We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still excellent”
Review of Le Vallauris

Le Vallauris
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Vallauris is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 324 Restaurants in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $55 - $80
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: North Palm Canyon Road
Description: Established in the heart of Palm Springs since 1973, Le Vallauris located at the foot of San Jacinto Mountains has been the highest rated restaurant in the Palm Springs Valley since its inception. Owned and operated by the well known restaurateur Paul Bruggemans who was also owner of the Famous Le St Germain restaurant in Hollywood. The Historic Landmark was built in 1927 and was owned by the owners of the famous Desert Inn which was The hotel in the Valley. Many grand parties were held in the house for guests such as Duke Ellington, Nat King Cole, Louis Armstrong and many more. It was a favorite place for General Patton when he was based in Palm Springs to stage the Battle of the Bulge during World War II. Later on, when the restaurant was established it became a favorite place for Presidents and the Hollywood elite. The renowned Patio lined with Giant Fichus trees is THE place to dine. The Patio is cooled in the Summer and heated in the Winter.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This was a fourth return trip for me, and I would go back again whenever I'm nearby. The service is really excellent, the courtyard is just beautiful, and the food is always a treat. The prix fixe menu is an excellent value, but whether or not you select it, don't miss the appetizers!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank NEtraveler707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (783)
There are newer reviews for Le Vallauris
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

534 - 538 of 783 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

The atmosphere was beautiful. Although the inside of the building could use a fresh coat of paint, new carpets and some livening-up (the indoor bar and lounge looks like it has not been touched since 1973), but the outdoor patio under the trees was lovely. The food was good and flavorful, but I am not sure it justified the exorbitant prices. The portion size (not unsurprising for a Frech restaurant), was microscpic. I had ordered the special lobster dish that the server recommended, and although delicious, constituted approximately three total forkfuls. Although for a romantic evening for a special event, ths place fits the bill. Definitely sit on the outdoor patio under the trees. Just be sure to bring your AMEX!

1  Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le V, Owner at Le Vallauris, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you for your review, it was more a decorator' review than gastronomic. For your info, the inside of the restaurant was repainted last summer, an invoice is available for you to check , new art was installed on September 8th as well as new lighting. The carpet is in excellent condition and the bar was reupholstered two years ago, the piano relacquered and new bar chairs purchased.
We do serve 1and a half pound lobster with blinis spinach and vanilla butter, you are the first one to compalin about the size. As to the prices, they are clearly noticable, why saying that it is overpriced!
I am so happy that you had a good evening and that you liked the patio, which by the way was remarbelized two years ago.
Next time around, do come in and I will have the invoices available.
A bientot
Paul Bruggemans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

I've traveled over nearly half the world. This restaurant is among my top five of the hundreds I've visited. A simple dinner here delights your taste buds as it soars your spirit - often leading to a somewhat emotional experience.

The staff? Among the best trained I've met. They really care about your experience while respecting your privacy and need to simply soak up the environment.

The food? Real French cuisine meticulously prepared. Want something to write home about? Order the obligatory escargot as an app and duck as an entree.

Pricey? Yes. But you get what you pay for - or as my husband says - "buy cheap, buy again." You will buy here again - I promise, albeit for a different reason. I just love absolutely everything about this place.

Thank Roadie69LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le V, Owner at Le Vallauris, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Such great comments from a very well traveled guest is quite an honor....the wait staff and kitchen staff are very proud .
We do try to offer our best each and every evening

Thank you for your fantastic review

Sincerely

Paul Bruggemans, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

If you like cuisine with French flair this is definitely THE experience in Palm Springs. We ate our meal on the lovely Patio on a beautiful afternoon after our wedding! The staff was so attentive and helpful and both the owner and the chef came to our table to make sure that all was to our liking. The food was presented beautifully and tasted wonderfully on the palettes (Petite Fillets, Pork Tenderloin, Seared Ahi Tuna; note: GET THE pommes frites just because! Oh, and the spinach!)
And we had a most delightful Mousse au chocolat torte for our Wedding Cake! The restaurant was not busy so we had a most relaxing time.
This was definitely a MEMORABLE experience!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jamie Garey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le V, Owner at Le Vallauris, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for your very nice and very encouraging comments.
We do have an incredible chef and I am glad you had a great experience
Come and see us again!!

Sincerely

Paul Bruggemans, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

There is a reason why this restaurant is rated number 1!....As a regular visitor to Palm Springs and California, this is by far the best dining experience throughout our trip, after visiting some of the finest restaurants in LA this is one place that really is memorable. After being greeted by Patrice and having great conversation with Bruce and Paul, followed by the most amazing food, it doesn’t get any better. Thank you for a wonderful evening

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MylesLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le V, Owner at Le Vallauris, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

We do appreciate your comments.
We try to be very focused on customer satisfaction.
Thank you and we hope to see you again soon at Le Vallauris

Paul Bruggemans, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Vallauris also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Le Vallauris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing