We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great outside seating for people watching while eating great meals.”
Review of California Pizza Kitchen - CLOSED

California Pizza Kitchen
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great outside seating for people watching while eating great meals.”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

When we arrive in CA, we always go to CA Pizza Kitchen. This time we had lunch in downtown Palm Springs. We had outdoors seating, a great way for people watching. We decided on a light lunch to include good selection of salads and flat bread choices. The service was very good and our server, Michele was helpful making suggestions. Would return and asking for Michele.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bille3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    43
    20
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
268 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Always good. Always fast. Bread pudding dessert awesome.”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Enjoyed the Canadian Hawaiian pizza with their bread pudding dessert. All of it came out fast, hot and delicious. Located in the heart of old Palm Springs, just steps north of the Marilyn Monroe statue. I like the service, always refilling your water or drinks without being asked.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yvrtravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul AB
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great choices”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Excellent value for quality. Service was excellent and there were many choices for a party of 10 and we all tried something different. I would recommend it to all.

Helpful?
Thank StPaultraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
184 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Restaurant Changed Ownership Too Many Times”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

This well known chain has fallen to a new low in Palm Springs. Perhaps it's due to all the owners over the years. This used to be the location a manager wanted to work, income etc were prestigious, no more. Ordered Thai Chicken Pizza, thin crust. The pizza cost $1.50 more for the thin crust because it is only featured with a thick crust, go figure, less crust more cost? The crust was doughy as explained by the manager they are pre made crust and they forgot to crisp it. Lack of sauce with the normal addition of raw carrots on top was HORRIBLE! did I mention the wait staff were all wearing Levis. 11 employees visible and only 12 patrons, slowwwwwwww wait staff. Our waitress kept disappearing. No more linen napkins, all paper, ugh, Not because of paper, price and atmosphere used to demand linen at a former trendy spot. Replaced pizza failure with Tequila Fettuccini, horrible, al dente to the point of the pasta being able to stand up on its own. Sauce was tepid.
CPK has lost its touch as far as I am concerned. I will try one more time at a different local, only because prepared right they used to have pretty good food.
Stay away from this one!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smokeyellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“No atmosphere”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Not our favourite CPK .... too much strip-lighting, no atmosphere & impersonal waitstaff means we won't visit again

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RJtraveller62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Pizza Kitchen also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing