40 minute wait....
Good service in such situations means keeping an eye on customers and maybe offering them something - some prawn crackers with a dip? - to accompany their wine and to show acknowledgment of their long wait. But, it was incumbent on us to ask "will it be much longer?"...

So, I am giving 3 instead of 4 stars.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveloholics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value, good food”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This is a family run business that has been in the desert for many years. They are famous among us locals for excellent Thai food at very reasonable prices. They just moved into a newly remodeled location in the heart of downtown. The location can't be beat. You may have to wait a few minutes to be seated but it is well worth it. If you go for lunch, unlimited iced teas are provided free of charge.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank belloc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Smile also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Thai Smile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing