We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quick lunch? Don't go anywhere else”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sandwich Spot

The Sandwich Spot
Ranked #5 of 318 Restaurants in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
british columbia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A quick lunch? Don't go anywhere else”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This small outlet doesn't have any frills when it comes to the fixtures and fittings - there is a small outdoor seating area and a few tables inside with a large TV. What it does have though is wonderful sandwiches, great service and lovely staff.

The place is tucked away in a side street off the main drag - we happened in originally by chance, looking for a lunchtime option that was fresh and not mass produced. The sandwiches are all made on the spot (if it gets busy you will have to wait for a few minutes) and there are (IIRC) 24 standard choices in addition to building your own.

We went back twice inside a few days as we enjoyed the experience so much. First time we had the hot and spicy chicken combo, second time the chicken and cranberry. Both were seriously good. Fresh warm bread, interesting and appetising fillings. The service was always efficient and friendly and I really want places like this to succeed as they offer such a great alternative to dreary processed fast food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ikelmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    66
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
La Crescent MN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dont walk by this sandwich shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We were looking for a casual dining experience in Palm Springs and just happened to notice this spot while walking by. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food and the reasonable price. The sandwich was great and the service was excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, il
Level Contributor
111 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem of Sandwiches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Every once in a while a resturant completely amazes me. The Sandwich Spot is a hidden gem, tucked in the corner of a side street of Palm Canyon Drive. The decor first struck me as rather bleak until I notice the hipster pictures and interesting tables and chairs. I was looking for a good sub when I walked in. I had one of the best sandwiches in my life as I left. The large board of sandwich offerings displayed a creative display of tasty sandwich combinations all with interesting names. This was no average sandwich. I had The Bear Necessities:Hot Pastrami, Roast Beef, Salami & provolone. The meat was warm and piled high on top of a fresh french roll. I will be back and I hope tourists visiting PS love this place as much as I did.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank a1searcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
104 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Fine Palm Springs Sandwiches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had lunch here as a family a couple of times during the past week, and were impressed with the friendly and helpful staff, and much amused by the whimsical names given to the sandwiches on offer (Bare Necessities, Milf, Dilf - with hot salami, etc); they are having fun.
They have a good variety of breads, including their renowned dutch crunch, and we sampled six of the almost 30 possibilities. You will want plenty of napkins, because the secret sauce (garlic and chimichurri) gets everywhere, especially when it's a meatball choice.
The breads were all great, ingredients fresh - I always like bean sprouts - and the eclectic mixes of cranberries and chicken, for instance, bring a great blend of sweet and savory.
The sandwiches are not cheap - averaging $8 - but this spot deserves its place in the Palm Springs restaurant list.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank another_traveler0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place to grab a quick lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

This little place had great sandwiches! Don't go if you're looking for anything fancy, but if you want a quick, relatively (for Palm Springs) inexpensive lunch, it's perfect.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank missmaggiesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sandwich Spot also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
 

Been to The Sandwich Spot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing