We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A neat little hide out”
Review of Shanghai Reds

Shanghai Reds
Ranked #39 of 323 Restaurants in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A neat little hide out”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

What a great place, with a great atmosphere that's something different from the norm, great food/drinks and great prices...it cant be beat!

It's not the prettiest of joints, and there isnt anything fancy about this place, but that's what makes it so awesome, watching the 2 waitresses go back and fourth and the 2 yea only 2 cooks making all the food makes it so entertaining! Sit at the bar and watch the show. Great seafood, oysters were fresh, tacos are delicious, so is the coconut shrimp and the bucket of shrimp.

We went back the next night! :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Live4it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    75
    20
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The official favorite”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Sometimes I am reluctant to write a review about a small, wonderful place. The word spreads and I can't get in. This time (my fifth visit), I decided they deserved the review.
The Fisherman is a boring old school spot. Some clever marketing person put together an oyster bar style offshoot behind the original. It has an almost speakeasy feel; small, but not quaint, busy, but not loud. Excellent service behind the car and the chefs take your food order. I always order the "not on the menu spicey shrimp" and something else. This time it was perfect Rockefellers. Clams, cioppino, calamari, scallops....rock stars. They open at 4 and you should should go, please don't tell anyone else!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank WineGal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Dive into Fun at Happy Hour”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our hotel manager had recommended Shanghai Reds. Worth the challenge of finding this back alley bar! We'd spent most of the evening at the Thursday Street Fair and then remembered the recommendation. Ask for directions - we appreciated the help after wandering. The atmosphere is planned nonchalance. The happy hour menu picks up after a certain hour. The fish tacos and drinks made the perfect end to a very long day. Our server was very busy, but didn't abandon a table for two. That is very appreciated, as large groups can result in everyone else being ignored.

We loved the place and will be back for many more rounds.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shusha50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food,Great Staff”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a wonderful Bar/Restaurant.The food was great,my husband had a Seafood Platter which he thoroughly enjoyed.I had a spicy king prawn dish..delicious.The food is cooked behind the bar and you can sit at the bar you can watch your food being cooked for you. The barman was very pleasant.He enjoyed a conversation about his favourite Scottish Football team which was also my husbands.I highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crookieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barre, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulouso”
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely the best food, service and atmosphere in the desert. Ricky rocks and their attentiveness and showmanship were top notch. Really nice find for fish tacos, calamari, and oysters. Highly recommend.


    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bgiants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Reds also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Shanghai Reds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing