We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best meals of my life!!”
Review of Le Vallauris

Le Vallauris
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Vallauris is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 324 Restaurants in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $55 - $80
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: North Palm Canyon Road
Description: Established in the heart of Palm Springs since 1973, Le Vallauris located at the foot of San Jacinto Mountains has been the highest rated restaurant in the Palm Springs Valley since its inception. Owned and operated by the well known restaurateur Paul Bruggemans who was also owner of the Famous Le St Germain restaurant in Hollywood. The Historic Landmark was built in 1927 and was owned by the owners of the famous Desert Inn which was The hotel in the Valley. Many grand parties were held in the house for guests such as Duke Ellington, Nat King Cole, Louis Armstrong and many more. It was a favorite place for General Patton when he was based in Palm Springs to stage the Battle of the Bulge during World War II. Later on, when the restaurant was established it became a favorite place for Presidents and the Hollywood elite. The renowned Patio lined with Giant Fichus trees is THE place to dine. The Patio is cooled in the Summer and heated in the Winter.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

During a vacation in Palm Springs we made reservations to have Christmas dinner at this restaurant. The atmosphere was wonderful--an old bungalow type home that is in fantastic condition with a very nice patio. We ate inside by one of the cozy fireplaces. I must say that this was definitely one of the best meals of my life. I had the lobster cocktail for my appetizer. It was superbly presented in a large martini glass with various layers of savory custards containing pieces of lobster and caviar. Both the texture and taste was fabulous. I would highly recommend this restaurant for a special occasion.

    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Thank audthad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le V, Owner at Le Vallauris, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thank you for your comments,

We do make every effort both in the Kitchen and on the Floor , to bring you the best we can.
It is true that our chef creates great dishes.
I am glad you had a memorable dinner

Sincerely

Paul Bruggemans, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (783)
There are newer reviews for Le Vallauris
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

510 - 514 of 783 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

We recently enjoyed a late lunch at Le Vallauris. The food and service were excellent and the courtyard was a lovely place to eat. My husband said the salmon was the best he had ever tasted. My son loved the peppercorn steak. I had tuna tartare. The flavors were subtle. The tuna was very fresh. Be sure to order dessert. It was great that we could walk from the art museum.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le V, Owner at Le Vallauris, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thank you for your comments,

We do make every effort both in the Kitchen and on the Floor , to bring you the best we can.
It is true that we are conveniently located between the Desert Museum and the shopping district

We hope you can visit us again soon

Sincerely

Paul Bruggemans, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We were at Le Vallauris for New Year's Eve. We had a reservation and there was a waiting line when we walked in at 8:30, but the hostess seated us promptly. Had a good table out on the patio. Had been informed that there was NO inside seating when we made this reservation which was untrue. However, the patio was grand. Food was grand and gourmet. Service a little slow, but the place was packed. Very ritzy! Very festive! Valet parking was excellent. All in all this was a great New Year's Eve. There was live music which added a lot, however, there seemed to be one man with a lot of electric hook-ups to his keyboard, and honestly, the music was better when they put on the sound system. But this was one reason we booked thre because it had live music, so one never knows, but music of some kind was a must for New Year's. The dance floor was so small that it was only a part of the walk-through bar. However, the food quality and the glitzy crowd were worth the price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alaynelynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le V, Owner at Le Vallauris, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thank you for your comments,

We do make every effort both in the Kitchen and on the Floor , to bring you the best we can.
It is true that our chef creates great dishes.
I am glad you enjoyed everything
Sincerely
Paul Bruggemans, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This place never fails to please. The service is so good. The atmosphere is so lovely. The crowd is so intriguing (wealthy old school Palm Springs). And the food is very very good. Don't miss the soufflé for desert. If you can afford it, GO!

Thank Renhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le V, Owner at Le Vallauris, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

We appreciate your comments

We do make every effort both in the Kitchen and on the Floor , to bring you the best we can.
It is true that our chef creates great dishes.
Hope to see you again soon
Sincerely
Paul Bruggemans, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We enjoyed Le Vallauris from the moment we walked in. The host greeted us warmly and we gave our name for the reservation. While he was checking for our name, another guest came in, walked around us and started speaking to the host. He was most gracious but simply stated he was looking after us and would be with her just as soon as he had finished with us. Well handled. We sat outside which was beautiful thanks to the overhead heaters. It was a prix fixe menu on Christmas Day but there were many choices. My husband had the lobster cocktail which was "so good". I had the crab chowder which was rich and delicious. We both opted for the turkey which was excellent. A generous helping of turkey, delicious gravy and tasty stuffing with roasted chestnuts. The service was excellent - I don't think our water glasses were ever less than half full. We chatted with our servers and got to know them a bit, having some laughs. Mani even treated us to port at the end of the meal. We were seated nearer to the bar and enjoyed the lounge-style Christmas carols and old standards. Lots of regulars who were clearly enjoying themselves! It all made for a festive atmosphere that felt refined but not stuffy. A great way to spend Christmas night. Thank you, Le Vallauris!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jameus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le V, Owner at Le Vallauris, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thank you for your comments,

We do make every effort both in the Kitchen and on the Floor , to bring you the best we can.
It is true that our chef creates great dishes.
I am glad you had a memorable experience
Sincerely
Paul Bruggemans, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Vallauris also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Le Vallauris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing